Cavan V Monaghan

not long to the big one now will monaghan be able to keep the ball kicked out to this cavan team

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 27/03/2024 16:05:30    2534131

We don't have anyone to kick the ball out

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 27/03/2024 22:09:44    2534195

Im hoping Cavan bounce back from the disappointing end to league, no other motivation needed other than this is Monaghan. Always a tough encounter, Monaghan dont go down easy.

Positives
We always raise our game for the derby - tradition weighs heavy in this tie
Gerry, Jason, Padraig & Gunner will be back in (hopefully)
Cavan perform better when they go in to a tie as underdogs
Rory Beggan still in USA
Early league performances were patchy but we ground out results

Negatives
Last 3 league performances, a lot of head scratching
Monaghan played in higher division in league

I'm a glass half full type of person
hon the Breffni

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 28/03/2024 09:53:39    2534242

Not really as big a game as previous meetings. A tough side of the draw with Derry one of the best teams in the Country. It would still be good to win as they need a lift after how the league ended.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 28/03/2024 11:40:43    2534268

Does it really make a difference, winning or loosing this game, winners play Tyrone and even if they overcome them, Derry lie in wait. Miracles needed as usual.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 31/03/2024 10:46:16    2534766

Replying To desagov:  "Does it really make a difference, winning or loosing this game, winners play Tyrone and even if they overcome them, Derry lie in wait. Miracles needed as usual."
Won't make any difference in the greater scheme of things other than bragging rights for the next while… Regardless of who wins they are more than likely dust in the next round…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 31/03/2024 13:53:09    2534792

would not agree monaghan would have a fighting chance against tyrone where as once tyrone come out of the hat against cavan thats it game over its only the size of the hammering that has to be decided.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 31/03/2024 14:58:49    2534798

I suppose the way to look at it is:

How many big teams do we want to play this year?

Guaranteed 1 provincial winner in the groups but that could be it. Be better IMO to also play Tyrone.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5021 - 31/03/2024 16:58:44    2534819

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "would not agree monaghan would have a fighting chance against tyrone where as once tyrone come out of the hat against cavan thats it game over its only the size of the hammering that has to be decided."
I would agree that Monaghan would probably give Tyrone a better game but neither would have a snowballs chance of getting to the Final regardless

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 01/04/2024 08:29:33    2534931

It looks like Dara McVeety will be a non starter on Sunday v Monaghan… He would be a huge loss in a game like this…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 01/04/2024 13:51:22    2534982

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "It looks like Dara McVeety will be a non starter on Sunday v Monaghan… He would be a huge loss in a game like this…"
Word is big Gearoid will make an appearance, and Rory Woods for Monaghan. Times are tight.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 01/04/2024 15:52:29    2535012

Im not sure on this one at all. Both teams struggled in the league and probably ended up with a lot of head scratching and question marks in the end

Cavan started well but were always eaking out games. For the last few games it looked like we are transitioning to a different type of game but it left us wide open at the back but I also suspect a bit of tiredness given the compacted league when we fundamentally didn't change the personnel. We haven't solved the midfield question and we seem to be struggling up front to break through and create those goal chances. Lynch's free are fine and reliable but we need more options. It looks like players are a little unsure of the system.

In fairness to Vinny i think he spent the league trying players. Lavelle while good isn't probably the full back solution. Midfield is also question marks too although reverting to hughes is probably a short term gain. I still think back to the moves monaghan came up with against an understrength Dublin. They struggled to recreate those and also seemed to loose their way as the league progressed. The game against Roscommon was headless chicken stuff. Not sure bringing the warhorses back has solved a problem at all. McCarrons points are vital but he does slow up play. Again a bit stuck between the old and the new.

Monaghan probably have the better forward line and if they find any of their defense breaking capability, its hard to see Cavan getting enough points.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 542 - 02/04/2024 20:21:02    2535252

Replying To ponger:  "Im not sure on this one at all. Both teams struggled in the league and probably ended up with a lot of head scratching and question marks in the end

Cavan started well but were always eaking out games. For the last few games it looked like we are transitioning to a different type of game but it left us wide open at the back but I also suspect a bit of tiredness given the compacted league when we fundamentally didn't change the personnel. We haven't solved the midfield question and we seem to be struggling up front to break through and create those goal chances. Lynch's free are fine and reliable but we need more options. It looks like players are a little unsure of the system.

In fairness to Vinny i think he spent the league trying players. Lavelle while good isn't probably the full back solution. Midfield is also question marks too although reverting to hughes is probably a short term gain. I still think back to the moves monaghan came up with against an understrength Dublin. They struggled to recreate those and also seemed to loose their way as the league progressed. The game against Roscommon was headless chicken stuff. Not sure bringing the warhorses back has solved a problem at all. McCarrons points are vital but he does slow up play. Again a bit stuck between the old and the new.

Monaghan probably have the better forward line and if they find any of their defense breaking capability, its hard to see Cavan getting enough points."
Both sets of teams and supporters are indeed very unsure, leading to a very low key build-up. Everyone is afraid to say anything! Also the prospect of entering a stacked side of the draw where a good beating from Tyrone, Derry or Donegal awaits, sort of leads to the idea that the Monaghan game is pretty irrelevant. I would have the opposite view- at least win this one for Christ's sake and give us something to gnaw on for the year. You can't beat Monaghan often enough or by enough.
Starting 15's on both sides are very unclear due to injuries and form. The Beggan story is a distraction- to be fair I don't think the man will be able to slot directly into a championship team so I doubt he will feature on Sunday. So the more important personnel issues lie elsewhere. For Cavan, if Faulkner doesn't start at 100% match fit we are up against it. Agree midfield is a big issue but then again so it is for Monaghan. Hughes and Mohan are not exactly to be feared in there. Killian Clarke has been coasting for a while but surely he will be able to keep Mohan out of the game. James Smith holds the key for Cavan. He scores as much as Lynch from play and really needs to be on the ball. Start him away from Monaghan's best man markers- Hughes and Lavelle- and make them change up to counter. The idea has to be to get Lavelle moving out of full back and Smith can force that. The 3rd quarter bursts that Cavan have shown in the league have been led by Holla and Gerry Smith - I would hold Tiarnan Madden until the 50th minute to add some threat at that point.
Big worry is where will scores come from. 2 goals needed and nobody to get them. Lynch needs more involvement from play- he should get his chance if they can occupy Lavelle - Wylie and the O'Toole lad are slow and give away plenty of frees.
From across the dyke, the worries seemingly are for Bannigan, Hanlon, McAnespie, and Dessie Ward. That's a serious quartet of players i fairness to them, so their availability will probably tip the scales either way. Woods was sent off in their last league game and faces suspension- he is more of a panel player but can cause damage. If 3 of those 5 are available suddenly Monaghan look strong enough but without they have no depth in the panel.
My hunch is that Monaghan are very tight lipped but have genuine injury problems. Rushing one or two back won't help them.
In that case, a Cavan team that taps into that age-old belief that our worst can beat Monaghan's best will prevail by an unexpected 3 or 4 points. They are brittle lads, we are Cavan.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/04/2024 08:55:49    2535319

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Both sets of teams and supporters are indeed very unsure, leading to a very low key build-up. Everyone is afraid to say anything! Also the prospect of entering a stacked side of the draw where a good beating from Tyrone, Derry or Donegal awaits, sort of leads to the idea that the Monaghan game is pretty irrelevant. I would have the opposite view- at least win this one for Christ's sake and give us something to gnaw on for the year. You can't beat Monaghan often enough or by enough.
Starting 15's on both sides are very unclear due to injuries and form. The Beggan story is a distraction- to be fair I don't think the man will be able to slot directly into a championship team so I doubt he will feature on Sunday. So the more important personnel issues lie elsewhere. For Cavan, if Faulkner doesn't start at 100% match fit we are up against it. Agree midfield is a big issue but then again so it is for Monaghan. Hughes and Mohan are not exactly to be feared in there. Killian Clarke has been coasting for a while but surely he will be able to keep Mohan out of the game. James Smith holds the key for Cavan. He scores as much as Lynch from play and really needs to be on the ball. Start him away from Monaghan's best man markers- Hughes and Lavelle- and make them change up to counter. The idea has to be to get Lavelle moving out of full back and Smith can force that. The 3rd quarter bursts that Cavan have shown in the league have been led by Holla and Gerry Smith - I would hold Tiarnan Madden until the 50th minute to add some threat at that point.
Big worry is where will scores come from. 2 goals needed and nobody to get them. Lynch needs more involvement from play- he should get his chance if they can occupy Lavelle - Wylie and the O'Toole lad are slow and give away plenty of frees.
From across the dyke, the worries seemingly are for Bannigan, Hanlon, McAnespie, and Dessie Ward. That's a serious quartet of players i fairness to them, so their availability will probably tip the scales either way. Woods was sent off in their last league game and faces suspension- he is more of a panel player but can cause damage. If 3 of those 5 are available suddenly Monaghan look strong enough but without they have no depth in the panel.
My hunch is that Monaghan are very tight lipped but have genuine injury problems. Rushing one or two back won't help them.
In that case, a Cavan team that taps into that age-old belief that our worst can beat Monaghan's best will prevail by an unexpected 3 or 4 points. They are brittle lads, we are Cavan."
They'd be absolutely bonkers not to slot Beggan straight back in.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5021 - 03/04/2024 12:37:38    2535357

Replying To cavanman47:  "They'd be absolutely bonkers not to slot Beggan straight back in."
I don't think they will or should start him… but Corey knows best himself…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 03/04/2024 13:10:19    2535361

Yes it's hard to know what to say about this game. It's difficult to predict what type of game we will get. And it's also very difficult to predict the starting 15s. Hearing a new rumour by the day.

I heard Jim McGuinness in one of his interviews talking about the importance of being "dangerous" in attack and this is something we haven't been in the last few games. I thought at the beginning of the league we looked very dangerous, had runners everywhere and looked like we could score whenever we attacked. Hopefully we can find that spark again. I think we could cause alot of problems for their full back line.

One thing I have been thinking about is goalkeepers coming out of their goal and joining the play. Bogue did it for Fermanagh and Beggan will do it for Monaghan. Surely the answer here is to mark the goalkeeper? The only reason it works is because players know who and where the spare man is and can turn back if they are in trouble. If the spare man is somewhere else on the field, it takes away that certainty. I think it's unlikely you would be done by an overlap if players run back after someone breaks a line.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 03/04/2024 13:52:04    2535371

gearoid mckiernan and tomas galligan starting in midfield for cavan with james smith on the square.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 03/04/2024 15:13:14    2535387

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Yes it's hard to know what to say about this game. It's difficult to predict what type of game we will get. And it's also very difficult to predict the starting 15s. Hearing a new rumour by the day.

I heard Jim McGuinness in one of his interviews talking about the importance of being "dangerous" in attack and this is something we haven't been in the last few games. I thought at the beginning of the league we looked very dangerous, had runners everywhere and looked like we could score whenever we attacked. Hopefully we can find that spark again. I think we could cause alot of problems for their full back line.

One thing I have been thinking about is goalkeepers coming out of their goal and joining the play. Bogue did it for Fermanagh and Beggan will do it for Monaghan. Surely the answer here is to mark the goalkeeper? The only reason it works is because players know who and where the spare man is and can turn back if they are in trouble. If the spare man is somewhere else on the field, it takes away that certainty. I think it's unlikely you would be done by an overlap if players run back after someone breaks a line."
Trillick did it against Scotstown in the Ulster club. In theory sounds great but then Conor McCarthy or Karl O`Connell is left spare to rule the roost.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 03/04/2024 17:39:49    2535420

In all my years following football i have never seen as little interest in a championship game i could understand it if it was tyrone we were playing but usually a great buss for monaghan game

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 04/04/2024 19:50:49    2535693

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "In all my years following football i have never seen as little interest in a championship game i could understand it if it was tyrone we were playing but usually a great buss for monaghan game"
Has echoes of last year when we tailed off in the league and then failed to fire a shot against Armagh. Knowing that a win will almost certainly lead to a tanking in the next round makes you careful what you wish for.

BreffniGael (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 04/04/2024 20:54:38    2535705