Armagh Forum

Popular Posts from DooReg

Armagh v Tyrone - 2 Like(s)

Replying To foxes_denn:  "During the battle of breffni when armagh started fighting our lads I was nearly across the fence only for a steward floored me with a slap. Hope Tyrone wipe the floor with yas."
When was that my good man? Hardly the time there was a wee scuffle during the start of the parade now was it? You Cavan folk are certainly a bunch of nancies. You'll find also that the match was indeed in the Athletic Grounds. It's like dejavu right now reading these posts. Last week was the same. Kildare too strong, ran the Dubs close, they'll beat Armagh easy. Have to say I love it. We have no chance. Tyrone just have to turn up. We shall see.............

DooReg (National) - 01/08/2017 00:20:20

Armagh v Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To foxes_denn:  "DooReg - I had that much beer in me I was confused. Anyway - everyone knows that these are the two most cyncial counties in the history of the GAA and have dived their way to 4 all irelands between then in the last 15 years. Expect the CCCC will be busy in the weeks that follow this match."
And you expect any of us to take any of your posts seriously when you thought it was the battle of briefne?? My guess is you weren't even there. Likely in the pub watching based on your response. There is no way you can accuse any Armagh team of diving. I will take any criticism of too tough, borderline tackling etc but diving is not in our makeup. Unfortunately, the Tyrone team of 2003 & 2005 could be accused of that (their 2007 team was much more honest) so I take that comment like your previous one - full of ignorance

DooReg (National) - 01/08/2017 18:14:59

New York in Feile - 1 Like(s)
New York beat Derrynoose in the semi-final of the div 2 cup ladies. New York has a population of 8 million and something like 20 clubs. They pick 30 players from all those clubs. Apparently they had over 200 girls at the trials. They fielded 30 athletes - similar to a county team. Derrynoose has 300 houses and 19 girls that play football in a rural part of Armagh. An amazing achievement to put it up to the big smoke. The only team to beat them came from outside of Ireland. New York should have a feile qualifier like every county and one of their clubs should represent New York. Like it's not exactly fair play is it? Same craic with the boys. A team full of 6 footers!!

DooReg (National) - 26/06/2017 22:59:40

New York in Feile - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Liameen:  "I'm surprised Yourjoking didn't say that they had 10,000 boys at the trials. Sure haven't they the pick of eight million? Whoever told you that they had 1,000 lads is mistaken my friend. Also, I stand by my statement that it is not a team of all six footers. I know around eight of them personally. But then again it's not a crime either. And as for DooReg he says "The only team to beat them (his team) came from outside of Ireland". Does he have a problem with that? That's not a crime either. Am I detecting a touch of sour grapes from these two posters? I have gotten this from people before, like the man from Mungret, Limerick who told me two years ago that New York should not be in the competition at all because we were a "foreign team", when in reality, all that was wrong with him was that his team were being beaten by a bunch of American kids. He didn't like it. I think I feel a bit of the same sentiment here. The New York teams are a great bunch of kids. They love the game and are very Irish even though they're for the most part American born. Here's a YouTube video of the boys first singing the American national anthem and then Amhran na bhFiann in Irish after their win. It would make you proud of them as an Irishman living in America. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJx0-gh_xn0&sns=em They, and other overseas teams, should be encouraged instead of people having little digs at them and quoting inaccuracies."
No sour grapes at all - i was stating a pure fact that the only team to beat Derrynoose (yes, my club) were from outside of Ireland. Am i right or wrong in that statement? The chip must be on your shoulder my friend. I am ecstatic about how well our wee club did and stating that we beat every team bar New York is great for our club. As it happens, Kilkenny beat New York in the girls Div 2 final (i'm seriously surprised at that result because i couldn't see how any team could beat them - but they did and fair play to them). Incidentally, Derrynoose beat Kilkenny in the group stages, so that's why i was surprised. But, lads, when the best U14 boys team in Ireland can only score a few points against New York (which let's face it is like a county team) there must be something inequitable about that. The rules clearly state that clubs cannot amalgamate solely for Feile - if New York have an U14 Championship with their Clubs, then, technically, the formation of "New York" for Feile should not be permitted. I'm just referring to the rules issued by the Feile organizers. Maybe the work being put in in New York is now of a standard that the organisers must rethink allowing them to amalgamate for Feile. No team wants to go to Feile and get walloped like this. The Armagh Champions (Harps) only scored 3 points against them - and they are a decent team.

DooReg (National) - 28/06/2017 16:42:08