Cavan Seniors 2024

Great win last week. I thought performance was good but not brilliant which is also a positive that there is so much room for improvement. I thought we put alot of energy into pressing their kickout without much reward. I thought we also gave away a number of kick passes in the first half which left us vulnerable to the counter attack. Having said that it was nice to see Cavan players trying to be creative and I'd agree with comments above re style of play. We looked dangerous every time we attacked.

Donegal tomorrow in Breffni 4pm under floodlights. All but a division 1 team and the standard of team we want to see coming to Breffni. If we give the ball away easily this time, we will be punished, just like Armagh last year. McGuiness' Donegal thrive on turnovers so I think if we do lose possession, tactical fouling out the field could be very useful tomorrow.

My foursome for this week is going to be Roscommon, Antrim, Dublin +1 and Clare +5 for 9/1

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 03/02/2024 11:27:54    2523995

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Great win last week. I thought performance was good but not brilliant which is also a positive that there is so much room for improvement. I thought we put alot of energy into pressing their kickout without much reward. I thought we also gave away a number of kick passes in the first half which left us vulnerable to the counter attack. Having said that it was nice to see Cavan players trying to be creative and I'd agree with comments above re style of play. We looked dangerous every time we attacked.

Donegal tomorrow in Breffni 4pm under floodlights. All but a division 1 team and the standard of team we want to see coming to Breffni. If we give the ball away easily this time, we will be punished, just like Armagh last year. McGuiness' Donegal thrive on turnovers so I think if we do lose possession, tactical fouling out the field could be very useful tomorrow.

My foursome for this week is going to be Roscommon, Antrim, Dublin +1 and Clare +5 for 9/1"
I assume you mean Clare hurlers in that weekend bet 97 Cavan …?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 03/02/2024 15:02:56    2524026

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I assume you mean Clare hurlers in that weekend bet 97 Cavan …?"
No footballers. A bit of a lottery that game yes and Clare have lost alot of players, but I don't trust Westmeath and hopefully Clare will be fine with a 5 point headstart

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 03/02/2024 19:54:38    2524054

A good performance yesterday despite the defeat.. We were unlucky not to get at least a draw out of it.. The biggest home attendance for a league game in a long while with Donegal bringing big support.. This league is going to turn into a dog fight yet down around the bottom the way results are going…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 05/02/2024 11:10:15    2524496

A good performance yesterday despite the defeat.. We were unlucky not to get at least a draw out of it.. The biggest home attendance for a league game in a long while with Donegal bringing big support.. This league is going to turn into a dog fight yet down around the bottom the way results are going…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 05/02/2024 11:15:43    2524499

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A good performance yesterday despite the defeat.. We were unlucky not to get at least a draw out of it.. The biggest home attendance for a league game in a long while with Donegal bringing big support.. This league is going to turn into a dog fight yet down around the bottom the way results are going…"
You can say that again....

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 05/02/2024 18:48:38    2524621

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A good performance yesterday despite the defeat.. We were unlucky not to get at least a draw out of it.. The biggest home attendance for a league game in a long while with Donegal bringing big support.. This league is going to turn into a dog fight yet down around the bottom the way results are going…"
Thought the ref didn't help - Soft frees for Donegal & allowed play to carry on and awarded a soft free to Donegal then marched it forward 10 metres and carded McVeety before going back to black-card McGonagle. He was right in view of the McGonagle check on Faulkner - had he awarded a free then it could have been a two-point turnaround before HT.

Faulkner, Ciaran Brady, Carolan all very good. Great to see Caoimhin back and looked good when he came in. The problem is that Donegal looked to be able to score more easily than Cavan. Also kept 3 or 4 back at all times whereas Cavan looked open when they streamed forward.

Should be able to beat Meath and Cork to stay safe from relegation battle. Then if we can beat Fermanagh & Louth it's all down to the Armagh game.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 06/02/2024 11:50:20    2524727

Odd feeling coming away Sunday evening. Annoyed at the result (and the ref), but oddly encouraged by the performance so early into Rays tenureship.

First off the Ref. No harm to the fella, and I hate going on about refs, but he was out of his depth in my opinion, First ever inter county game, why was he given a Div2 Ulster game? Surely ease the man in with a Div4 match or so before sending him up here. Nearly had a heart attack when i heard Susan call out Barry Cassidy, before she corrected herself. Jeez the ref was odd though. Like possibly correct on the quick kick outs, but does this really matter? Let them go. He was poor to both teams on advantage, and some very soft frees, but others not frees at all. Thought he averaged out first 50 minutes, but then was very poor against us last while. He let them jump down and roll on the ground, but never added the time on. Adding 5 minutes, but barely playing this while there were subs, Gallen taking forever over that free, and multiple stoppages is very strange. Should easily have been another minute. And then blowing a throw up for Smiths mark? Jeez

I'm otherwise annoyed and encouraged by our performance overall. Encouraged that we stayed with them, had chances to draw/win it, and they even needed to descend into time wasting and complaining to fall over the line. They needed moments of magic from Gallen from play to be ahead really. So then annoyed by the fact we had some poor wides, we didn't adjust enough for Gallen when clear Gunner was a bad match for him, and that little bit of street smarts to adjust kick outs and adjust to the ref so we couldn't squeeze a few more possessions and attacks and maybe we might have got another free or two. Annoying too that the wind dropped for 2nd half, stronger wind might have seen us try a few more shots.

We missed Oisin Brady a lot. We need 2 forwards capable of scoring as otherwise a team can wrap up one like they did with Lynch. He didn't get a proper sniff all evening. Brady back will be a good thing. O'Rourke did very well in goal, with a few high balls plucked out showing he's a big man and can command his area. Kicks were fine, some good length on them, but we couldn't seem to claim them or break them. So rethink on strategy needed that's not all on the keeper. Faulkner was class as usual, and we missed Kiernan, Gerry Smith and McVeety were a bit quiet. Caoimhin very good coming on as an option. Overall a decent evening. Saw enough to say we're there or thereabouts at this level but with work to do. Get some back from injury, get results against Cork and Meath and then see where we are afterwards.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 06/02/2024 12:56:28    2524737

I thought it was a good quality game. I would say the win was definitely there for Cavan but they panicked/ rushed things slightly in that second half.

Donegal must have their own kickouts practiced to a tee. It was very impressive to watch. Our own kickouts look a bit off the cuff in comparison but I thought we did well on long ones, particularly in the first half. When teams push up like Donegal did, the long kickout is a very useful tactic and gives us a great platform to put quick ball into the forward line.

It was great to see at times Lynch and McVeety playing inside together and while it hasn't borne fruit just yet, it will undoubtedly as time goes on. Cork will give us more space the next day. Carolan and Madden are doing trojan work for us, I'm not sure why they take off Tiernan.

The free at the end from Gallen was class, how anyone can put together a highlights package and not include that free is incredible. Also I could be wrong but it looked like it was linesman Barry Cassidy who gave the black card in the first half to Caolan McGonagle - some payback perhaps for 2020.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 06/02/2024 13:16:44    2524742

Replying To 97Cavans:  "I thought it was a good quality game. I would say the win was definitely there for Cavan but they panicked/ rushed things slightly in that second half.

Donegal must have their own kickouts practiced to a tee. It was very impressive to watch. Our own kickouts look a bit off the cuff in comparison but I thought we did well on long ones, particularly in the first half. When teams push up like Donegal did, the long kickout is a very useful tactic and gives us a great platform to put quick ball into the forward line.

It was great to see at times Lynch and McVeety playing inside together and while it hasn't borne fruit just yet, it will undoubtedly as time goes on. Cork will give us more space the next day. Carolan and Madden are doing trojan work for us, I'm not sure why they take off Tiernan.

The free at the end from Gallen was class, how anyone can put together a highlights package and not include that free is incredible. Also I could be wrong but it looked like it was linesman Barry Cassidy who gave the black card in the first half to Caolan McGonagle - some payback perhaps for 2020."
That fella does love a black card after all...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 06/02/2024 13:48:24    2524750

Kindgon Blue , Loughduff Lad
Tomsmith here

Both of you are very negative talking about Cavan Football, when both of you know very little about Cavan Gaa.
If you look at Terry, s reign ( and some of you could not wait to get rid of him ) he was successful insofar as he took us to a higher level. Then we had a change ( and the Mullanacta saviour arrived ) we arrived in Division 2. But I feel the Lacken man is missing out by not having Divisional teams playing in the wintertime. Raymond Galligan is a nice fellow who I would love to see managing Cavan to the last 4 but I am afraid that it will not happen , particulary if the back bitting has already started

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 06/02/2024 16:14:59    2524795

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Odd feeling coming away Sunday evening. Annoyed at the result (and the ref), but oddly encouraged by the performance so early into Rays tenureship.

First off the Ref. No harm to the fella, and I hate going on about refs, but he was out of his depth in my opinion, First ever inter county game, why was he given a Div2 Ulster game? Surely ease the man in with a Div4 match or so before sending him up here. Nearly had a heart attack when i heard Susan call out Barry Cassidy, before she corrected herself. Jeez the ref was odd though. Like possibly correct on the quick kick outs, but does this really matter? Let them go. He was poor to both teams on advantage, and some very soft frees, but others not frees at all. Thought he averaged out first 50 minutes, but then was very poor against us last while. He let them jump down and roll on the ground, but never added the time on. Adding 5 minutes, but barely playing this while there were subs, Gallen taking forever over that free, and multiple stoppages is very strange. Should easily have been another minute. And then blowing a throw up for Smiths mark? Jeez

I'm otherwise annoyed and encouraged by our performance overall. Encouraged that we stayed with them, had chances to draw/win it, and they even needed to descend into time wasting and complaining to fall over the line. They needed moments of magic from Gallen from play to be ahead really. So then annoyed by the fact we had some poor wides, we didn't adjust enough for Gallen when clear Gunner was a bad match for him, and that little bit of street smarts to adjust kick outs and adjust to the ref so we couldn't squeeze a few more possessions and attacks and maybe we might have got another free or two. Annoying too that the wind dropped for 2nd half, stronger wind might have seen us try a few more shots.

We missed Oisin Brady a lot. We need 2 forwards capable of scoring as otherwise a team can wrap up one like they did with Lynch. He didn't get a proper sniff all evening. Brady back will be a good thing. O'Rourke did very well in goal, with a few high balls plucked out showing he's a big man and can command his area. Kicks were fine, some good length on them, but we couldn't seem to claim them or break them. So rethink on strategy needed that's not all on the keeper. Faulkner was class as usual, and we missed Kiernan, Gerry Smith and McVeety were a bit quiet. Caoimhin very good coming on as an option. Overall a decent evening. Saw enough to say we're there or thereabouts at this level but with work to do. Get some back from injury, get results against Cork and Meath and then see where we are afterwards."
Would agree with all that you say there… The ref was very poor and this advantage thing with their arm stuck up in the air is becoming a bit of a joke.. It's got to the stage where you can't make a tackle at all… Can referees not use common sense and let play continue longer before blowing, something akin to rugby but maybe not that long… These assessors at matches are no help either as it tends to rule out common sense being applied in case the referee gets called out later… The standard of referee has become deplorable but the GAA continues to bury their heads in the sand… … Hopefully Jarleth Burns goes after this problem and gets it sorted out…. he has voiced his displeasure with referees in the past when he was on commentary so now let's see some action when he takes office… I won't hold my breath though….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 06/02/2024 17:19:16    2524811

So Cork week lads. Anyone heading down? Long trip but I'm looking forward to it

Think we've a great chance here. Yes a long trip, but think we're going well. Cork looking poor, but 2 away games for them, and they'll be far better at home. Should be good anyway. Haven't been at the new PUC yet, last time I was down there was that very poor outing in 2010. What do we reckon for Saturday?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 13/02/2024 11:31:09    2525822

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "So Cork week lads. Anyone heading down? Long trip but I'm looking forward to it

Think we've a great chance here. Yes a long trip, but think we're going well. Cork looking poor, but 2 away games for them, and they'll be far better at home. Should be good anyway. Haven't been at the new PUC yet, last time I was down there was that very poor outing in 2010. What do we reckon for Saturday?"
What team do you think will start? You would imagine that Oisin Brady would be back into the team hopefully and Connor Brady might make the bench this week! Cian madden might be pushing for a starting also.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 13/02/2024 15:35:18    2525877

Replying To blueman1903:  "What team do you think will start? You would imagine that Oisin Brady would be back into the team hopefully and Connor Brady might make the bench this week! Cian madden might be pushing for a starting also."
Hopefully Oisin Brady will be available as we definitely need him in the forward line…Cork will be awkward opponents as their backs are against the wall and need points quickly or they will end up in a relegation dog fight… They never travel well but as Loughduff lad said they will be much better on their own patch… We are capable of winning this but I'm afraid our continuous problems with finding the back of the net is going to come against us…. If we could address this problem coupled with our more direct style of play we would be a match for a lot of teams … Finding a regular goal poacher is no easy task…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 13/02/2024 17:39:40    2525902

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "So Cork week lads. Anyone heading down? Long trip but I'm looking forward to it

Think we've a great chance here. Yes a long trip, but think we're going well. Cork looking poor, but 2 away games for them, and they'll be far better at home. Should be good anyway. Haven't been at the new PUC yet, last time I was down there was that very poor outing in 2010. What do we reckon for Saturday?"
I hope to. Its a long trek alright. I fancy us to beat them. We're building a nice team at the moment.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 13/02/2024 20:18:33    2525925

Replying To blueman1903:  "What team do you think will start? You would imagine that Oisin Brady would be back into the team hopefully and Connor Brady might make the bench this week! Cian madden might be pushing for a starting also."
We do need him back. Heard he was close for Donegal but not risked (probably the right decision). With him we might have beat Donegal. We only had one outlet in Lynch and they had him tied up. A second option needed and we may have swung something out of that game. Yeah I expect Madden in too now he's back a few weeks. Conor Brady expected to be fit too, but hard to know if fit from the start or worth coming on 2nd half. He has an unfortunate habit of breaking down with injury, so I'd ease him in and not overload

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 14/02/2024 08:35:12    2525973

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I hope to. Its a long trek alright. I fancy us to beat them. We're building a nice team at the moment."
Aye it is, but with the new roads it's not as long as it used to be. A long day all the same if doing the return trip in one day, I'll stay over and I'm sure others will use the opportunity to get away as well. I hope so too, I am seeing confidence in this team and liking what I'm seeing so far. just need to keep that up

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 14/02/2024 08:36:51    2525974

Replying To tomsmith:  "Kindgon Blue , Loughduff Lad
Tomsmith here

Both of you are very negative talking about Cavan Football, when both of you know very little about Cavan Gaa.
If you look at Terry, s reign ( and some of you could not wait to get rid of him ) he was successful insofar as he took us to a higher level. Then we had a change ( and the Mullanacta saviour arrived ) we arrived in Division 2. But I feel the Lacken man is missing out by not having Divisional teams playing in the wintertime. Raymond Galligan is a nice fellow who I would love to see managing Cavan to the last 4 but I am afraid that it will not happen , particulary if the back bitting has already started"
knitting tom

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 14/02/2024 10:09:03    2525987

Fair play to you for planning on heading down, it's a fair spin. I would like to go myself but don't think I will make it so it will be interesting to see a report of anyone who makes it down.

I remember that one in 2010. I wasn't at it but I was at the Wicklow game before it. We came back from the dead with 13 men, and Johnston shot the lights out. Cavan fans genuinely believed we might have turned a corner that day, alas we most certainly had not. Although Cork did go on to win the All Ireland that year. Much different times. It's amazing how much the game has evolved since then. There was a naivety back in 2010 where supporters dreamed of coming from nowhere to do something special, and of course Down nearly did so that year. But them days seem a long way off now unfortunately.

As for this weekend, very difficult to call, Cork are as they say, consistently inconsistent. Although they are at home, they bring very poor support unlike the hurling. They need a win so hopefully we start fast, build a lead and their heads will go. I read Sean Powter is back from injury. Killian Clarke will probably stay midfield and look to curb influence of Ian Maguire, he did a brilliant job on Kevin Feely. Couple of good forwards in Hurley and Ruairi Deane but Cathal O'Mahony injured. Overall, I think we have plenty to get the win.

My four for this weekend are going to be Donegal -6, Armagh -4, Cavan +1, Louth +1 for 16/1.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 15/02/2024 12:57:14    2526189