Ladies team news: Dual star Looney drafted into Cork line-up

June 14, 2019

Cork's Martina O'Brien and Hannah Looney celebrate. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

Compiled by Jackie Cahill

CORK manager Ephie Fitzgerald has drafted dual star Hannah Looney into his starting line-up for Sunday’s TG4 Munster Ladies Senior Football Championship Final against Waterford at Fraher Field, Dungarvan (6.30pm).

Looney’s return, in place of Clare O’Shea, is the only change in personnel from the recent victory over Kerry, as Cork aim to retain their provincial crown.

Cork have already beaten Waterford in this year’s Munster Championship, by 24 points in the round-robin phase, but the Déise will hope to close the gap on the Lidl NFL Division 1 Champions.

That previous game against Cork was Waterford’s last competitive outing and there are three changes to Ciaran Curran’s starting team.  

Kate McGrath, Mairead Wall and Kelly Ann Hogan come into the team in place of Aisling Mullaney, Rebecca Casey and Clare Murphy.

Sunday’s fixture will be streamed LIVE on the LGFA’s Facebook Page, with Jerome Quinn on commentary alongside Kerry captain Amanda Brosnan.

Viewers can tune into the action by accessing the link and coverage gets underway at 6.15pm.

There’s also TG4 Senior Championship action on Saturday, when holders Donegal and Cavan battle it out for the right to play Armagh in the Ulster Final.

There’s one change on the Donegal team that beat Tyrone in the Preliminary round, with Shannon McLaughlin coming in at corner back in place of Roisin Rogers.

McLaughlin replaced Rogers at half-time in the Tyrone game, as Donegal advanced to face Cavan at Killyclogher (7pm).

Cavan’s last competitive fixture was the Lidl NFL Division 2 semi-final loss to Waterford on April 21.

The reshuffled team for Saturday’s clash with Donegal shows three changes from the starting 15 that lined out against the Déise, with Kate McIntyre, Rachel Doonan and Sheila Reilly named in a new-look full-back line.

They come in for Shanise Fitzsimons, Mona Sheridan and Geraldine Sheridan, who started against Waterford.

Mona Sheridan lined out in the half-back line in Cavan’s previous outing, while Fitzsimons and Geraldine Sheridan played in attack.

The players filling jerseys numbered two, three and four against Waterford, namely Laura Fitzpatrick, Shauna Lynch and Neasa Byrd, have been named in more advanced positions for the Breffni County’s 2019 Championship bow.

Before that, at 5pm and also at Tyrone venue Killyclogher, holders Derry face Antrim in the Ulster Junior Championship semi-final, with the winners to face Fermanagh in the Final on June 30.

Fermanagh beat Antrim last weekend but the Saffrons have a second bite of the cherry when the face off against the Oak Leaf County.

Returning to Sunday, and Tipperary will meet Clare in the TG4 Intermediate Final at 12pm in Cappamore, Co. Limerick.

And there are two semi-finals down for decision in the TG4 Leinster Intermediate Championship, as Kildare entertain Wexford and Meath host Wicklow.

Kildare have home advantage at St Conleth’s Park while Meath will roll out the welcome mat for Wicklow at Páirc Tailteann in Navan.

Both of those games get underway at 2pm, and the winners will advance to the Final at Netwatch Cullen Park, Carlow, on June 30.

Cork (v Waterford): M O’Brien; H Looney, E Meaney, M Duggan; S Kelly, A Hutchings, E Kiely; M O’Callaghan, O Farmer; D Kiely, N Cotter, C O’Sullivan; E Scally, S Noonan, O Finn.

Waterford (v Cork): R Landers; Kate McGrath, C McGrath, M Wall; R Tobin, Karen McGrath, S Dunphy; E Murray, K Murray; K.A. Hogan, C Fennell, M Delahunty; E Fennell, M Ryan, A Wall.

Cavan (v Donegal): E Walsh; K McIntyre, R Doonan, S Reilly; S Greene, S Lynch, J Moore; S O’Sullivan, N Byrd; A Gilsenan, A Maguire, D English; C Finnegan, A Sheridan, L Fitzpatrick.

Donegal (v Cavan): A McColgan; A.M. McGlynn, E Gallagher, S McLaughlin; N Carr, N McLaughlin, T Doherty; K Herron, E McGinley; K Guthrie, K Keeney, A Boyle Carr; N Hegarty, G McLaughlin, S McGroddy.

Antrim (v Derry): A McCann; N Killen, M Hanna, O Ní Chorra; K Farren, A McFarland, S Tennyson; C Brown, L Dahunsi; C Taggart, M McCurdy, N Jones; M Cooper, N Enright, A Taggart.

Derry (v Antrim): K Connery; H Mullan, C Glass, N Browne; G Conway, O McEvoy, A Frizelle; D Kivlehan, A McGough; R Curran, C Moore, Enya Doherty; Emma Doherty, D Donnelly, K Holly.

Kildare (v Wexford): C Malone; R Cribbin, S O’Sullivan, S Kendrick; C Sullivan, L Gilbert, T Duggan; S Munnelly, G Clifford; L Curran, C Wheeler, A Rattigan; E Dowling, N Dooley, M McKenna.

Wexford (v Kildare): M.R. Kelly; N Mernagh, M Cullen, A Tormey; C Donnelly, S Murphy, S Harding Kenny; K Kearney, B Breen; N Butler, C Foxe, N Moore; K White, M Byrne, T Doyle.

Meath (v Wicklow): M McGuirk; K Newe, S Powderly, O Duff; A Cleary, S Ennis, M Thynne; M O’Shaughnessy, K Byrne; A Leahy, E Duggan, O Byrne; E White, K Nesbitt, V Wall.

Wicklow (v Meath): K Connors; S.J. Winders, S Hogan, A Gillen; L Fusciardi, A Maher, E Mulhall; A Gorman, S Delahunt; J Kinch, L Ahern, M Deeney; A Murphy, L Hogan, C Fox.

Make sure to visit the match tracker this weekend for live coverage from Leinster and Munster SHC round 5 and the Connacht SFC final between Galway and Roscommon.

Most Read Stories