Cavan Seniors 2024

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "No idea…. It was a behind closed doors friendly which was probably just as well…"
I wouldn't really worry about it, I often seen us winning these games too and didn't do much for us.
What was the score?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 30/12/2023 17:01:35    2517889

Looks like we might have to persuade Galligan to get back into goals… we conceded 6-13 today…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 30/12/2023 17:22:52    2517892

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Looks like we might have to persuade Galligan to get back into goals… we conceded 6-13 today…!"
What did we score?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 30/12/2023 18:12:43    2517894

Replying To blueman1903:  "What did we score?"
7 points

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 30/12/2023 22:11:17    2517909

Wouldn't be taking much notice of games like that. As said above, there's times we hear great stories of wins in challenges and lads are flying, and then do nothing afterwards. We're in transition on both sides of the line, while playing the All Ireland champions. As long as they're learning and building constantly here

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 31/12/2023 14:12:16    2517938

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Wouldn't be taking much notice of games like that. As said above, there's times we hear great stories of wins in challenges and lads are flying, and then do nothing afterwards. We're in transition on both sides of the line, while playing the All Ireland champions. As long as they're learning and building constantly here"
Once we are flying for the start of the Division 2 campaign is all that matters but shipping 6 goals to a Dublin 'B' team doesn't bode well… Everything should be put into the league this year to make sure we survive in the Division as we haven't a snowballs chance in hell of making any impact in the Championship…,!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 31/12/2023 17:30:29    2517957

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Wouldn't be taking much notice of games like that. As said above, there's times we hear great stories of wins in challenges and lads are flying, and then do nothing afterwards. We're in transition on both sides of the line, while playing the All Ireland champions. As long as they're learning and building constantly here"
Hammerings like that don't usually happen in challenge matches!

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 31/12/2023 17:31:10    2517958

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Some juvenile coaching I believe. this is why he has put together a strong team around him who has that experience. Hard to know how it'll go, but sure look..."
A ladies manager, a club manager and a forwards coach….

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 31/12/2023 17:33:22    2517959

Replying To veterngaa:  "A ladies manager, a club manager and a forwards coach…."
Your on the wrong forum there chuck

visionary (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 31/12/2023 21:42:18    2517975

Replying To veterngaa:  "A ladies manager, a club manager and a forwards coach…."
Is there no-one on the national forum from your own county to take you home before you embarrass yourself? Monaghan haven't won a senior title of any sort in 10 years. You're in no place to be commenting on other counties management. Postscript, are you saying that counties who appoint managers without prior experience are foolish? Sure, didn't your own crowd appoint Vinny Corey straight after he stopped playing. Worry about your own house. We're no world beaters but at least we've won something in recent memory.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 31/12/2023 21:47:24    2517976

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Looks like we might have to persuade Galligan to get back into goals… we conceded 6-13 today…!"
You need context there. It was a pre-season run out. To pass judgement you'd need both line-ups, a report on the game, and the pre match attitude of both camps. Otherwise, the result is an irrelevance.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 31/12/2023 21:51:21    2517977

Replying To veterngaa:  "Hammerings like that don't usually happen in challenge matches!"
someone still sore about the hammering handed to ye by Arva....

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 31/12/2023 23:33:05    2517981

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Curious that you'd leave out Cavans player of the year"
Yes personal preferences I guess, there are alot of options for that middle eight which is good and more players announced this week in the celt.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 01/01/2024 13:25:09    2517991

Derry on Wednesday and you would imagine it will be a strong Derry team announced. The last time we played Derry I believe was covid league 2021 which was on TG4.
https://youtu.be/GgI8R1HlSTw?si=oOeWxVVNUazJji8r.

We played pretty well that day but a McGuigan masterclass was the difference. Derry have since gone on to become one of the best in the country. For me, playing McVeety centre back is the equivalent of Derry playing McGuigan centre back. I'm sure he'd do a good job there and even chip in with a couple of points but that's not where you want to see Shane McGuigan.

As for Monaghan, an ageing team who got a couple of breaks last year but won nothing but a moral victory. Looking forward to heading up to Clones this summer to register our third championship win in a row over them.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 01/01/2024 13:32:59    2517992

lads if we are in transition is it advisable to put yourself up against the better teams in the country like derry and dublin ? being on the end of that cricket score will have done nothing for the confidence of the new players or anyone out of practice. i doubt the new management troupe went home with a big smile on their faces either. you would imagine you would be trying to build up towards dr cullen park which is in four weeks now.

Creilly_Baby (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 01/01/2024 15:44:45    2518003

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Derry on Wednesday and you would imagine it will be a strong Derry team announced. The last time we played Derry I believe was covid league 2021 which was on TG4.
https://youtu.be/GgI8R1HlSTw?si=oOeWxVVNUazJji8r.

We played pretty well that day but a McGuigan masterclass was the difference. Derry have since gone on to become one of the best in the country. For me, playing McVeety centre back is the equivalent of Derry playing McGuigan centre back. I'm sure he'd do a good job there and even chip in with a couple of points but that's not where you want to see Shane McGuigan.

As for Monaghan, an ageing team who got a couple of breaks last year but won nothing but a moral victory. Looking forward to heading up to Clones this summer to register our third championship win in a row over them."
That Derry game was a pivotal moment for Cavan. A win and we'd have ended up in a playoff for div 2. Instead, we ended up in a relegation playoff where Wicklow got two freakish goals, and the unthinkable relegation to the basement. Maybe harsh on our noisy neighbours, though. They played some great stuff last year. They did win nothing though, I suppose. For what it's worth, I'd fancy us to be in the mix for promotion. Will we get it, unfortunately, Armagh and Donegal are looking like frontrunners. The rest are good teams, also. I wouldn't fear them, though. With the likes of James Smith back on board, I think we've the personal to challenge.
It's early yet but for Derry, I'd like to see a team similar to below.
1. O Rourke
2. Carolan
3. Faulkner
4. Rehill/Cian Reilly.
5. Tiernan Madden
6. Ciaran Brady
7. Conor Brady
8. Ryan Donohoe
9. James Smith
10. Cian Madden
11. Mcvitty
12. Gerry Smith
13. Oisin Brady
14. Paddy Lynch
15. Conor Smith

We've lots of options at the moment but that's a team with lots of youth in it. The likes of Clarke etc are good options off the bench

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 98 - 01/01/2024 16:47:37    2518008

Replying To Creilly_Baby:  "lads if we are in transition is it advisable to put yourself up against the better teams in the country like derry and dublin ? being on the end of that cricket score will have done nothing for the confidence of the new players or anyone out of practice. i doubt the new management troupe went home with a big smile on their faces either. you would imagine you would be trying to build up towards dr cullen park which is in four weeks now."
Exactly the point I was making…. A hammering like that does nothing for confidence within what is fairly new squad… Derry on Wednesday will be another tough test

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 01/01/2024 17:11:14    2518011

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Is there no-one on the national forum from your own county to take you home before you embarrass yourself? Monaghan haven't won a senior title of any sort in 10 years. You're in no place to be commenting on other counties management. Postscript, are you saying that counties who appoint managers without prior experience are foolish? Sure, didn't your own crowd appoint Vinny Corey straight after he stopped playing. Worry about your own house. We're no world beaters but at least we've won something in recent memory."
He served as selector before.., recent memory lol don't be bringing up them all Ireland's

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 01/01/2024 19:56:22    2518022

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "someone still sore about the hammering handed to ye by Arva...."
I'm not form blackhill why would I care,,,

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 01/01/2024 19:56:47    2518023

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "That Derry game was a pivotal moment for Cavan. A win and we'd have ended up in a playoff for div 2. Instead, we ended up in a relegation playoff where Wicklow got two freakish goals, and the unthinkable relegation to the basement. Maybe harsh on our noisy neighbours, though. They played some great stuff last year. They did win nothing though, I suppose. For what it's worth, I'd fancy us to be in the mix for promotion. Will we get it, unfortunately, Armagh and Donegal are looking like frontrunners. The rest are good teams, also. I wouldn't fear them, though. With the likes of James Smith back on board, I think we've the personal to challenge.
It's early yet but for Derry, I'd like to see a team similar to below.
1. O Rourke
2. Carolan
3. Faulkner
4. Rehill/Cian Reilly.
5. Tiernan Madden
6. Ciaran Brady
7. Conor Brady
8. Ryan Donohoe
9. James Smith
10. Cian Madden
11. Mcvitty
12. Gerry Smith
13. Oisin Brady
14. Paddy Lynch
15. Conor Smith

We've lots of options at the moment but that's a team with lots of youth in it. The likes of Clarke etc are good options off the bench"
The Holla would hardly play when he has an all ireland semi final to play

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 01/01/2024 22:29:54    2518030