Antrim Forum

Popular Posts from oso

Dublin Senior Football Team - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "His comments were perfectly logical. The world has gone mad, it really has. C. 25 000 people starved to death on Thursday yet our public were "outraged" and "gobsmacked" (avd various purged phoney virtue signalling superlatives) not by this, but by a harmless kickabout in a park. We are quite literally going insane,and we're so bloody stupid, we're mistaking it for becoming enlightened."
Maybe you're the one needs enlightened. Perhaps if you'd been on the front line all through this and witnessed people dying from something which was largely preventable of everyone had followed the 'rules' you'd feel differently. Perhaps if you had to sit patients and their parents down and tell them they can't have their operations because we have no theatre capacity as icu has spilled over into recovery, perhaps then you'd be enlightened!! Quoting whatever figures you want about starvation serves nothing. If you feel strongly enough about it however go an do something about it, make a difference. But to blatantly disregard rules, to flout the rules that the rest of us are abiding by and to try to excuse it is not acceptable. We wouldnt even be at this stage if everyone could have abided by the rules from the outset. Your post is 'enlightening' indeed, still after all that's happened.

oso (National) - 05/04/2021 11:09:35

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Ridiculous. It was a rule break that was bad because it was a group of all Ireland winning role models. Not because of the actions. The actions, in fact, were very unsubstantial, proven to be very safe and are being done by thousands of young people in parks and greens across Ireland every single day. They should be punished, but honestly, the internal punishment sits fine with me. It was an adequate response. The dubs know themselves their responsibility as role models. As for the "elite" athlete argument... I understand that a Premier League soccer player gets paid well enough for himself and his family not to have to go out into the community to work, shop or socialise, but if you're telling me, for one second, that a LOI soccer player can sustain a bubble on his playing wages, you're having me on."
It is irrelevant that young people may flout these rules on a daily basis. Do your backside, get off your backside and go out and educate them. But using that analogy to condone a high profile team and organisation breaking the rules is daft. Have you seen what's happening in Eastern Europe and France right now?? The problem with our society and why we are in this very position is very obvious on this thread. Anyone who doesn't get that at this stage really should be considered irrelevant when they speak on the subject of covid. I wonder how many gaa managers at various levels up and down the country are pedalling this nonsense as they are out of pocket right now. Oh yeah that's right, we are an amateur organisation and club coaches and managers don't get paid. Self serving and embarassing.

oso (National) - 05/04/2021 11:33:35

Replying To jimbodub:  "Just back from Albert College Park on the Ballymun Road. Playground mobbed and a full scale soccer match on the go amongst the DCU students, not a long lens in sight ;) Listen what the Dublin lads did was irresponsible and down right amateurish in the extreme. The Dublin CB has rightly come down hard on Dessie, a man that only a few months ago won Dublin an All Ireland title.. being handed a 12 week suspension by his own is unheard of. It's been dealt with swiftly and without excuses, without being ignored or appealed. The message was clear. But the hyperbole is just as clear to see, it's to be expected of course and the selective condemnation is nothing new regarding Dublin but fair dues to the many level headed and shrewd contributions highlighting that very thing from across the country."
No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am. As a frontline Doctor all through all of this I am sick of listening to self serving GAA "personalities" trying to influence things and call the shots. What the likes of Oisin McConville for instance says about this is irrelevant, its self serving and he is totally irrelevant on this matter. Dessie Farrell is in a position of responsibility, he has seen what has gone before and the suspensions handed down to Down and Cork. The Dublin County board will also have known about this, Dessie didn't organise this on his own. Everyone involved should resign, end off. Its inexcusable. If myself of any of my professional colleagues behaved in such a manner we'd be the subject of a severe professional conduct investigate and medical defence unions would be involved. Guys let's get a perspective on this, the GAA is an amateur organisation and these guys are trying to dress themselves up as 'elite' athletes and expect to be treated differently as a result. If they wanted to excel at a sport and be considered 'elite' then they should have chosen a professional sport, not one where the opportunities available to them and the potential they can reach are ultimately determined by the post code they were born in. None of these guys are 'elite' so let's treat them like every other grass roots GAA player. The very people pedalling this nonsense and trying to excuse it are the parasites of the GAA. Ex players still trying to be relevant and make some form of living in monetary gains off the back of their playing career. There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!

oso (National) - 05/04/2021 10:54:51

Dublin Senior Football Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's actually quite common for hospitals to choose who lives and who dies, believe it or not, or are you one of these people believe that everyone gets exactly the same attention in hospital, whatever their prognosis. Reminds me of this time last year, when people were aghast at the sight of body bags in morgues, because, well, of course there were no body bags in morgues before covid. Thankfully over the past year people have begun to see covid for what it is, an overhyped scare tactic, inflated by dodgy death diagnosis practices, and a grim focus on case numbers, the vast, vast, majority of which cause no harm. Like I said, I hope the galway lads are training too, don't wanna be left behind guys."
I can not believe this post was approved by any form of forum moderation. You, my friend are part of the problem with that attitude. Ignorance and arrogance in the extreme. Absolutely shocking.

oso (National) - 05/04/2021 13:42:58

Antrim And Ulster Rugby - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Rugby laughing stock? Yes, all over the world with the Farrell case."
We see approximalty 20 facial fractures from the gaa (almost exclusively off the ball) for every single facial fracture we see from rugby in the health service. That's not one bigot shouting his mouth off about one high profile case and applying it to a whole sport..... That's fact!! Seriously, if you are going to make a ridiculous statement like you have done, attempt to back it up. And yes farrels case gets international publicity as he plays a professional sport which is played all over the world. The GAA in every county meanwhile brushes mass on field brawls (assault if carried out in any other walk of life) under the carpet. We are the ones with the disciplinary issues on field and off field, on sidelines with some of the absolute trash spouted by mentors and supporters alike. That's the real embarassement pal!!! Now get back to your village, they are looking for you. And get back to black tie dinners and fundraising etc etc I'm sure your club need it to pay your management team cash in hand, your club won't declare it and neither will your management team to the tax man. Only a dinosaur (and there are plenty on here it seems) doesn't see or isn't aware of the cross community work that ulster rugby and many rugby clubs have attempted to do in recent times. If you don't want to see progress on that front stay in your backwater and let the rest of us get on with it.

oso (National) - 19/08/2023 10:57:56

Kerry V Derry - 2 Like(s)

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "You do realize that Garth McKinless was taking a free when Sean o Shea knocked the ball outof his hands ? How could that be a red card"
Are you implying Gareth McKindless doesn't have the hand, foot, eye coordination to know when the ball is gone and normally attempts to kick a ball in that fashion. His actions were deliberate and his injury self inflicted in my opinion. He's a reckless/dangerous player when he goes to ground he alway throws his studs and his feet into the air in the direction of an opponent. Just as he did yesterday even after he missed his goal chance, that is not a natural motion and there is no need for his second motion on the ground. No on falls like that...... But perhaps you're right and he has some sort of coordination problem! On those suggesting he should get a football all star. It's called football, McKindless is a runner. If he had feet and was able to kick a ball he'd have had about 3 points to his name yesterday in addition to the scuffed shot that trickled over the line for his goal.

oso (National) - 17/07/2023 09:19:48

Antrim And Ulster Rugby - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Good job we were not depending on the Rossies so :-)"
We are doing OK Barney. There are GAA tops worn commonplace in areas you'd never have seen them 15/20 years ago. Things are good, society evolves and moves with the times. Lots of kids try their hand at all sports and rugby in ulster for the large part welcomes players of all ages from GAA backgrounds with open arms. By the same token there are lots of kids from mixed marriages who don't identify as catholics playing GAA and some bring their protestant friends along too. It's definitely a thing in some underage clubs and should be encouraged. We'll be OK without your input, but thanks for your concern and passion all the same! Try to get out a bit more.

oso (National) - 21/08/2023 17:37:18

Casement Park - 2 Like(s)
Gary The reality is that this stadium ( also an potential asset to the gaa on non Ulster championship days) is being built where it is deemed it will generate most financial revenue. You represent a typical narrow minded parochial view point all too common in the GAA community that it should facilitate you so you don't have to travel so far when you may or may not choose to travel on Ulster Championship day. It is clear that like most rural Derry GAA people you HATE Antrim especially the west Belfast fraternity, get over it my friend!! Having seen how much money Bruce Springsteen has generated the GAA in the last few weeks surely you can see that a modern day stadium in the city with the best infra structure and accessibility is the only option. No one, and I mean no one would consider attending such an event in a backwater! This stadium is not being paid for by the GAA so don't harp on about our stadium for our games, this is 2016, this is a financial decision and a business decision to get the most in return in revenue. If you don't like it, don't go, it's simple!! Your bigoted attitude won't be missed and I assume wherever you go on match day you're too miserable to contribute much to the surrounding event other than the price of your match ticket (which you probably gripe about) in addition to how much your diesel costs you to get there. You, my friend, are an asset to no one. It's happening, try to move with the times, enjoy the surroundings if you do go and make an occasion of it.

oso (National) - 05/06/2016 10:06:01

Antrim And Ulster Rugby - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Hahahahahahaha, rugby a laughing stock at the minute with all their disciplinary problems. You were very quiet on that front but if it was GAA you'd be on running them down. No more rugby on GAA pitches . Club lotto's , fundraisers, black tie dinners to keep our pitches and clubs going for that shower to use them, don't think so. Rugby and soccer have had their money for pitches yet Casement is still on the drawing board. Rugby and soccer can take a run and jump."
Did you think at all before you typed???! Rugby a laughing stock with disciplinary problems while someone attempts to stab a referee at an underage football match in Tyrone recently and the brawl on the pitch in the Eglish match recently? Catch a grip. We could learn a lot from rugby regarding their zero tolerance of abuse towards the ref in addition to how the ref communicates with the players on the pitch. Better to saying nothing and let everyone think you're a fool......

oso (National) - 18/08/2023 14:32:47

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "It was dangerous play. A free and a yellow at least. To be fair to Shane Ryan he turned his back and didn't lead with the knee but say McKaigue had done that on Clifford or O'connor had done it on Glass. Every possibility it would have been a red. It felt because he was a keeper he got away with it."
What are you actually saying?? He shouldn't have contested the ball? He shouldn't have jumped for it at all? The fact remains that he went for the ball that he was entitled to and won it. How should he have jumped for the ball in your opinion? Regardless of whatever way he went for the ball he's going to make contact with Shane Mcguigan. This is the daftest debate ever. Shane Mcguigan can see him, or at least he should see him and take the appropriate measures to protect himself when he realises he's not going to get to the ball first. But he just runs straight into him and he would have done regardless of how Ryan had taken the ball. You can't blame Ryan for what appears to be a lack of awareness on Mcguigan's part in this instance. Did you just want Ryan to pull out and let Mcguigan have the ball??

oso (National) - 18/07/2023 12:00:57

Casement Park - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Is OSO your alter-ego Ulsterman? It's not something I have ever really encountered, nor is it something I practice myself. In truth, I see and work with people from Donegal and Tyrone, as well as Cavan and maybe Sligo or Fermanagh. I never had a dislike to Belfast, or Belfast people for that matter. And I can't say I have seen a generalised dislike the way your posts suggest"
Gary You have wiped the floor with no one! Your ideals are outdated and your arguements flawed and you contradict yourself. On one had you recognise the corporate aspect that all modern era stadia require for maintenance and to generate income and then you begin rambling about Slane Castle??? I noted that you only went once and never returned, was it having to slump it of the infrastructure? I think that what the majority want and what we deserve these days when go to games is a modern state of the art stadium with amenities inside but also out and around the stadium where we can meet up with people we haven't met prehaps in a while, HAVE THE OPTION of food and drinks if we choose in comfort and not have people like you dictate that we can't have that as you want a "greenfield site". Now you can big up Omagh all you want, but it's a traffic nightmare and unlike Nowlan park it is well isolated from higher population concentrations. The national stadium is in Dublin and you don't here Kerry people moaning that it should be somewhere more central as they have had to travel to it more than most on all Ireland final day. Guess what? It's an occasion for some people Gary and they want to enjoy it in comfort and however else they please. Now if you just want to turn up and go home after fair play, go for it, you STILL HAVE THE OPTION in Belfast!! If you want to make a weekend of it and stay over in Omagh you're options are pretty limited. So let's give everyone THE OPTION how they want to enjoy their teams day in the sun!! Remember some of us, and your own county included, don't get very many!! Why shouldn't the governement contribute the the development of the stadium, they have a duty to provide for their population. If you think that the Irish didn't cough up for croke and it was solely paid for by the GAA you are deluded!! And where does the money go? Into promoting games home and abroad, just watched on TV that they are giving New York 2 million to help develop Gaelic park and facilities. Move with the times man! As for your trol comment, you ignoramus, read my previous posts and you will see I don't share the same views as Ulsterman. I will not justify your broken record drivel with another response, you don't speak for the majority, you don't even take them into consideration, you do however belong in the ham sandwich brigade who don't put their hands in their pockets or generate any revenue on match day and want as cheap a day out as possible!!

oso (National) - 05/06/2016 17:20:44

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "He made contact with the players head whilst in an elevated position. It was dangerous play The ball was there to be won but that was not the way to win it. It was a free kick at the very very least. What is daft is that you are trying to defend it."
As would every player jumping for a ball if the opposition player didn't leave the ground and ran straight into the. If that's not the way to win the ball, what was the correct way? No matter what way he jumped he'd still have been in the air and Shane Mcguigan would still have ran straight into him! You've criticised it over and over as have lots of others, but what should be have done differently to prevent Shane Mcguigan running straight into him? There's also an onus on Mcguigan here to protect himself in the challenge. Guenuinely, for everyone who's criticised it. How should Ryan have gone for the ball in the air and how would that avoided contact with Shane Mcguigan, who just ran into the tackle and didn't leave the ground? I think Mcguigan himself is the one at fault. Is it possible Mcguigan misread it? Mistimed it? Or simply didn't see him coming? The daft is that this is being debated as influencing the game. Grapes at their sourest.

oso (National) - 18/07/2023 16:23:52

Kerry V Derry - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "I'll balance the books here by asking you , were you as quick to condemn Ryan O Donaghue for kicking out at Sean Kelly? Was his kick embarrassing. Try and be fair to all teams and not nit pick around matches."
What does your post even mean? Having been accused of an embarassing post myself I said that the only "embarassing" thing was trying to condone and justify the actions of a player who deliberately tried to the hurt another player because it clearly the said poster has a dislike of "kerry men". You're not balancing anything, I am entitled to post on any specific incident in any specific match I wish.....or not. I'm not here to comment on all games. Are you attempting to apply that old gaa logic that 1 kick justifies another? Or that somehow 2 wrongs make a right? Seriously, I'm lost. Anyone attempting to defend or justify Mckinless's blatant attempt to kick an opponent with that force needs to take a look at themselves.

oso (National) - 17/07/2023 16:18:24

Mayo Antics - 1 Like(s)
1st lets dispel the myth that Gaelic football is played by "men". This sort of behaviour says more about a man's honour and character than the simple result of a football match. 2nd Joe McQuillan has form, always bows to the big team. Again, honour and character missing. 3rd amateur organisation in every sense of the word.

oso (National) - 09/07/2016 21:48:33