McGrath Cup: Cork and Clare to contest final

January 06, 2019

Limerick's Mike Fitzgibbon chases down Ruairi Deane of Cork. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

This year’s McGrath Cup final will pit Cork against Clare.

Ronan McCarthy and the Rebel County enjoyed a comprehensive 3-15 to 0-7 semi-final victory over Limerick at Rathkeale.

Brian Hurley’s 10th minute goal separated the sides at the break (1-6 to 0-6) but they pulled away in the second-half courtesy of goals from Paul Walsh and Ian Maguire.

Clare, meanwhile, encountered little difficulty of Waterford by 1-17 to 1-6 at Ballinacourty.

Conal O hAinifein netted their only goal of the game and they led by 1-8 to 0-2 at the change of ends.

The final is fixed for next Saturday. Venue and time to be confirmed.

Cork - M White; C Dennehy, J Loughrey (0-1), K O'Donovan; K Crowley (0-1), K Flahive, P Walsh (1-1); I Maguire (1-2), K O'Hanlon; T Clancy, S White, M Taylor; D Gore (0-2), R Deane (0-2), B Hurley (1-3, 0-1f). Subs: T Corkery (0-1) for K Crowley, E McSweeney (0-1) for S White, A Browne for J Loughrey, J Fitzpatrick (0-1) for K O'Hanlon, P Murphy for K Flahive.

Limerick - D O'Sullivan; M Donovan, S O'Dea, P Maher; B Fanning, T McCarthy, G Brown; D Treacy, T Griffin (0-1); J Liston, S McSweeney (0-5f), M Fitzgibbon; P Nash, A Kearns, K Daly (0-1). Subs: D Lyons for K Daly, C McSweeney for B Fanning, S Keeley for M Fitzgibbon, J Lee for J Liston, L Murphy for P Maher.

Referee - D O'Mahoney.


Clare - R Eyres; K Harnett, C Brennan, J O’Sullivan; C hAinifein (1-0), D Ryan, D Masterson (0-1); D Bohannon (0-1), C O’Connor; C O’Dea (0-1), D O’Halloran (0-2), D Coughlan (0-2); G Cooney (0-4, 1f), G Brennan (0-2f), K Malone (0-1). Subs: A Sweeney for D Masterson, D Griffin for G Brennan, N Ellis (0-1) for D Coughlan, G Cahill (0-1f) for G Cooney, G O’Brien (0-1) for C O’Connor.

Waterford - A Beresford; J Mullaney, R O’Ceallaigh, M Kiely; A Trihy, B Looby, J McGrath (0-1); D Guiry, M Curry; S Whelan Barrett, J Curry, C Murray (0-2); B Lynch (0-3, 2f), S Ahearne, S Curry. Subs: S O'Donovan for M Kiely, J Allen for D Guiry, J Hurton for J Mullaney, D Fitzgerald (1-0) for J Curry.

Referee - C Lane.

Most Read Stories