Club Football 2023

Replying To drumalee11:  "Munterconnacht and Castlerahan the same parish I believe.

Not sure if Castlerahan rob players from other clubs?

All big clubs tend to do it though."
Hasn't done Cavan Gaels a pile of good…!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 17/11/2023 07:20:56    2513436

Well done Arva on the win today. Always looked too strong for this level and well worth the win. 3 finals and 2 wins in 3 years is good going at this level.

Fair play to Ballyhaise too. Won that rte hard way coming from behind near the end and holding on. A successful year all round for Cavan clubs in Ulster so far. Could have been better if Gowna held on too. Best of luck to Ballyhaise in the final, and Arva in a few weeks time vs the British Champions.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 25/11/2023 18:02:31    2514582

Great win for Arva and they have every chance of going the whole way here… It just goes to prove that playing in the top division really helped them in this competition…. It is the same at County level as it is extremely unlikely that a county playing in Div3/4 would make any impact come Championship time despite what some posters on here and a manager seemed to think when we slipped to the basement division…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 26/11/2023 11:08:24    2514619

The state of cavan football sending a senior club to win a junior championship

tommyjohn (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 26/11/2023 16:22:27    2514632

Replying To tommyjohn:  "The state of cavan football sending a senior club to win a junior championship"
They sent 3 x senior clubs into Ulster …

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 26/11/2023 20:58:09    2514646

Replying To tommyjohn:  "The state of cavan football sending a senior club to win a junior championship"
How do you figure that then?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 26/11/2023 21:20:31    2514650

Arva are a junior club, they've been junior for a number of years now but will compete in the intermediate next year after winning the junior championship this year. Perhaps what is confusing you is they compete in the division 1 league in Cavan but the league and championships aren't linked in Cavan. Hope that clears things up for you.

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 305 - 27/11/2023 04:02:27    2514668

You should be more upset at the fact that ye only scored 2 points from play in 60mins...pathetic, and be grateful that you got to share the pitch with a player like the Holla

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 27/11/2023 07:11:37    2514669

Replying To veterngaa:  "They sent 3 x senior clubs into Ulster …"
How so? Are you confusing Championship and League by any chance?

Anything to be said for Glenullin who have won 2 intermediate titles in a row, and still won't be Senior next year meaning they can go for 3 in a row? That not far far worse than League and Championship being unlinked?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 27/11/2023 10:19:26    2514685

Get your facts right before you post nonsense, Arva are a junior team who will play intermediate next year they were beaten in the junior final last year and there for didn't get promoted, Ballyhaise won the intermediate and will play senior next year, they were also beaten in the intermediate final last year and didn't get promoted, so I don't know how you got confused and there for shouldn't post when you don't have a clue what you are talking about.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 27/11/2023 12:22:57    2514710

Love a bit of sour grapes.
Here's the facts:
1. Arva got relegated from intermediate to junior in 2021. They really struggled at intermediate level that year due to emigration missing players etc. and deserved to go down to Junior.
In that meantime, They have got players back and had an influx of young talent which has made them a formidable force at junior level this year.
Time doesn't stand still lad, circumstances change etc.
2. Ballyhaise were relegated to intermediate a number of years ago . They never made an impact at senior level and deserved to go back down to intermediate.
They have been in a number of intermediate finals in recent years and were not good enough to win any of them even against a really average bridge team. Similar to arva , they have had a number of young players come through that have really strengthened them this year.
It's not that hard to understand lad. Both teams deserved to be operating at the level they were based on recent championship results.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 27/11/2023 12:38:39    2514713

Replying To blueskies:  "Love a bit of sour grapes.
Here's the facts:
1. Arva got relegated from intermediate to junior in 2021. They really struggled at intermediate level that year due to emigration missing players etc. and deserved to go down to Junior.
In that meantime, They have got players back and had an influx of young talent which has made them a formidable force at junior level this year.
Time doesn't stand still lad, circumstances change etc.
2. Ballyhaise were relegated to intermediate a number of years ago . They never made an impact at senior level and deserved to go back down to intermediate.
They have been in a number of intermediate finals in recent years and were not good enough to win any of them even against a really average bridge team. Similar to arva , they have had a number of young players come through that have really strengthened them this year.
It's not that hard to understand lad. Both teams deserved to be operating at the level they were based on recent championship results."
Mayo and Galway will be playing in the Tailteann Cup next year so…

Playing Div 1 is a distinct advantage for Arva, hence how they beat blackhill a div 3 team in Monaghan.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 27/11/2023 13:28:10    2514722

Replying To veterngaa:  "Mayo and Galway will be playing in the Tailteann Cup next year so…

Playing Div 1 is a distinct advantage for Arva, hence how they beat blackhill a div 3 team in Monaghan."
Speaking of Blackill, are they seemingly getting promoted and then relegated again to stay Junior? That's 3 Ulster Junior finals since 2016 for them. Can't say the same for Arva...

Was it an advantage for them? Think they finished bottom of the League. And it's not linked. Their Championship form was very poor for a few years there, with 0 wins from 4 in 2020 Intermediate (no relegation due to Covid), getting relegated from intermediate in 2021 with 1 win from 5, then losing a Junior final last year. By any metrics, their Championship form has shown them to be a Junior team for this season. League isn't the driver here if you look objectively

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 27/11/2023 15:04:08    2514739

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Speaking of Blackill, are they seemingly getting promoted and then relegated again to stay Junior? That's 3 Ulster Junior finals since 2016 for them. Can't say the same for Arva...

Was it an advantage for them? Think they finished bottom of the League. And it's not linked. Their Championship form was very poor for a few years there, with 0 wins from 4 in 2020 Intermediate (no relegation due to Covid), getting relegated from intermediate in 2021 with 1 win from 5, then losing a Junior final last year. By any metrics, their Championship form has shown them to be a Junior team for this season. League isn't the driver here if you look objectively"
It shows the strength of Monaghan football. You have to perform every day you go out.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 27/11/2023 15:48:58    2514748

Replying To veterngaa:  "Mayo and Galway will be playing in the Tailteann Cup next year so…

Playing Div 1 is a distinct advantage for Arva, hence how they beat blackhill a div 3 team in Monaghan."
Nothing to stop your junior clubs playing div 1 league football if they apply themselves, then they will have the advantage.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 27/11/2023 15:49:51    2514750

Ha ha

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 27/11/2023 16:01:08    2514756

Replying To veterngaa:  "It shows the strength of Monaghan football. You have to perform every day you go out."
Maybe so. The point being though is they're not linked right now, so that can't be claimed when we know their prior form in Championship

How long has it been linked there?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 27/11/2023 16:38:31    2514764

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Maybe so. The point being though is they're not linked right now, so that can't be claimed when we know their prior form in Championship

How long has it been linked there?"
Always. We have 3 divisions of football so it is logical. 1 up via league final winners and winner of champ. If it's the same team , loser of champ final go up.

Relegation is done similar. 2 teams down. Bottom 4 in league play off with the losers of relegation final playing the 2nd bottom team from the champ relegation group (bottom team automatically relegated)

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 27/11/2023 16:57:20    2514768

Replying To veterngaa:  "Always. We have 3 divisions of football so it is logical. 1 up via league final winners and winner of champ. If it's the same team , loser of champ final go up.

Relegation is done similar. 2 teams down. Bottom 4 in league play off with the losers of relegation final playing the 2nd bottom team from the champ relegation group (bottom team automatically relegated)"
I'd hardly say it's always, has it? Sure it has changed to this at some stage in the past...

Anyway, I get why it'd work like that. But I see issues with it too. You're depending on a team doing well without county players and such early in the year. Cullyhanna in Armagh are a Senior level team with top Armagh players and competing at Senior level, and they got relegated on League form missing players and have walked into an Ulster Intermediate final as they're clearly a better Championship team with their players back. I don't think it's a vastly better system seeing our split season now.

Like there's a lot of outrage about a county who has a frankly terrible record in Ulster at all 3 grades, and now people going mad as we've finally won a few at Junior last few years. Arva have got good quickly due to star player returning from injury, a few back from emigration, and a few young lads coming through with some getting county recognition. Simple facts are though they had a terrible 2020 and 2021 and deserved to be where they were. If anything they should be lauded for turning this around when they bottomed out. Can't be nice people talking about them like this when they were Junior on merit, and won these cups on getting good this year. Yet begrudgers think they don't deserve it

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 27/11/2023 18:34:55    2514785

Replying To veterngaa:  "It shows the strength of Monaghan football. You have to perform every day you go out."
It didn't look particularly strong against arva, they must have forgot the bit about having to perform every day you go out when they only got 2 points from play over the 60mins.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 28/11/2023 07:55:21    2514808