Leinster U20 FC: Wexford and Offaly advance to last eight

June 22, 2019

Offaly's Cian Johnson and Martin O'Connor of Wexford.
©INPHO/Tom Beary.

The Leinster U20 FC got underway today with Offaly and Wexford registering wins.

The Faithful County secured an impressive 3-22 to 2-4 success over Carlow at Netwatch Cullen Park.

The game was effectively over as a contest at the halfway stage with the winners ahead by 2-16 to 2-0 and the Barrowsiders down to 14 men.

Kevin McDermott, Cian Johnson and Aaron Brazil bagged the goals and their reward is a quarter-final date with Meath in Pairc Tailteann on Tuesday, July 2.

Earlier in the day, Wexford finished with four points to spare (1-14 to 2-7) over Wicklow at Bellefield, Enniscorthy.

Sean Forde’s second-half three pointer was central to the Model County’s success while Jordan Deans and Eoin Darcy (penalty) raised green flags for the visitors.

Wexford now advance to a last eight clash with Louth.

Offaly - J Cullinan; A Bolger, A Bracken, C Kenna; C Donnelly (0-1), E Bennett, J O'Brien (0-1); J McEvoy, C Donoghue (0-1); S Farrell (0-1), C Farrell (0-9, 1'45, 1f), S O’Toole Greene (0-1); C Johnson (1-3), J Bryant (0-3), K McDermott (1-2). Subs: R Egan for C Donnelly (BC), N Poland for C Johnson, D Wyer for J McEvoy, P Byrne for S O’Toole Greene, M Cunningham for K McDermott, A Brazil (1-0) for E Bennett.

Carlow - K Gaffney; S Molloy, B Hickey, J Dunne; G Kennedy, M Bambrick, T Pollard; J McCabe, J Morrissey; J Lunney, P Hynes (1-0), C Doyle; A Kehoe (1-2), C Doyle, D Ruth (0-2, 1f). Subs: A Nolan for T Pollard, L Connolly for J McCabe, J Kelly for G Kennedy, A Lillis for J Lunney, C Byrne for P Hynes, D O’Keeffe for D Ruth.

Referee - S Mulhare.


Wexford - D Brooks; C Kavanagh, G Sheehan, L O'Connor; P Hughes, E Porter (0-1), E Minogue (0-1); B Maddock, L Coleman (0-1); D McVeigh, J Myler (0-3), S Nolan (0-3, 1f); M Molloy (0-2), S Forde (1-2), A Hogan (0-1). Subs: J Kelly for A Hogan, B Byrne for P Hughes, D Doyle for J Myler, M Kinsella for D McVeigh.

Wicklow - W Rogers; P O'Kane, C Gallagher, A Maher; K Mulhall, J T Moorehouse, F O'Shea (0-1); S O'Dowd, P O'Toole; L Miley (0-1), R Stokes (0-1), R Murray; C Lee, O McGraynor, E Darcy (1-3, 1-0pen, 0-1f). Subs: E Byrne for R Murray, P Hempenstall (0-1) for K Mulhall, J Deans (1-0) for S O'Dowd.

Referee - P Maguire.

Most Read Stories