Armagh Forum

Popular Posts from ArmaghCat

Garvaghy Road Flag At Roscommon V Ardmagh Game At Athletic Grounds - 18 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here Looking at the Television on Saturday evening I saw a large banner behind the goals to the right of the Commentary box which read Garvaghy Road Orangemen on Tour or something similar, Anyone that would be familiar with the words on this flag would and should feel that it would be offensive to a vast number of people living in Portadown ( Non Gaa suporters) because of history. I feel that the Ulster Council should take a stand on this type of material which in my opinion has no place in the GAA"
Away and wise up....Armagh play in Orange you fool so it is a play on words......the people of Garvaghy Rd suffered terribly ar hands of the Orange Order and their hate filled doctrine in that town.....seriously some loons on here recently

ArmaghCat (National) - 19/10/2020 02:02:17

Ulster Senior Hurling Championship - 6 Like(s)

Replying To preddan:  "there was never ever 10000-12000 at ulster finals, where did you get that from????? most maybe was 2000 or 3000 ever. please state facts not made up stuff, and Donegal were not promoted either. Although i agree with you on main point, The Ulster Championship should be brought back definitley, it means more games for the real small counties like fermanagh, cavan etc."
Why post challenging the numbers when you clearly don't know ......there was over 10,000 at the 1992 final when Down beat Antrim , that was the official attendance....during the 90s there were serious crowds at Ulster hurling finals when Down, Antrim and then Derry all won titles within a ten year period.

ArmaghCat (National) - 02/12/2020 12:00:31

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Over 50% voted for a unionist party so I won't pay heed to what those in another jurisdiction voted for. If they happy to vote for those who covered up abuse then that's their conscience they have to live with. It will NEVER be mine or the vast majority of people in our jurisdiction."
More partitionist nonsense.....always interesting it comes from counties who generally sat on their hands throughout the War of Independence and other periods.... also can you tell me what the 50% unionist parties are as last time I checked the Alliance didnt designate themselves as Unionist but hey why let the truth get in the way of a partitionist rant.

ArmaghCat (National) - 24/08/2020 18:30:44

Replying To Crinigan:  "Perhaps you should focus on matters in your own juridiction. I literally could not care less who runs the north so long as the Brits continue to rule it and pay for it. Sinn Féin are not fit to run this country and they will not run it. If they ever do, it won't be for long. The Defence Forces, Gardaí and judiciary won't tolerate it for long nor will the ruling class (not the Sinn Fein class - ie parasites that feed off the hard work of others). They can runs yours if they want and (not very well of course by looks of things but that's hardly a surprise) and I'm sure you and your pals are delighted with that."
Defence forces and Garda wont tolerate ???? Sounds just like the Blueshirts and their facist approach when FF first came to power.....its called democracy and you will need to get used to it .....

ArmaghCat (National) - 12/10/2020 08:38:20

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""If you view the 6 counties as a different country that's your prerogative." It's irrelevant how I or you view or like it. The fact of the matter is, which I pointed out and you chose to completely ignore. The 6 counties are part of the UK. "Good luck trying to call my cousins in west Tyrone 'British."' I didn't call anyone British, I never mentioned Britain.. The '6 counties' or Northern Ireland are not part of Britain, they are part of the UK."
I can assure you neither I or my children are British....their Irish passports are just as valid as yours, through their family tree they can trace a line of unbroken resistance back to the times of the 9 years war so good luck trying to tell them and their like they are British The greatest tragedy of partition is the way that some (and I mean only some) in the 26 counties have become so partitionist and almost determined to stymie any movement towards unification ....whether its a guilt thing at the way the Nationalist community was abandoned to a sectarian statelet I don't know So many GAA members in the 6 counties paid a very heavy price for their commitment to our National games, murdered, thier houses burned ....to call them and their fellow Gaels British is as low an action as any 'Irishman' can stoop to.....

ArmaghCat (National) - 26/05/2021 07:26:19

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To sligo joe:  "Horsebox talkin horse manure, the current conversation is asking if it is appropriate to honour John Mitchel by dedicating your club name to his memory , nothing to do with the colour of jerseys. A quote from Mitchel " Africans should be made available to be owned, bought and sold, and flogging is a just means of keeping them to work". Surely it is difficult to see how you conflate the colours of jerseys with the above."
I find Mitchel's views on slavery abhorent but not a single GAA club is named after him for that reason....he played a very important role in highlighting the horrors of the famine on the native population of Ireland including challenging the colonial mindset that was deliberately failing people to death, poverty or emigration.....he was exiled for that work and wrote a significant book Jail Journal.....those are the reasons he was honoured by GAA clubs....he is a very complex character being a protestant who supported the rights of both Catholics and indeed the freedom of the island BUT he also had disgusting and totally unacceptable views on racial matters....I'm sure some clubs are/will grapple with this issue but to suggest in any shape or form that his views on racism had anything to do with clubs being named after him is farcical.....

ArmaghCat (National) - 12/06/2020 22:14:18

Replying To Crinigan:  "An Armagh man. When you come down here and kill unarmed Gardaí, do you need to go to your local SF rep before going to the law enforcement? You think Gardaí down here want to share a country with that kind of culture and be gunned by "Gaels" from Armagh? And SF barely recognize OnahE as the legitimate defence forces of the state."
My family have significant links to An Garda....indeed where among its first members ....this is a GAA forum yet you have been given free rein for some reason to spout widely inaccurate and dangerous comments about not only political parties but people based simply on what part of the island they live on.... As said before its interesting the vast majority of people making these statements are from Meath....

ArmaghCat (National) - 12/10/2020 13:21:04

Replying To Bon:  "I've met enough of them and been on the recieving end of their freestater rubbish ."
Would you make the same comment about the people in 26 counties who go out of their way to be insulting to those who live in 6 counties, are Irish citizens and whose families played significant roles in the revolutionary years yet have to listen to tripe about being 'less Irish ' often from those whose families where more than happy to lick the boots of the occupiers and played zero role in those same years......interesting those who spout the most of this nonsense have zero family background in the revolutionary years

ArmaghCat (National) - 27/05/2021 16:56:13

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "No harm, but I absolutely can't stand this comparison. We are way better than an absolutely sectarian Orange Order. It is part of their process that Catholics can't join. This shouldn't be a comparison. The GAA is way better than that as we have Protestants in our games, and will continue to grow this in future. Stop comparing them as we're in no way similar"
Nobody is comparing them to anything....we all know the GAA is open to all, we have protestants in my club here in 6 counties, we have children born in Africa, children born in Eastern Europe we send flyers to school in variety of languages This nonsense that GAA is a closed shop is just that and an excuse to attack the ethos of the association the same way that unionism tries to politicise the Irish language and unfortunately there are enough people to give them oxygen instead of asking simple questions like why Gaelic Games are excluded from state schools and most integrated schools , it has nothing to do with a small number of tournaments named after volunteers or the fact clubs are named after patriotic figures and all to do with the fact that many protestants in 6 counties are brought up to hate anything remotely connected to Irish games and culture I'm all for a debate on this and examining what can be done to encourage more people from the protestant community to take part in our games but you will find education is at the nut of the matter , nothing to do with sports

ArmaghCat (National) - 02/06/2021 17:29:38

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1022/1173335-27-offaly-players-deemed-close-contacts-due-to-training/ This is a bloody nightmare now..!"
The real issue here is that for first time ever and against previous guidelines the HSE have deemed everyone who took part in the training session as close contacts......that seems to be changing the goal posts compared to before

ArmaghCat (National) - 23/10/2020 08:52:34

Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 4 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "After looking at the Cork jerseys I really have to ask how and why this is allowed? Don't get me wrong I understand and applaud those who fought and died for Irish freedom. But I just think this sets off an awful precedence that we are all going to regret. We have difficult centeneries to reconcile over next few years especially atrocities in the civil war. I do not believe this method is the correct way to commemorate and remember these events. GAA is A political and should be scrupulously so."
Time you read the GAA constitution......suppose we don't remember Bloody Sunday either this year....

ArmaghCat (National) - 23/02/2020 22:36:16

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Titchonnail1 did. As if it was some sort of gotcha that if the GAA are to be welcoming, well then the OO must too. It's ridiculous. We don't and shouldn't have sectarianism and triumphalism at our heart, and I see this comparison being made all the time. I want no association with those, even as a comparison. We are exactly all of what you said later in your post, and can be more too. As I've said repeatedly, you'll never attract the hardline loyalists, and we shouldn't pander to those as even if you made every change, they still would complain. But when many moderates (who are now a sizeable 3rd community in the North) who don't fall into either category of Nationalist or Unionist say the fact that clubs, cups, and fields are named after IRA and INLA members makes them uncomfortable and unlikely to join, then this needs to be looked at. These moderates are ones who likely will have a child who has no stock in the inherited scars and history and have moved past those, and these would see a GAA club as still having their feet in the past and not be welcoming. I know this as one of my friends up here is in a mixed marriage (hate that term) and likely their child will go play rugby or soccer due to the likes of that. You're cutting off a sizeable community, and the question was how to grow in the North. If you are to grow, you need to be welcoming to them as there is only so much room for growth in the Nationalist only community. It's a natural avenue to grow into and honestly to grow the game we should be looking at the issues and this clearly is one."
I'm calling nonsense on the 2nd half of that post....two of my siblings are in mixed marriages all the kids play GAA not a problem at all....my own club has a number of children from similar backgrounds as do most of the clubs around us By your reference to INLA volunteers you are referring to Kevin Lynch, suggest you learn some history as he captained Derry to their first All Ireland hurling title , yes he is known as a hunger striker but has massive connections to hurling in that locality that can't be airbrushed out of history ....to do so you would alienate a far greater proportion of your existing playing membership than any numbers you would attract It's all a balance and the 1st step should be to understand what are the 'perceived barriers and are they real as opposed to an ingrained bias , ignorance on behalf of those refusing to engage

ArmaghCat (National) - 03/06/2021 10:45:02

RIP Mr Hume - 4 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  "anyone would think to listen to some people on here that the likes of me dont know what went on. I course I do. same crack went on all over the world and a hell of a lot worse in most places. the thing is you need young impressionable hot-headed brain-washed individuals to do the dirty work of the "leader" and the stokers of the flames. One would hope that as these once young individuals grow up and reflect they will see a different way. Yes the catholics were discriminated against and harrased and intimidated and yes it was sanctioned from Westminstet but the way to expose it and end it was to use the fledgling medium of TV and the press in to shaming the British Govt, get the british public on your side, get the rest of the world on your side, use skill, judgement, negotiations. Are the 6 counties free? no, Is there better prospects for catholics now in the 6 counties than there was in the past ? yes. Before you can even attempt to contemplate a united Ireland , you need a period of stability and peace and I am talking about generations. You need a time when no one is left alive who remembers the troubles. You dont need whataboutery."
What an ignorant and insulting post to all those who suffered in this sectarian statelet....it has changed so much that the mother of a 14 Yr old boy who has went missing and then died in mysterious circumstances has had to go public in past 24 hrs asking people to sign a petition to demand the police ombudsman look at the PSNI failures in his case.....away and get your head showered spoutting nonsense like that. John Hume was a great man , yes he was anti violence and proudly so but he also knew this place was rotten to the core

ArmaghCat (National) - 10/08/2020 09:29:10

Anti GAA Agenda - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "hahahaha Who and what are the "Dublin Media" What exactly is traditional Ireland by the way? Minor and other underage county fixtures should be stopped."
Why should they be stopped...based on what medical evidence that controlled games are a risk?? Time people looked in the mirror and took personal responsibility...by all accounts there were shocking scenes last night in Penny's in Dundalk like wtf is wrong with people acting as if its the end of the world This consumerism is driven by a constant round of drivel from many in the Dublin media who would prefer this island ape the worst excesses of what passes for 'culture' now in UK and USA.......that isn't a dig at England per se as many decent people there are also disgusted at the society their media is helping to create.... By under no illusion but the current furore about inter county games has nothing to do with covid concerns and all to do with a hatred of our national games as they don't ape what happens across both stretches of water to our left and right .....unfortunately some of the disgraceful scenes post matches helped provide ammo for some of these clowns but again what was the common factor in every scenario???? This countrys unhealthy obsession with drink, maybe we need to confront the real elephant in the room that our society feels no significant event can happen without drink .....that is an unhealthy relationship and one that is a real risk to public health not young lads and girls playing our national games

ArmaghCat (National) - 21/10/2020 11:52:16

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "I agree that Sammy Wilson and Paisley aren't an accurate picture of Unionism. There is more Unionists completing their studies down South and working here aswell. However the opinion polls don't back up the idea that they want a United Ireland or that any of them are wavering. I think they are probably the most pragmatic people in these Islands but the only population changing is the another Catholic one which has a significant minority that want to remain as part of the UK. You won't hear them on a GAA forum but they are significant."
That would be the same unionist vote that was 56% of all votes cast in elections 15 years ago and is now down to circa 41% and falling .....reality is there are 3 blocs of voters now 40% nationalist, 40% unionist and circa 20% who are vanilla on the constitutional question, will be swayed either way depending on economics, cultural and human rights etc .....that is the reality and the new census will back this up even more as the unionists make up circa 67% of those aged 65+ but are now less than 35% of those aged 40 and under

ArmaghCat (National) - 29/05/2021 07:05:34

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Only the army council puppets ?? Nah thanks."
That Army Council sh$te is just that...dangerous tripe peddled by some in the media that led to dozens of sinn fein members with no connection to the IRA being shot by loyalist death squads with the active arming and directing by British security forces That kind of media guff creates cover for women like Sheena Campbell to be shot

ArmaghCat (National) - 27/02/2021 16:32:17

Anti GAA Agenda - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "It's not immature; I do like watching and following the sport particularly the national team. Rugby isn't my first sport so maybe I'm not afraid to state the facts. The facts and stats don't like lye. Since the sport turned professional look at Ireland's results in world cup year. Not the autumn tests (friendlies) a year before the world cup; actual world cup year from Feb onwards. The fact it continually happens can't just be a concidence - the fact is France, England, Wales and further afield NZ, Australia and SA target world cup year and concentrate on cycles. Some of them countries results are inconsistent in year 1 - 3 but they look a completly different prospect as soon as WC year hits; again that isn't a concidence, with all the science in sport that is well planned over a few years to ensure more than any other they peak that year. This is the reason Ireland's results and performances dip in WC year; the opposition all of a sudden are a completly different prospect whilst Ireland have slugged it out year after year against half prepared teams and when faced with fresh, well prepared teams at their peak we look a poor comparsion. I'm Irish and it's unfortunate but it is the truth - it's nice we can add a few 6 nations championships in years 1-3, I enjoy the buzz but never get carried away as I know what's coming down the road in year 4 and I'm never wrong with that. I can see rugby maybe is your number 1 sport so understand you'd prefer to go with the media narrative of "world's number 1 team" "world cup contenders", "rugby has now grown to be the people's sport". The reality is none of this true; it's a minority sport and good luck to it's active members but it's a sport that doesn't produce world class teams in Ireland. The national sports is GAA and a bit of soccer; this will always be the case despite the media agenda to bash GAA into a minority sport; they'll fail. sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 639 - 22/10/2020 21:25:34 Of course its immature. Ireland have messed up at world cups but to be fair for the first few ireland were at their worst ever. 90s international rugby ireland were horrific. Some of the others were in many ways a combination of bad selection mistakes/coaches making big errors etc... People keep saying the november internationals etc are just friendlies. Labelling them as such isnt correct. They have much more importance than that. Everything about the irish rugby set up is about peaking at world cups. They havent yet done that but the system is all about the national team. The phrase "people's game" was stupid and i bet the people who coined it are laughing their hole off at all the soccer and gaa fans especially who get so wound up by it years after it happned. But saying ireland doesnt produce world class teams is false."
So how many world cups have they won??? Only about 9 teams across the world take it seriously so even if you are too four that is effectively in the top 50% no more It is the most over hyped game on this island driven by a media frenzy....Soccer is truly global in comparison so I understand the hype when Ireland qualify for the World Cup compared to Rugby......

ArmaghCat (National) - 23/10/2020 08:50:33

2020 Season - 3 Like(s)
God lads some of ye must be absolutely gutted that Down won and the management team proved all the 'experts' on here wrong....geniuses saying Liam Savage at wing back was a strange one, clearly didn't watch the match today My club were lucky enough to have two of that management team help us out, wining our first championship in 25 years on the way.....3 national finals in 12 months and Downs 1st promotion in hurling in over 15 years yet you still come on to try undermine people.... As for yesterday I am related to two of the lads playing....Antrim got 3 goals during injury time which put a gloss on the score while Down also started without 2 of their beat players because of today but again don't let facts get in the way of your bias and bitterness The lads and management team today were a credit to their county, some of ye lads are simply an embarrassment

ArmaghCat (Down) - 18/10/2020 18:55:10

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "I'm not no but I do like Harris and what he writes. He represents a fair slice of the country. I dont find anything he writes unfair or wrong. But my views and his wouldn't always align. I just represent myself and I guess alot of my mates think the same. Do you make an effort to look at the Free State point of view...the pride we have in the 26 and the winning of the Civil War. Unfortunately youd swear the losers of the civil war were the goodies judging by the media these days. Iv played against Antrim and Down club teams a few times and they literally had no idea about the complexity of 'down south'. They were more ignorant of us then we were of Northern Ireland."
I call absolute nonsense on this .....care to name the clubs, you are totally spoofing now and just spouting tripe

ArmaghCat (National) - 27/05/2021 22:56:00

Professional GAA- Clubs And Counties - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Frederick:  "This is honestly a desperate plea to save our game over the next 20-30 years. It will ultimately define it in 30-40 years . It simply has to place more emphasis on club competitions. This year is a brilliant opportunity to once again play an entire club season with no inter county distractions. When localities are opened back up, record crowds will flock to local games and local events creating a massive community buzz, and the club provincials and all Ireland could be marketed to a much bigger extent. Young kids grow up wanting to play for Dublin or Kerry now, not their club which is what it's all about and it is a shame players feel this way. Who you are and where you come from can be put back into the Gaa momentarily, but it will slowly fade and although it's sad it's true. Ultimately if the same situation that is happening now is to follow over many years, I guarantee you, Dublin will eventually do to the all ireland what they've done to Leinster. Kerry just might, a very slight chance sneak one or two but everyone would've thought meant would do the same , nobody thought Dublin and Meath rivalry would become what it has, it's a joke. The positives to this are endless. No splitting Dublin as the clubs do this already, and you can still let Dublin Gaa continue and be Dublin. Look how many top teams are in London, Manchester etc except they will be in the same competition as kilmacud, Crossmaglen, Dr Crokes, Corofin. You can have fantastic rivalries build up like Rovers/Bohs I can't express how worried I am for Gaa and our future kids and GAA members especially in the weaker counties. Mickey Harte has come on to mine and gave a lift(on nice expenses no doubt), but it's not a long term solution. How can the top brass not see this. Are they really content to leave the legacy of destroying the GAA cause that is what they are doing. And anyone who comes back with amateur ethos can do one, a lot of professional athletes do jobs now as business people and are highly intelligent and gifted people along with their training. And GAA players train every bit as much as them, sometimes more and harder, much to their detriment as they don't have the correct knowledge. This is not a slight at Dublin. Kerry are every bit as professional as Dublin and it would've been a great game this year, but the rest of the counties really don't stand a chance and anyone telling themselves other wise is only fooling themselves. The GAA need to set up an all Ireland club league and charge a subscription, and let the submissions flow from clubs and counties in, you would be amazed at what sponsors would buy into a brand new competition , structure it randomly, hone and away games and let relegation and promotion sort itself within 10/15 years. Now you would have some mailings in the early years, say my club Geraldines were up against Ballymun in the first year of random groupings, but we would get relegated and Bally min get promoted and within 5-6 years your leagues would even out. You could think about restricting it to provincials but I think it's best to go all Ireland.let European cities enter, imagin your club gonna to play an away game in the league against Berlin, sure the players would be willing to pay expenses themselves. Have these same clubs play a fa cup (Sam Maguire) straight knock out. Leave what's left in the counties to play their junior intermediate and senior championships, maybe you could enter the fa cup at at a smaller fee and you may have. A fairytale story once in a blue moon of the "non league team' getting far. I cannot understand why they won't go to a similar set up to league of Ireland. The stadia are there, the crowds will go, not many away fans but home fans will go. The money is certainly there too as there are junior clubs playing half a years salary to their manager in so called weaker counties. That's my rant and I'd love to see flaws, please don't berate me. A sad factor of this is the number of talented GAA players not seen on the national stage from Dublin is huge as they can only field 15, and the opportunities they are missing out on as a result is unfair."
Are you seriously suggesting that there isn't a fortune being spent on club teams some almost in excess of county teams??? There is more money flowing out of the association each year to paid manager at club level than what is being spent on county teams Address the under the county payments that is the key

ArmaghCat (National) - 19/02/2021 09:14:17