Cavan Seniors 2024

Replying To Breffni40:  "If we beat Donegal and lose to Cork what does that mean?

Reckon we should simply never lose again to keep everyone happy."
What a silly comment…. We will always loose a certain amount of games especially against the higher ranked teams… it's the manner in which we lost those games under the previous management was the problem.. Even some of the games we won in Division 3/4 were deplorable to watch… Last Saturday we scored 3/4 points and created other very good opportunities by pushing up and putting pressure on Kildares kick outs… Take the Taltainn Cup Final v Westmeath for an example… 24 kick outs and we conceded 100% of them… If we had done the same last weekend v Kildare we would have played right into their hands and probably have lost the game… The one thing for certain is that we won't win every game but at least go down fighting unlike the tame efforts in the last few years when things turned against us… The CB made a good call in replacing the previous manager… it's a pity they didn't act a couple of years earlier but I guess he was allowed to dine out on the Ulster success too long…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 31/01/2024 17:24:40    2523561

Replying To cavanman47:  "Isn't that inevitable now that we've rid ourselves of the black death manager we've had for the last 5 years?

Nobody will stop our all out Galacticos approach now that the shackles are off!

Cavan for Sam!"
And we might get people to actually go to watch the team playing again…. Crowds had dwindled to such a rate the CB had no choice but to act…and not before time either..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 31/01/2024 21:32:47    2523589

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "And we might get people to actually go to watch the team playing again…. Crowds had dwindled to such a rate the CB had no choice but to act…and not before time either.."
The county board didn't act (other than to offer Mickey a 1 year extension).
He stepped down.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5021 - 01/02/2024 09:12:05    2523618

Replying To cavanman47:  "The county board didn't act (other than to offer Mickey a 1 year extension).
He stepped down."
Exactly. Graham left, he wasn't pushed. He caught the CB on the hop when he had one year left and they expected him to stay

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 01/02/2024 10:22:21    2523632

Replying To cavanman47:  "The county board didn't act (other than to offer Mickey a 1 year extension).
He stepped down."
They did act and asked him to step down before the clubs voted him out but you stay in your make believe word… He was actually in the middle of a 2 year term… they were hardly going to offer him another year with Breffni park empty for every match… Thankfully he took their advice..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 01/02/2024 10:32:21    2523635

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Exactly. Graham left, he wasn't pushed. He caught the CB on the hop when he had one year left and they expected him to stay"
He is that good he is now assistant manager with a Division 4 team… He has found his level…,

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 01/02/2024 13:30:24    2523668

Replying To veterngaa:  "Sure that's the key to win any game…"
go away

breffnibhoy (Cavan) - Posts: 22 - 01/02/2024 14:49:04    2523689

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Exactly. Graham left, he wasn't pushed. He caught the CB on the hop when he had one year left and they expected him to stay"
As usual Loughduff you don't have a clue what's going on in and around the Cavan set up… Only 1 member of the CB wanted Graham to stay on so I don't think he caught anybody on the hop…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 01/02/2024 17:26:25    2523727

Oh dear

Oh dear again

He walked himself. CB wanted him to stay on. A few clubs grumbled and he walked instead. They were caught on the hop as he had done work that week as manager in the opening of the sensory room and then had to get into action to get a new one. Like no point making things up here at this stage, he's gone now but he resigned himself

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 01/02/2024 19:07:13    2523743

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "What a silly comment…. We will always loose a certain amount of games especially against the higher ranked teams… it's the manner in which we lost those games under the previous management was the problem.. Even some of the games we won in Division 3/4 were deplorable to watch… Last Saturday we scored 3/4 points and created other very good opportunities by pushing up and putting pressure on Kildares kick outs… Take the Taltainn Cup Final v Westmeath for an example… 24 kick outs and we conceded 100% of them… If we had done the same last weekend v Kildare we would have played right into their hands and probably have lost the game… The one thing for certain is that we won't win every game but at least go down fighting unlike the tame efforts in the last few years when things turned against us… The CB made a good call in replacing the previous manager… it's a pity they didn't act a couple of years earlier but I guess he was allowed to dine out on the Ulster success too long…"
"It's a pity they didn't act a couple of years earlier"? Mickey Graham won the Ulster title in 2020. He stepped away from the county job in 2023. You believe he should have been removed a few years earlier! Are you being serious? You believe we should have removed a manager the year he won our first title in 23 years. Either you're a player he dropped or clueless.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 01/02/2024 19:56:12    2523746

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Oh dear

Oh dear again

He walked himself. CB wanted him to stay on. A few clubs grumbled and he walked instead. They were caught on the hop as he had done work that week as manager in the opening of the sensory room and then had to get into action to get a new one. Like no point making things up here at this stage, he's gone now but he resigned himself"
No team were in any rush to appoint him as manager which in itself tells you he caught nobody on the hop…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 01/02/2024 20:19:49    2523751

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  ""It's a pity they didn't act a couple of years earlier"? Mickey Graham won the Ulster title in 2020. He stepped away from the county job in 2023. You believe he should have been removed a few years earlier! Are you being serious? You believe we should have removed a manager the year he won our first title in 23 years. Either you're a player he dropped or clueless."
So you were happy with a manager who brought us all the way down to Division 4 playing the sort of football that drove thousands of people away from attending games… Now you're delusional or more likely clueless… He didn't step away he was politely advised to go

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 01/02/2024 22:12:20    2523764

Ah, another new year and another new thread being ruined by yer man and the same petty arguments he's being crying about for years. Dry up will you

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 02/02/2024 07:50:52    2523783

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Ah, another new year and another new thread being ruined by yer man and the same petty arguments he's being crying about for years. Dry up will you"
Not a petty argument, just a statement of fact.. We have new management now so let's hope for steady improvement after 3 wasted years in basement football..It will take time to repair the damage…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 02/02/2024 10:16:02    2523801

Imagine complaining about a manager who has gone, and having to be right about how he went even though getting it very wrong. All while we've got a match in 2 days. Ah well.

What do we think for Sunday then? Gonna be tough. I do see a Donegal win, but think we'll be very tough and put it up to them and they'll only just sneak it.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 02/02/2024 12:51:06    2523844

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Imagine complaining about a manager who has gone, and having to be right about how he went even though getting it very wrong. All while we've got a match in 2 days. Ah well.

What do we think for Sunday then? Gonna be tough. I do see a Donegal win, but think we'll be very tough and put it up to them and they'll only just sneak it."
I got it very right but no matter… the most important thing is that he's gone.. As for Sunday we are up against much tougher opponents than last Saturday and once we stay in the game we will have a good chance going into the last quarter… You predicted a 2pt win for Kildare last weekend so hopefully you are wrong again…!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 02/02/2024 13:18:47    2523849

Sure you lot shouldn't care about league football and div 4… few weeks ago yous were saying league football means nothing with poor Arva in div 1…

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 02/02/2024 15:21:34    2523876

Replying To veterngaa:  "Sure you lot shouldn't care about league football and div 4… few weeks ago yous were saying league football means nothing with poor Arva in div 1…"
All about Championship here (apart from our local village idiot here who's League obsessed). I like League just fine, it whets the appetite until Championship.

You could do without being obsessed with league yourselves and concentrating on Championship. Didn't you invade the pitch on staying up on a last day, yet won nothing in the last 8 years despite being in Division 1? Odd

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 02/02/2024 16:18:24    2523888

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "So you were happy with a manager who brought us all the way down to Division 4 playing the sort of football that drove thousands of people away from attending games… Now you're delusional or more likely clueless… He didn't step away he was politely advised to go"
Sorry for being a bit blunt with you but are you mad? You're suggesting Graham should have been removed in 2021, immediately after winning the Ulster title. You said he should have been removed 2 years earlier than when he quit. That's bitterness on your part, surely! He must have dropped you.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 02/02/2024 19:47:56    2523923

Replying To veterngaa:  "Sure you lot shouldn't care about league football and div 4… few weeks ago yous were saying league football means nothing with poor Arva in div 1…"
I'm convinced you're from Cavan and are trolling the Monaghan supporters, who are mortified that you're slagging off a County who are far more successful than they are. If not, jump over to Meath and Armagh as well while you're at it. Sure Monaghans stint in division one makes you far better than them too. Right? Enjoy your annual January all Ireland!

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 02/02/2024 19:51:07    2523924