Cavan Seniors 2024

Anyone know why Gearoid is not on panel? I would imagine he'll be on it yet unless I'm missing something?

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 01/01/2024 23:56:44    2518033

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "The Holla would hardly play when he has an all ireland semi final to play"
Good point, I never thought of that. In that case, I'd like to see someone like Clarke or Conor Rehill at 6 instead. I think we need Mcvity in the forwards.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 02/01/2024 09:58:37    2518039

Replying To veterngaa:  "He served as selector before.., recent memory lol don't be bringing up them all Ireland's"
I was thinking about 2020. Monaghan have won nothing at senior since 2013. That's not recent memory either. It's you who's bringing up the all Irelands. Besides, why shouldn't we celebrate our history. Its old history but its still our history. Better historic all Irelands than none, lad.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 02/01/2024 10:05:11    2518040

Replying To facer4home:  "Anyone know why Gearoid is not on panel? I would imagine he'll be on it yet unless I'm missing something?"
He has retired from county football I believe

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 02/01/2024 11:57:01    2518048

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "He has retired from county football I believe"
I know he was injured in latter half of last year and didn't feature for the Gaels either. If he's retired it seems like it is going under the radar especially for our highest profile county player. He's been a great player for us. He would still be a useful option on the square or help to see out a game coming off the bench

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 02/01/2024 14:49:22    2518067

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I was thinking about 2020. Monaghan have won nothing at senior since 2013. That's not recent memory either. It's you who's bringing up the all Irelands. Besides, why shouldn't we celebrate our history. Its old history but its still our history. Better historic all Irelands than none, lad."
Did you forget about the Div 2 in 2014, Ulster Champions 2015 also. Ah Ye the 2020 behind closed doors champ..

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 02/01/2024 14:49:44    2518068

Replying To veterngaa:  "Did you forget about the Div 2 in 2014, Ulster Champions 2015 also. Ah Ye the 2020 behind closed doors champ.."
Correct, I meant 2015. Still not recent history, though. It's mad how quickly time goes. I don't get the behind closed doors comment. I seem to remember your own county putting in an epic effort to stop us that year. Are you saying that they weren't really trying?

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 02/01/2024 18:19:30    2518091

Can't see us going too strong tonight, it's always a chance to run the panel and so on. Got a look at the Derry team and they have gone very inexperienced too, with some big names on the bench like Rodgers and McGuigan. It's what this competition is for - to try things, give lads a run and so on. Interesting to see nonetheless

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 03/01/2024 13:13:20    2518183

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Can't see us going too strong tonight, it's always a chance to run the panel and so on. Got a look at the Derry team and they have gone very inexperienced too, with some big names on the bench like Rodgers and McGuigan. It's what this competition is for - to try things, give lads a run and so on. Interesting to see nonetheless"
lad that is actually a strong team we are putting out tonight. two all stars at midfield and an experienced full forward line. it is a bit more rejigged but strong at the back but we should really be taking derry if they have opted with a second string team.

Creilly_Baby (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 03/01/2024 14:03:39    2518198

Cavan team is out:

Liam Brady
Oisin Kiernan, Killian Brady, Cormac McKeogh
Jason McLoughlin, Niall Carolan, Brian O'Connell
James Galligan, Padraig Faulkner (C)
Oisin Kiernan, Tiarnan Madden, Ryan Donohoe
Paddy Lynch, James Smith, Oisin Brady

Subs: Gary O'Rourke, Emmanuel Shehu, Gerry Smith, Cormac Timoney, Peter Smith, Mark Magee, Paul Smith, Cormac O'Reilly, Liam Fay, Jack Tully, Caoimhin O'Reilly

So I was wrong above. We have gone strong. Interesting to see, and good to see a lot of returning names as well. Seems like that is Faulkner as Captain, and fair play and congrats to him. It's well deserved.

A wee indulgent word for Gunner too. Back again, and after such a bad injury last year it's good to see him fit start of the year. He was missed last year as adds so much

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 03/01/2024 14:08:48    2518199

Replying To Creilly_Baby:  "lad that is actually a strong team we are putting out tonight. two all stars at midfield and an experienced full forward line. it is a bit more rejigged but strong at the back but we should really be taking derry if they have opted with a second string team."
Yeah indeed, I say that below in my other post. I'm surprised at that. Seems Galligan wants to go strong early. really should be beating derry considering the 2 teams.

That's not Thomas Galligan midfield btw, you're mixing James Galligan up with him

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 03/01/2024 14:28:49    2518205

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Yeah indeed, I say that below in my other post. I'm surprised at that. Seems Galligan wants to go strong early. really should be beating derry considering the 2 teams.

That's not Thomas Galligan midfield btw, you're mixing James Galligan up with him"
aye thomas is the all star. I stand corrected lad.

Creilly_Baby (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 03/01/2024 15:31:47    2518225

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "That Derry game was a pivotal moment for Cavan. A win and we'd have ended up in a playoff for div 2. Instead, we ended up in a relegation playoff where Wicklow got two freakish goals, and the unthinkable relegation to the basement. Maybe harsh on our noisy neighbours, though. They played some great stuff last year. They did win nothing though, I suppose. For what it's worth, I'd fancy us to be in the mix for promotion. Will we get it, unfortunately, Armagh and Donegal are looking like frontrunners. The rest are good teams, also. I wouldn't fear them, though. With the likes of James Smith back on board, I think we've the personal to challenge.
It's early yet but for Derry, I'd like to see a team similar to below.
1. O Rourke
2. Carolan
3. Faulkner
4. Rehill/Cian Reilly.
5. Tiernan Madden
6. Ciaran Brady
7. Conor Brady
8. Ryan Donohoe
9. James Smith
10. Cian Madden
11. Mcvitty
12. Gerry Smith
13. Oisin Brady
14. Paddy Lynch
15. Conor Smith

We've lots of options at the moment but that's a team with lots of youth in it. The likes of Clarke etc are good options off the bench"
Meant to say I'd like that selection or similar for Kildare. Interesting selection for tonight all the same. Hopefully, James Galligan does well. He's been a consistent performer at club level for years. Deserves a shot. Great to have inter County back again.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 03/01/2024 16:55:07    2518237

Anyone have the link for the Cavan n Derry game tonight? Excited to see how the team goes. Wishing Blues a great year!

Breffini1967 (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 03/01/2024 17:17:48    2518241

we dont seem to have much power on our bench

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 03/01/2024 21:06:35    2518263

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "we dont seem to have much power on our bench"
Or on the field

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 03/01/2024 21:36:00    2518265

Not an unexpected result but again our scoring return ( 1-10 ) is dismal…. A good run out to blow off the cob webs but huge improvement needed before the first league game v Kildare…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 04/01/2024 10:20:09    2518295

I had a deal with myself after lurking here for years that if i signed up I would not join in on the moaning. so I wont. after one competitive game in january. early days lads.

Creilly_Baby (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 04/01/2024 11:23:15    2518312

Replying To Creilly_Baby:  "I had a deal with myself after lurking here for years that if i signed up I would not join in on the moaning. so I wont. after one competitive game in january. early days lads."
Same here. There was some good things and some bad things last night. But those games are the times for finding those out. We had at least 4 to 5 clear goal chances and took one of them. Glad we're creating them. Disappointed with the result seeing the team we lined out, but saw enough to see we can adjust and tweak things. Some players looked good, especially some returning players and I saw enough movement and play from them to show they're not far away.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 04/01/2024 11:32:01    2518314

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Same here. There was some good things and some bad things last night. But those games are the times for finding those out. We had at least 4 to 5 clear goal chances and took one of them. Glad we're creating them. Disappointed with the result seeing the team we lined out, but saw enough to see we can adjust and tweak things. Some players looked good, especially some returning players and I saw enough movement and play from them to show they're not far away."
So the usual moral victory?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 04/01/2024 12:38:32    2518323