Limerick join Kerry and Tipp in McGrath Cup withdrawal

November 30, 2017

Clare's Gordon Kelly with Ger Collins of Limerick.
©INPHO/Donall Farmer.

Limerick's senior footballers have withdrawn from next year's McGrath Cup competition.

The Shannonsiders join Kerry and Tipperary in pulling out from the January competition, meaning only Clare, Cork and Waterford will partake in it with two games apiece ahead of the final.

Munster Council have gone with a group format for 2018 and the first game has been pencilled in for December 30th.

Limerick have won the competition five times since its start in 1981 with the Treaty County's last success coming in 2005.

Most Read Stories