Munster SHL: Banner book final ticket

January 06, 2019

Clare's Jason McCarthy and DJ Foran of Waterford. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Clare withstood a strong second-half showing from Waterford in Dungarvan today to secure a place in this year’s Munster SHL decider.

The Banner County held on for a minimum margin 2-20 to 3-16 victory.

A Tony Kelly goal helped establish a 1-14 to 1-5 interval lead for the winners.

Stephen Bennett netted the home side’s opening goal and he finished as the game’s top scorer with a return of 2-12 (1-2 from play).

But despite his best efforts, Paraic Fanning’s side finished on the wrong end of the scoreline.

Colin Guilfoyle’s second-half goal was a defining moment in the game as it gave the Donal Moloney/Gerry O’Connor managed outfit a bit of breathing space.

Bennett’s second three pointer arrived via a placed ball but it proved to be too little, too late for the home side and it’s Clare who will face Tipperary in the decider.

Clare - D Tuohy; J McCarthy, D McInerney, R Hayes; A McCarthy (0-1), C Cleary, C Malone; R Taylor (0-1), S Golden (0-2); N Deasy (0-5, 3f), T Kelly (1-2), D Ryan (0-6); C Guilfoyle (1-1), A Shanagher, M O’Neill. Subs: J Browne for R Hayes, G Cooney for A Shanagher, P Collins for M O’Neill, D Conroy (0-2) for C Guilfoyle, M O’Malley for R Taylor.

Waterford - B Nolan; D Lyons, C Prunty, N Connors; M Harney, A Gleeson, K Bennett; J Barron, S Roche; C Dunford, Shane Bennett, DJ Foran (0-1); T Ryan (1-1), Stephen Bennett (2-12, 1-10f), J Prendergast. Subs: K Moran (0-1) for A Gleeson, C Lyons for M Harney, M Kearney (0-1) for Shane Bennett, M Walsh for J Pendergast, J Henley for D Lyons.

Referee - K Jordan.

Most Read Stories