Cavan Seniors 2024

So folks, here we go. McKenna Cup draw the other evening, and we should be getting fixtures for that soon. National league fixtures are also out, so as we approach Christmas, it means that inter county football is not far away. Obvious upheaval with both squad and management. Some rumours about who has joined the squad, who has left, and who has retired. Either way, a lot of new things to see on both sides of the line once they take the field. As always, despite all that came before, I'm looking forward to it.

McKenna Cup should see who we have about the place, and some squad members being given a run to see where they are. Derry and Down will be tough games, so good games to get a run out and see what some lads are like. For the League, for me we need to hold on to Division 2 status minimum. And preferably not just 6th as we saw from Meath last year it may not be enough to hold on to All ireland series.

Our draw this year is a bit tough. The 'winnable' games v Louth and Fermanagh come later in the group, so in order not to be too far behind we need to find some points elsewhere early. Kildare, Cork, Armagh away will be tough, as will Donegal and Meath at home. But would be great if we got a few wins out of some of those and then we have to look to win the other 2. Staying up is a must. Then we see how the Championship will go from where we are then. It's good we're back up and playing good teams so need to make the most of it and learn quick.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 15/12/2023 11:40:35    2516901

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "So folks, here we go. McKenna Cup draw the other evening, and we should be getting fixtures for that soon. National league fixtures are also out, so as we approach Christmas, it means that inter county football is not far away. Obvious upheaval with both squad and management. Some rumours about who has joined the squad, who has left, and who has retired. Either way, a lot of new things to see on both sides of the line once they take the field. As always, despite all that came before, I'm looking forward to it.

McKenna Cup should see who we have about the place, and some squad members being given a run to see where they are. Derry and Down will be tough games, so good games to get a run out and see what some lads are like. For the League, for me we need to hold on to Division 2 status minimum. And preferably not just 6th as we saw from Meath last year it may not be enough to hold on to All ireland series.

Our draw this year is a bit tough. The 'winnable' games v Louth and Fermanagh come later in the group, so in order not to be too far behind we need to find some points elsewhere early. Kildare, Cork, Armagh away will be tough, as will Donegal and Meath at home. But would be great if we got a few wins out of some of those and then we have to look to win the other 2. Staying up is a must. Then we see how the Championship will go from where we are then. It's good we're back up and playing good teams so need to make the most of it and learn quick."
Nice easy one for Raymond to kick off ! January 3rd, Derry at home, then we have Down in Pairc Esler on January 10th !

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 15/12/2023 12:59:29    2516922

If we have any hope of being in Sam Maguire at the business end of the year we probably need to be 5th at a minimum. With all the change and uncertainty around the panel it would be interesting to see what people would see as being a good progressive year. The league it is essential to stay up but again will be a difficult task as our fixtures are not exactly favourable. Then the Ulster championship draw is tough. We never perform against Tyrone and that's if we even get that far meaning the league is even more prevalent. Then if we don't make Sam the Tailteann cup really is a must win at this stage with our failings the previous two years.

Chris6788 (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 15/12/2023 13:10:22    2516924

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "So folks, here we go. McKenna Cup draw the other evening, and we should be getting fixtures for that soon. National league fixtures are also out, so as we approach Christmas, it means that inter county football is not far away. Obvious upheaval with both squad and management. Some rumours about who has joined the squad, who has left, and who has retired. Either way, a lot of new things to see on both sides of the line once they take the field. As always, despite all that came before, I'm looking forward to it.

Our draw this year is a bit tough. The 'winnable' games v Louth and Fermanagh come later in the group, so in order not to be too far behind we need to find some points elsewhere early. Kildare, Cork, Armagh away will be tough, as will Donegal and Meath at home. But would be great if we got a few wins out of some of those and then we have to look to win the other 2. Staying up is a must. Then we see how the Championship will go from where we are then. It's good we're back up and playing good teams so need to make the most of it and learn quick."
Agree with all that… staying up is the season's priority but it won't be easy… Louth and Fermanagh are must win games and we will need to beat one of the others as well… Tough division.. As for the squad, a lot of new faces in and Garoid Mc Kiernan has retired from inter county football… He gave great service to be fair..!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 15/12/2023 13:26:43    2516930

Home to Derry on Wednesday 3rd Jan, then away to Newry v Down the following Wednesday. Pity no weekend game for those away, but a week break between games is fine I suppose

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 17/12/2023 19:01:37    2517216

Just curious, has Gallican any management experience? Club or juveniles etc?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 20/12/2023 09:37:51    2517453

Replying To veterngaa:  "Just curious, has Gallican any management experience? Club or juveniles etc?"
Some juvenile coaching I believe. this is why he has put together a strong team around him who has that experience. Hard to know how it'll go, but sure look...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 20/12/2023 10:47:27    2517464

Do we know the shape of the training squad at this stage, notable retirees, opt outs, returnees, newbies, and are we stronger or weaker as a result???

Calving4Sam (Cavan) - Posts: 81 - 20/12/2023 11:25:33    2517467

Yes absolutely great to be back up playing in the top divisions having suffered through 3 years of division 3 and 4 and then the added torture of the Tailteann cup. It's hard to believe we have had no intercounty action since that eerily quiet summer's day in Breffni last June.

Armagh and Donegal are probably division 1 teams so promotion will be a tough ask. Although, hard to know with Donegal at this point, McGuiness doesn't have the players he had 10 years ago and it will also take him time to get them fit.
Outside of them two, absolutely nothing to fear. Cork and Kildare have possibly improved recently but had poor enough leagues last year. I don't think Meath have improved despite the media's attempt to hype their Tailteann win.
I think we ourselves have an exciting squad with a good mix of experience and youth and a number of players in the 18 to 22 bracket that have good potential. I think we should have no problems with relegation and should be aiming for 3rd or 4th. Looking forward to the McKenna cup games next month although it's a pity they're on Wednesdays.
A 15 (minus Ciaran Brady) that I would throw out:
1. Liam Brady
2. Caolan McCabe
3. Killian Clarke
4. Eoin Clarke
5. Cormac McKeogh
6. Paddy Meade
7. Tiernan Madden
8. Ryan Donohoe
9. James Smith
10. Cian Madden
11. Cormac O'Reilly
12. Niall Carolan
13. Conor Madden
14. Darragh McVeety
15. Paddy Lynch

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 20/12/2023 11:28:10    2517468

Good luck to cavan gaa in 2024. im thinking mr galligan will need lots of it lads. do not like these rumours surrounding players and management team opting out before a ball is kicked and others staying away. the silver lining around this appointment was the connection he would have with his ex teamates so cavan football could hit the sod running. all the other sticky business around camp needs sorting yesterday. not let it fester into the league and championship. there. i said it. because we badly need a good year for cavan football.

Creilly_Baby (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 21/12/2023 12:02:33    2517553

Replying To Creilly_Baby:  "Good luck to cavan gaa in 2024. im thinking mr galligan will need lots of it lads. do not like these rumours surrounding players and management team opting out before a ball is kicked and others staying away. the silver lining around this appointment was the connection he would have with his ex teamates so cavan football could hit the sod running. all the other sticky business around camp needs sorting yesterday. not let it fester into the league and championship. there. i said it. because we badly need a good year for cavan football."
Who from management are rumoured to be dropped out?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 21/12/2023 13:20:43    2517562

Replying To Creilly_Baby:  "Good luck to cavan gaa in 2024. im thinking mr galligan will need lots of it lads. do not like these rumours surrounding players and management team opting out before a ball is kicked and others staying away. the silver lining around this appointment was the connection he would have with his ex teamates so cavan football could hit the sod running. all the other sticky business around camp needs sorting yesterday. not let it fester into the league and championship. there. i said it. because we badly need a good year for cavan football."
Let's wait until we see the squad, and until we're a fair few games in. a clear out of players who are donme and want to retire, and others who don't want to be there is fine. maybe we needed the clearout. We have young enthusiastic players coming in and if they come in and add to things then it can be good. A year in transition, while keeping our place and building up to something is fine for me this year with all those changes.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 21/12/2023 15:24:06    2517574

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Yes absolutely great to be back up playing in the top divisions having suffered through 3 years of division 3 and 4 and then the added torture of the Tailteann cup. It's hard to believe we have had no intercounty action since that eerily quiet summer's day in Breffni last June.

Armagh and Donegal are probably division 1 teams so promotion will be a tough ask. Although, hard to know with Donegal at this point, McGuiness doesn't have the players he had 10 years ago and it will also take him time to get them fit.
Outside of them two, absolutely nothing to fear. Cork and Kildare have possibly improved recently but had poor enough leagues last year. I don't think Meath have improved despite the media's attempt to hype their Tailteann win.
I think we ourselves have an exciting squad with a good mix of experience and youth and a number of players in the 18 to 22 bracket that have good potential. I think we should have no problems with relegation and should be aiming for 3rd or 4th. Looking forward to the McKenna cup games next month although it's a pity they're on Wednesdays.
A 15 (minus Ciaran Brady) that I would throw out:
1. Liam Brady
2. Caolan McCabe
3. Killian Clarke
4. Eoin Clarke
5. Cormac McKeogh
6. Paddy Meade
7. Tiernan Madden
8. Ryan Donohoe
9. James Smith
10. Cian Madden
11. Cormac O'Reilly
12. Niall Carolan
13. Conor Madden
14. Darragh McVeety
15. Paddy Lynch"
Curious that you'd leave out Cavans player of the year

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 27/12/2023 22:22:02    2517745

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Curious that you'd leave out Cavans player of the year"
I'd imagine it's just a McKenna Cup line up from that poster where we'd see lots of changes

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 28/12/2023 20:33:34    2517789

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I'd imagine it's just a McKenna Cup line up from that poster where we'd see lots of changes"
Just seen the Celt there, it's good to see James Smith back in alongside brian O,Connell and cormac O,Reilly caoimhin OReilly and cormac Timoney and paddy Meade, also New in are Ryan Brady Liam Fay , The 3 Goalkeepers are Fergal ORourke and Gary Orourke and Liam Brady.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 29/12/2023 15:27:17    2517829

Good to see Brían O'Connell back in and Mark Magee (Ramor) giving it a shot,I think Magee could push for a starting spot,he's a good age now and in serious shape and can play in a number of positions.Caoimhin back in is great and hopefully will get a run of games to prove himself.I believe that Ray's process of calling in players was way more personal i.e meeting them,than previous management so hopefully his man management will be key.Best of luck to him,he's a gentleman and hopefully it goes well for him

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 29/12/2023 20:30:30    2517839

We took an awful beating from Dublin in Breffni Park today…. You'd wonder at the thinking behind playing a team like that…what good can a tanking like that do for players…?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 30/12/2023 14:43:36    2517877

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "We took an awful beating from Dublin in Breffni Park today…. You'd wonder at the thinking behind playing a team like that…what good can a tanking like that do for players…?"
What was the team that was out?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 30/12/2023 15:03:11    2517881

Replying To blueman1903:  "What was the team that was out?"
No idea…. It was a behind closed doors friendly which was probably just as well…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 30/12/2023 16:34:31    2517886

Replying To blueman1903:  "Just seen the Celt there, it's good to see James Smith back in alongside brian O,Connell and cormac O,Reilly caoimhin OReilly and cormac Timoney and paddy Meade, also New in are Ryan Brady Liam Fay , The 3 Goalkeepers are Fergal ORourke and Gary Orourke and Liam Brady."
Great to see those boys back in alright. Some big names there coming back in. Looking forward to seeing our first panel and line up next week. Hope we try the keepers a bit next while too. Liam Brady ahead you'd think but either of the O'Rourkes are quality too. Fergal on kickouts is especially good and shot blocking too. We'll also need to see who can kick long range frees. Would be nice to see an outfielder like Lynch push on and continue to gain accuracy and length, but no harm seeing a keeper still be an option if needed too

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 30/12/2023 16:50:42    2517888