FL2: Armagh scratch their heads as Tubridy somehow snatches draw for Banner

February 03, 2019

Armagh's Charlie Vernon tackles David Tubridy of Clare. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

David Tubridy was Clare’s hero as they snatched a 2-10 to 1-13 draw with Armagh in Newry.

The Orchard County, who also drew their first-round clash with Kildare, led by four points with 69 minutes played but Doonbeg clubman Tubridy, who finished the game with 1-7 to his credit, gave the match the most unlikely denouement when he pointed from a sideline kick and then sent another sideline kick straight to the Armagh net.

Clare lost Dermot Coughlan to a serious leg injury inside the first minute and, when the action resumed after a lengthy delay, Niall Grimley and Gordon Kelly traded points. Kieran Malone and Tubridy replied to a Rian O’Neill brace before Jamie Clarke threw back an elbow and got himself sent off.

The 14 men moved ahead through Jemar Hall and Grimley - Tubridy and Dale Masterson made it 0-5 apiece with twelve minutes of injury time to be added at the end of the first half.

Greg McCabe buried a low drive in the back of the Clare net but Kieran McGeeney’s men trailed by 1-8 to 1-6 at the interval, Armagh scoring an own goal as Gavin Cooney attempted to fist a point.

O’Neill, Charlie Vernon and Grimley (free) nudged the Orchard back ahead but Tubridy’s sixth point made it 1-9 each. The Munster minnow had Cathal O’Connor dismissed and Armagh pushed on to lead by 1-13 to 1-9 thanks to a run of points from Rory Grugan (free), McCabe, Joe McElroy and Hall.

But Tubridy struck on the double at the death and Armagh finished the game with 13 men after Aaron McKay received his marching orders in injury time.

Armagh - B Hughes; A McKay, J Morgan, M Shields; C Mackin (0-1), G McCabe (1-1), A Forker; S Sheridan, N Grimley (0-3, 2f); J Hall (0-2), R Grugan (0-1f), C Vernon (0-1); J Clarke, R O’Neill (0-3, 1m), S Campbell. Subs: J McElroy (0-1) for S Campbell, R McShane for C Vernon, J Duffy for M Shields, R McQuillan for J Hall.

Clare - P DeLoughrey; K Harnett, C Brennan, G Kelly (0-1); C O’Dea, D Ryan, D Masterson (0-1); G Brennan, C O’Connor; C O hAinifein, J Malone, D Coughlan; K Malone (0-1), K Sexton, D Tubridy (1-7, 0-2f, 1-1sl, 0-1m). Subs: G Cooney for D Coughlan, E Collins for D Masterson, D Bohannan for K Malone, G O’Brien for J Malone, C Murray for K Sexton. Armagh (1-0og).

Referee - C Reilly.

Most Read Stories