Next steps?

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "I see a lot of talk about defensive football. We didn't even have a defensive plan. If we did we wouldn't have conceded such big scores to Offaly and Tipperary.

We had no semblence of a gameplan. Quit saying it was defensive. It wasn't. It was clueless."
Totally right it want defensive if it was we would have rang out easy winners.. mentality the problem..

Silverblue (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 09/07/2017 23:46:38    2013559

Replying To Silverblue:  "Totally right it want defensive if it was we would have rang out easy winners.. mentality the problem.."
There is no getting away from the fact that we are defensive and brutal to watch but what makes it worse is we don't even know how to defend... Tipp got 1-8 from silly bad fouls by the Cavan team but Tipp only conceded 0-4 at the other end.... That tells me our players can't even tackle properly....and don't come on whinging about the referee....!!!!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 10/07/2017 07:12:48    2013624

For all the time and money invested by all. It's a poor return for all concerned. Accountability!!! If this was a Company run business, questions would have to be asked over a number of years, heads would roll, restructuring or liquidation. We have all have invested time and money in Club Games, Co. Games, in the hope that one day, we would be proud Cavan men to go and see our teams compete at the top. We are now, as far away as ever!!

When I reflect on 2017, it's hard to go out and watch another game of football. A lot of guys were all over the place in this group and system of play. I would still have to thank all those players who committed to the cause.

All our Clubs have a financial burden put on them from the Co. Board. All Club reps get in there to Co.Board meetings and get some answers!!! We won't hear a word. Club reps afraid to speak out...... Have some balls......

upandcomingblue (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 10/07/2017 20:45:13    2014469

140 mile round trip for me to go and watch Cavan's home games.
Sometimes having to take time off from work too as I often work weekends.
Then i'm treated to the kind of rubbish we got in the second-half on Saturday.
I swore on the drive home that I won't be giving as much time to it anymore.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/07/2017 22:15:03    2014557

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "140 mile round trip for me to go and watch Cavan's home games.
I swore on the drive home that I won't be giving as much time to it anymore."
140 mile round trip for me to go and watch Cavan's home games.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts:10199 - 10/07/2017 22:15:03 2014557

Hang in there for one more year. Now the situation we have is to concentrate on retaining our division 2 status for there are serious teams in this division now. Let's give it one more year to see if we can produce a team that will entertain and get results by playing quality attacking man to man football.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 00:03:34    2014632

Replying To rahanman:  "Is it a coincidence that our better performers spent their formative football years before what I refer to as the defensive mindset. We were grand yesterday when Tipperary allowed us our short kick outs and defended deep allowing our players to kick for some beautiful long range scores. Second half they played like it was their last 35 minutes of football. I am sad to say that not one of our team gave me that impression.
However I will not be joining the rest of the sack the manager crew on this site.
Our problems begin and end with the state of Club football in this County.
Too Many Clubs
Too many grades at underage.
Players are not encouraged to take risks to play with flair and imagination
The ability to perform basic skills at high intensity seems completely absent with the foot pass the very obvious casualty in Cavan. High Fielding from Kickouts another. Sideways , backwards run into contact and loose the ball give the opposition every chance to come back at you."
Agree with most of this Rahanman - too many of our players are playing at an average level with their clubs and we need to reduce the number of clubs! But it will never happen in my lifetime anyway!

Also agree that he is too quickfire with the subs. I thought taking Buchanan off was a very bad move on Sunday and exposed us further at midfield.

I don't think the county board will sack Mattie and we are just going to have to live with that. Unfortunately, I think this championship has been a major setback for Cavan football and i really don't know if we will have the belief or leadership to recover next year.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 11/07/2017 08:36:53    2014693

Replying To seanorinn:  "140 mile round trip for me to go and watch Cavan's home games.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts:10199 - 10/07/2017 22:15:03 2014557

Hang in there for one more year. Now the situation we have is to concentrate on retaining our division 2 status for there are serious teams in this division now. Let's give it one more year to see if we can produce a team that will entertain and get results by playing quality attacking man to man football."
Well said.. I also think the day of the short lockout for mediocre team is fast coming to an end. Galway messed up big time against Roscommon .then when they went long Roscommon cleaned them out in midfield .
That's the line we should take . We had some noted midfielders down the years who could catch a ball with anyone . King, McCabe , Leddy o Keefe to name but a few. Big men like mcKiernan, argue Buchanan Should be fit to catch a ball against anyone .
Add in some nippy wing backs like Murray and smith and nippy half forwards like jack Brady and Mackey well we should clean up any breaking ball.
Glligan is well fit to kick it 60/70 metres.
That's the way forward for a team like us.
Tip tapping around inside our own 45 puts us under serious pressure if teams push up and we get turned over going short.
That type of game is ok for the Dublins and the Cork hurlers who have perfected the short game. We haven't. And we won't.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 11/07/2017 09:30:25    2014723

We can talk about tactics and formations and managers but the bottom line is hunger and spirit.
Brian Cody always talks about spirit and winning your own ball. 50/50 balls and even 60/40 against balls have to be won.
Look at the hunger Down showed against Monaghan. If they ended up losing that day could their supporters fault their efforts,?
Roscommon the same last Sunday.. pushed up on the Galway short kick out forcing errors and when Galway went long Roscommon cleaned them out in midfield.
We don't show that kind of spirit. Last time we did we beat Derry in Derry in extra time.
We showed glimpses against Meath in the 2nd half in the league and it started a 5 match unbeaten run.
But again it disappeared in the championship that year and was non existent this year.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 11/07/2017 09:44:47    2014737

We are the only one of this year's Alliance Football League Div 1 teams to have exited the Championship so far.
Says a lot really.
Other teams still in the C/ship include Armagh and Carlow still there.
We are going nowhere fast.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/07/2017 10:08:53    2014758

Replying To Reformation:  "Agree with most of this Rahanman - too many of our players are playing at an average level with their clubs and we need to reduce the number of clubs! But it will never happen in my lifetime anyway!

Also agree that he is too quickfire with the subs. I thought taking Buchanan off was a very bad move on Sunday and exposed us further at midfield.

I don't think the county board will sack Mattie and we are just going to have to live with that. Unfortunately, I think this championship has been a major setback for Cavan football and i really don't know if we will have the belief or leadership to recover next year."
You mean Buchannans substitution on Saturday? He was injured.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 11/07/2017 10:48:25    2014779

I still think we should stick with Mattie for at least another year minimum .
I'd expect a swift return to Div 1. That itself might give us a bit of momentum going into the championship as this year we were a bit deflated having been relegated.
If Mattie can put his own stamp on things, make make up his own mind on players he sees and not be relying on hearsay which he was doing this year.
It will be interesting to see if there will be any new additions from the club championships .
Because if we go with the same we'll get the same results.
Hopefully he can convince some players that left for one reason or another to return

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 11/07/2017 11:03:28    2014785

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "You mean Buchannans substitution on Saturday? He was injured."
Ah, I wasn't aware and didn't notice from where I was - thought he was hauled off unceremoniously yet again!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 11/07/2017 11:19:56    2014796

Replying To Reformation:  "Ah, I wasn't aware and didn't notice from where I was - thought he was hauled off unceremoniously yet again!"
Reference Buchanan coming off did you not notice he seemed to have picked up a hamstring hence being replaced.

Iaroundthehouse have you looked at the teams that are in division 2 ??? priority is to maintain our position in that division and not be worrying about promotion
Cork
Tipperary
Down
Laois
Roscommon
Clare
Meath
It's a hard ask even to stay in this division let alone get promoted.

If however new legs are brought in I would expect we will be able to hold our own.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 11:42:25    2014816

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "We are the only one of this year's Alliance Football League Div 1 teams to have exited the Championship so far.
Says a lot really.
Other teams still in the C/ship include Armagh and Carlow still there.
We are going nowhere fast."
Carlow got London and Leitrim.
Armagh got Westmeath (who drew with offaly and were embarrassed by Dublin)

We got last year's all ireland semi finalists.

Now I agree we should've won but please don't skew arguments to suit an agenda.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 11/07/2017 12:10:11    2014840

Replying To seanorinn:  "Post Reply
Reference Buchanan coming off did you not notice he seemed to have picked up a hamstring hence being replaced.

Iaroundthehouse have you looked at the teams that are in division 2 ??? priority is to maintain our position in that division and not be worrying about promotion
Cork
Tipperary
Down
Laois
Roscommon
Clare
Meath

If however new legs are brought in I would expect we will be able to hold our own."
So the height of our ambitions should be to SURVIVE in Division 2 Sean??

If Mattie shares those views then he needs to walk now!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 11/07/2017 12:12:35    2014845

Replying To Silverblue:  "Don't always agree with you but we'll said.."
true enough however mc stay kept Roscomon in division 1 and got them to a semi final playing some brilliant football. All throughout the league he made no secret of the fact that their eye was on the connaucht championship. Cavan have won 2 competitive games this year and lost against roscommon when they really needed the win. in fact they've gone back from last year. the lads just look clueless and tbf people saying we don't have the footballers is totally wrong. we've seen them in years gone past. they are good players they've just fallen of the wagon somewhat. I will be very surprised if cavan come out next year under Mc Gleenon a rejuvinated side with potential to win ulster.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 11/07/2017 12:27:18    2014857

Replying To seanorinn:  "Post Reply

Cork
Tipperary
Down
Laois
Roscommon
Clare
Meath

If however new legs are brought in I would expect we will be able to hold our own."
Sean

Laois would only love to be playing in Division 2, i think they are now a Division 4 team, substitute Louth for Laois.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 11/07/2017 12:36:28    2014864

Replying To kildare blue:  "Sean

Laois would only love to be playing in Division 2, i think they are now a Division 4 team, substitute Louth for Laois."
Cork
Tipperary
Down
Louth not Laois Typo error on my behalf??
Roscommon
Clare
Meath

Sean

Laois would only love to be playing in Division 2, i think they are now a Division 4 team, substitute Louth for Laois.
kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts:442 - 11/07/2017 12:36:28

yes typo error sorry about that, thank you for pointing it out to me kildare blue

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 12:47:51    2014872

Replying To cavanman47:  "So the height of our ambitions should be to SURVIVE in Division 2 Sean??

If Mattie shares those views then he needs to walk now!"

If Mattie shares those views then he needs to walk now!
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts:2622 - 11/07/2017 12:12:35

Have you looked at the table by any chance

Have you looked at the table by any chance. I think for 2018 survival first and foremost has to be the order of the day.

There is a lot of rebuilding to be done and Rome was not built in a day.
Be honest to yourself cavanman47; BUT I hope we do get promotion as many that support Cavan do. But it will be a hard ask for sure.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 12:54:35    2014883

Our next steps:
Try get Givney back in panel.
Try sort out midfield.
Try sort out a few direct forwards with pace.
Try sort out CHB.
Try get a settled team ASAP.
Survival in Division 2 a must.
It was always going to be a tough baptism for Mattie this year. I wouldn't be too hard on him yet although he didn't really help himself at times. Next year will tell a lot about him as a manager as it is more our level and he can try and develop his style. Whatever new players he drafts in will be critical to his success here and alot will hinge on how he can develop some of the U21s. People calling for his head need to relax. He will almost certainly be here next year unless there is some sort of mutiny with the players.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 11/07/2017 14:17:54    2014967