Should Galligan Only Look To Senior Clubs For His Panellists

tomsmith here

I just wonder should the new Cavan manager be advised to only play senior Club men or indeed only invite people from senior Clubs into his panel
I say this because I have often seen players from small Country Clubs come into Cavan Kingspan Park and take stage fright when playing in the big arena.
Indeed it is a frightening proposition for say Intermediate an d junior players playing against big senior club players.
Most good players try and get their club out of the junior Championship and up into intermediate and onwards to senior/
It is only a thought

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 16/11/2023 13:35:59    2513350

Knitting tom is the only answer

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 16/11/2023 21:05:57    2513419

Replying To tomsmith:  "tomsmith here

I just wonder should the new Cavan manager be advised to only play senior Club men or indeed only invite people from senior Clubs into his panel
I say this because I have often seen players from small Country Clubs come into Cavan Kingspan Park and take stage fright when playing in the big arena.
Indeed it is a frightening proposition for say Intermediate an d junior players playing against big senior club players.
Most good players try and get their club out of the junior Championship and up into intermediate and onwards to senior/
It is only a thought"
What about your protege Davin Givney?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 16/11/2023 21:15:03    2513422

It is only a thought"
Does that rule out Gearoid?

Maybe reword the question to read "people with senior clubs".

While you're doing that, I'll let Ciaran Brady and Jason McLoughlin know to take the winter off.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5020 - 17/11/2023 08:02:12    2513437

Tomsmith here

Lets face most of the bigger Clubs do have a very strict training regime with strength and conditioning very much to the fore front.
I do know and understand that most of you will be arguing that most big club players are white collar workers like Solicitors , Guards, Teachers, medical professionals, Doctors, or professionals who require this sort of strenuous work.
While Clubs players away out in the country are generally people who do manual work like Block layers , plasters, refuse collection operators, Farmers, Sheep clippers, Carpenters who do loads of manual work on a daily work routine and are super fit but some would be devoid of GAA skills .
That is an explanation of why I think big club players are the way to go for a County team panel . I may be wrong this time. But I am seldom wrong

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 19/11/2023 22:09:10    2513785

He should only pick players from Cavan Gaels. No club has won more championships in the last 23 years so it's the only logical thing to do.

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 305 - 25/11/2023 21:41:43    2514601

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

Lets face most of the bigger Clubs do have a very strict training regime with strength and conditioning very much to the fore front.
I do know and understand that most of you will be arguing that most big club players are white collar workers like Solicitors , Guards, Teachers, medical professionals, Doctors, or professionals who require this sort of strenuous work.
While Clubs players away out in the country are generally people who do manual work like Block layers , plasters, refuse collection operators, Farmers, Sheep clippers, Carpenters who do loads of manual work on a daily work routine and are super fit but some would be devoid of GAA skills .
That is an explanation of why I think big club players are the way to go for a County team panel . I may be wrong this time. But I am seldom wrong"
Oh you're not wrong Tom. I heard on the traffic report this morning that the main street in Dowra was blocked as 2 refuse collection vehicles collided.

The locals' worries have been alleviated as their bus tickets will be eligible on the metro for journeys to and from Glangevlin.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5020 - 30/11/2023 12:48:04    2515079

Replying To cavanman47:  "Oh you're not wrong Tom. I heard on the traffic report this morning that the main street in Dowra was blocked as 2 refuse collection vehicles collided.

The locals' worries have been alleviated as their bus tickets will be eligible on the metro for journeys to and from Glangevlin."
Cavanman 1947 was that famous year
Every time Iread your posts It always brings my thoughts back to that great day in New York , Those were wonderful times when we had men that stood up to the might of Kerry.
But them were the days when strength was important in Gaa ,
Now its give and go, run of the shoulder and so so . In Cavan the Gaels Club were the first that sort of brought in the beautiful style of play where more educated people , not necessary strong players shone in Games.
In my view big strong Country Lads will bring a team so far but at the end style , finess and skill will win trough.
So that is why I say that Galligan should be selection nice, stylish footballers from the bigger Clubs . While I am aligned to Cavan Gaels I feel that the Gaels could / should have at least 8 on the senior County panel.
The gaels is Cavans biggest Club and play the most stylist football compared to Clubs away out in the Colutry

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 03/12/2023 12:47:43    2515322

Keep your location a secret Tom or the men in the white coats will take you away

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 03/12/2023 16:51:36    2515354

It is only a thought"
Agh TomSmith here….. you're some man

Firstly

Best wishes of the season to all my friends from Cavan.

Secondly what a post, I mean where to start with it.

I have often seen players from small Country Clubs come into Cavan Kingspan Park and take stage fright when playing in the big arena…. Surely this rules out anyone from your own great under achievers in Cavan gaels… no teams been more afflicted by the stage fright of Breffini park than the might Gael's…. The greatest fallacy of the last 20 years….

Indeed it is a frightening proposition for say "a Cavan gaels" players playing against big senior club players…. Indeeden you're right there tomsmith here… nothing chills a Cavan gaels player more than breffini park…. Tis like garlic or a cross to a vampire for them… they turn into blocks of salt… sure no point having them in that mighty breffini blue jersey at all ….

Most good players try and get their club out of the junior Championship and up into intermediate and onwards to senior…. Unless the might of Cavan gaels come calling with offers of riches and bright lights and broken promises……. How many players over the years have they paid big fees for……. and they have all frozen when it matter most to the boys from Terry Coyle park… how long is the drought going now tomsmith here ..

Maybe if the gaels played at junior D … a level more appropriate to some of their "imports" they'd win something….

Many's a great lad has represented Cavan with distinction over the years from below senior level.. can think of 5 great Meath men who've done it for you too… all from non senior clubs… sure haven't you had plenty of Meath men on both the most recent ulster title winning teams in 97 and 2020… can think of the likes of the great Anthony Gaynor… he wasn't from a senior club back then.. and represented Ireland at the oul comprised rules, Trevor Crowe wasn't he from a junior club in his day… and many's a lad from below senior has been screwed over the years too.. lads from drumalee, killeshandra, drumlane and others all would've represented the breffini blue jersey with distinction but some managers chose your methods of madness.. sure by your logic the great Stephen "The" King probably shouldn't have been involved in 97 at all at all

As one of your posters advised knitting Tom…. I'd say you'd spin a mighty yarn at that…. I'll even get you a pair of needles and not have you spending money ;)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/12/2023 11:03:12    2515442

Replying To brian:  "Agh TomSmith here….. you're some man

Firstly

Best wishes of the season to all my friends from Cavan.

Secondly what a post, I mean where to start with it.

I have often seen players from small Country Clubs come into Cavan Kingspan Park and take stage fright when playing in the big arena…. Surely this rules out anyone from your own great under achievers in Cavan gaels… no teams been more afflicted by the stage fright of Breffini park than the might Gael's…. The greatest fallacy of the last 20 years….

Indeed it is a frightening proposition for say "a Cavan gaels" players playing against big senior club players…. Indeeden you're right there tomsmith here… nothing chills a Cavan gaels player more than breffini park…. Tis like garlic or a cross to a vampire for them… they turn into blocks of salt… sure no point having them in that mighty breffini blue jersey at all ….

Most good players try and get their club out of the junior Championship and up into intermediate and onwards to senior…. Unless the might of Cavan gaels come calling with offers of riches and bright lights and broken promises……. How many players over the years have they paid big fees for……. and they have all frozen when it matter most to the boys from Terry Coyle park… how long is the drought going now tomsmith here ..

Maybe if the gaels played at junior D … a level more appropriate to some of their "imports" they'd win something….

Many's a great lad has represented Cavan with distinction over the years from below senior level.. can think of 5 great Meath men who've done it for you too… all from non senior clubs… sure haven't you had plenty of Meath men on both the most recent ulster title winning teams in 97 and 2020… can think of the likes of the great Anthony Gaynor… he wasn't from a senior club back then.. and represented Ireland at the oul comprised rules, Trevor Crowe wasn't he from a junior club in his day… and many's a lad from below senior has been screwed over the years too.. lads from drumalee, killeshandra, drumlane and others all would've represented the breffini blue jersey with distinction but some managers chose your methods of madness.. sure by your logic the great Stephen "The" King probably shouldn't have been involved in 97 at all at all

As one of your posters advised knitting Tom…. I'd say you'd spin a mighty yarn at that…. I'll even get you a pair of needles and not have you spending money ;)"
Tomsmith here
Hello to all Gaels.
What I was saying in this Post was that Mr Galligan should consider players that play with senior Clubs preferably in Towns .
I feel that these are the types of players if you are to progress in Ulster that we need .
Ok junior or Intermediate Club men / players from away out in the Country may be big strong men doing daily manual work like ploughing, stacking bales, calving cows, driving fencing posts or indeed another strenuous type of work is dosing Cattle or holding cattle for a vets test. This all very strenuous work which requires a lot of brawn.
While the City of Town players will be white coloured workers doing Surgery work, Counting money in a Bank ,or Computer work or being a Teacher or Guarda which requires no strength at all but just pure professionalism.
The difference in the two types ( Country V City/Town ) players is that the professional Town players will show skill in evading tackles while the county player will relish a good shoulder charge and get a level of self satisfaction is getting ayellow Card for it.
Going anywhere you need the skilful Town players

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 05/12/2023 22:34:19    2515674

Hello to all Gaels.
What I was saying in this Post was that Mr Galligan should consider players that play with senior Clubs preferably in Towns .
I feel that these are the types of players if you are to progress in Ulster that we need .
Ok junior or Intermediate Club men / players from away out in the Country may be big strong men doing daily manual work like ploughing, stacking bales, calving cows, driving fencing posts or indeed another strenuous type of work is dosing Cattle or holding cattle for a vets test. This all very strenuous work which requires a lot of brawn.
While the City of Town players will be white coloured workers doing Surgery work, Counting money in a Bank ,or Computer work or being a Teacher or Guarda which requires no strength at all but just pure professionalism.
The difference in the two types ( Country V City/Town ) players is that the professional Town players will show skill in evading tackles while the county player will relish a good shoulder charge and get a level of self satisfaction is getting ayellow Card for it.
Going anywhere you need the skilful Town players"
I have always wondered Tom. . .what will it take for us to see a country man or woman don the uniform of An Garda Siochána??

Are the Tech and Pats the only schools in Cavan where one can master their unique pronunciation of the work 'veh-hicle'?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5020 - 06/12/2023 11:46:32    2515726

Hello to all Gaels.
Going anywhere you need the skilful Town players"
I have seen some stupendous posts from yourself Tom but this one is especially creative. So creative infact I had to make an account just to applaud your efforts to troll people. Long time reader first time poster Chris.

Chris6788 (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 06/12/2023 11:54:25    2515727

Replying To Chris6788:  "I have seen some stupendous posts from yourself Tom but this one is especially creative. So creative infact I had to make an account just to applaud your efforts to troll people. Long time reader first time poster Chris."
And he reeled in a whopper from Meath too. Should keep him well fed into the new year! :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 06/12/2023 16:56:49    2515769

Replying To Chris6788:  "I have seen some stupendous posts from yourself Tom but this one is especially creative. So creative infact I had to make an account just to applaud your efforts to troll people. Long time reader first time poster Chris."
Chris

Tomsmith here
Chris of No 1 post, It is with great elation that Tomsmith caused /coerced/ inveigled you to do something for the first time in your like.
Like all first time experience Chris I do hope you enjoyed your self. I will say this with Tongue in cheek

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 06/12/2023 22:58:07    2515809

Replying To tomsmith:  "Chris

Tomsmith here
Chris of No 1 post, It is with great elation that Tomsmith caused /coerced/ inveigled you to do something for the first time in your like.
Like all first time experience Chris I do hope you enjoyed your self. I will say this with Tongue in cheek"
You need to be careful Tom. Having that number of profiles will lead you to replying to your own post without switching accounts.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 08/12/2023 12:20:47    2515989

Replying To cavanman47:  "I have always wondered Tom. . .what will it take for us to see a country man or woman don the uniform of An Garda Siochána??

Are the Tech and Pats the only schools in Cavan where one can master their unique pronunciation of the work 'veh-hicle'?"
Cavanman 47
I have always wondered Tom. . .what will it take for us to see a country man or woman don the uniform of An Garda Siochána??

Tomsmith here

Cavanman 47 I can tell that many Guards are from away out in the Country .indeed one from the Bridge whose Father was a wellknow fitballer and was on the team of the century is high ranking Guard .
So Cavanman 47 no need trying to raise dissention in your allegation that Cavan Country lad cannot join the Guards.
We at Cavan Gaels have provided playing environment for many Garda down the years

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 09/12/2023 22:45:00    2516160

Where are the men in the white coats when u need them

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 10/12/2023 14:52:05    2516205

Tomsmith here
Where are the men in the white coats when u need them

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 402 -

Breffi Blue and white ... Tomsmith here
You ask the question where is the men with the n white Coats when you need them. Well I can tell you ( and I understand you are a Junior Poster 402 posts) that not all Referees take umpires with them to games . Indeed some clubs nominated umpires not for their ability to determine a score or a wide Ball., but for other reasons .
So often the men in the white Coats were hand picked by Clubs and indeed your saying,,,, where is our man in the white coat had a particular meaning

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 11/12/2023 09:55:21    2516313

Congratulations Tom 3762 posts and all of them rubbish i propose that when you reach the milestone of 4000 daft posts the GAA should present you with an award a framed picture of yourself and an all expenses paid holiday to north korea one way only. I will contribute generously towards this award.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 11/12/2023 11:28:49    2516326