Senior Hurling

Seamus Hughes from Cootehill feels that Cavan can field a senior hurling team at inter-county level

As much as I love hurling it beggars belief that he and others think they can field a senior team. Talk about putting lambs to slaughter.

How many senior teams are there now in the county of Cavan????.

Time to be realistic and stop dreaming wasting money on entering a senior team when I believe there are only two senior teams now left in the county.

If the senior hurling Final was an advertisement for a senior team in the county I think you and others went back to the drawing board.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/10/2015 12:13:49    1801506

I love playing hurling and have played with Cavan at underage and I was there for the start of Cavan seniors last year, however it always comes to a choice for a lot of us, "football or hurling" and for me it has to be football. So I can never fully commit and it is the same with most of the lads in Cavan. There is just not enough people that play only hurling in Cavan for it to really take off. It is a shame because there are a lot of people like seamus and mark mcentee that have a true passion for the sport and want to see cavan evolve in it but in my opinion there is no point trying to set up a senior team and having 6 lads at training and then 17 lads at a match, instead go to the youth and start from scratch and then in the long run you will have your senior team

5seniormedals (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 23/10/2015 12:27:47    1801515

You know what, we've been concentrating hard on the football for the past 50 years and it hasn't resulted in anything more than us usually being poor, bar the odd flash in the pan.

Perhaps hurling is our true calling, we may as well give it a lash, we haven't made much of ourselves at the football have we?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/10/2015 17:18:52    1801615

Ned_Stormcrow

You know what, we've been concentrating hard on the football for the past 50 years and it hasn't resulted in anything more than us usually being poor, bar the odd flash in the pan.

Perhaps hurling is our true calling, we may as well give it a lash, we haven't made much of ourselves at the football have we?

I think 5seniormedals has got it spot on and called it as it is.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/10/2015 17:55:47    1801622

seanorinn

I think 5seniormedals has got it spot on and called it as it is.

Ach, I know sean, I was only joking. I agree that we simply haven't the resources to diversify. We must utilise what we have for the betterment of football. That should be our priority.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/10/2015 20:11:41    1801660

No point having a team if they are going to be hammered like previously. When they are ready to go back then they should , with more work done under age. Not debating wether to go back. Embarassing all the same that Cavan hasn't a team at Senior level.

The likes of Warwickshire have teams competing at Senior level.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 23/10/2015 20:33:17    1801667

FoolsGold

No point having a team if they are going to be hammered like previously. When they are ready to go back then they should , with more work done under age. Not debating wether to go back. Embarassing all the same that Cavan hasn't a team at Senior level.

The likes of Warwickshire have teams competing at Senior level.

Why is it embarrassing one would think only Cavan have not got a senior team. Look to be able to do anything constructive at senior level you need a minimum of ten senior clubs with full panels of players and have a good championship year on year. I believe there are only two now as Woodford and Ballymachue don't have a senior team well unable to field one so whats the point. The way it stands you would have probably three teams representing the county how ridiculous is this. The former County Chairman mentioned 2020 and I feel he is close to the mark for East Cavan are working hard with underage level and were unlucky to loose Wednesday evening but the future right now for them is bright, there are a lot of people from outside Cavan working with them.
Kilkenny pulled out of football and they did the right thing. It's hard with demands now to compete with football and hurling even now the dual players in places like Cork Clare Waterford Limerick Offaly ect will be a thing of the past. As Football is the number one game here in Cavan young lads want to play football at minor level and upwards.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/10/2015 21:42:20    1801674

Just a thought - perhaps we should put out of all football competitions as well - we have how many Senior Clubs in Cavan, and we
cant put together a decent football team.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 28/10/2015 11:45:20    1802565

FoolsGold, they weren't always getting hammered though, they had a bad year in 2011 which the co board used as the excuse to disband them but they were doing reasonably well in the previous few years. They weren't winning titles but they were winning some league games and losing others narrowly, they certainly weren't getting hammered. You're right, it is embarassing that Cavan are the only county without a hurling team.

You don't need 10 senior clubs to be able to put together a county team that will compete (Monaghan, Sligo, Longford, Leitrim, Fermanagh, etc, all have less than 5), you just need a bit of willpower from the co board to help out dual players in regards to setting fixtures, something that wasn't always there in the past.

d101 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 29/10/2015 12:44:06    1802812

d101 The only people to blame are club that held the county board to ransom.

Be honest with yourself there are not enough good players out there and just representing the county for the sake of it is not a realistic proposition.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 29/10/2015 14:07:02    1802858

I don't know why people have an agenda against hurling. People should want to support their county every chance they get be it football, hurling, soccer, rugby, handball or scor. There is a great sense of pride to be gained by seen your own doing well. For the record to complete and win a Lory Meagher which Cavan would play in, you only need one club and about 30 hurlers and no underage structure at all. As Fermanagh the current Lory Meagher champions only have that going on in there hurling scene in Fermanagh. There is one underage team in the whole of Fermanagh and they travel every chance they get to play in Cavan against the numerous under age teams in Cavan. Fermanagh fielded a minor team for the first time in years this year something Cavan does comfortable every year the last while. Cavan completes at under 21's something Fermanagh doesn't do either. Look the Cavan hurlers aren't going to win the All Ireland. but who is anyone to deny them the right to complete in a competition applicable to their ability when there is one available. No one says Cavan should stop playing football cause there not in division one in the national league only a few years ago they were playing division four and achieving nothing year in year out. We didn't shout pull the team out. No you back your own to the last and be proud of everyone's effort. It takes serious dedication and sacrifices to be an inter county player it doesn't help when fellow county men spend their time putting you down as well. If the support was there I know Cavan would do very well in the inter county senior hurling scene.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 29/10/2015 15:53:47    1802917

Would you say six or seven turning up for u21 county training is the way to show the County Board that you are serious about hurling.
For me it's an insult to what the game stands for.
One club might work in Fermanagh it did not work in Cavan they are the reason why hurling is where it is.
Cootehill play in Fermanagh.
Fermanagh have the use of players from the Ballyconnel area.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 29/10/2015 17:59:06    1802959

I'm afraid you haven't quite being told the truth, Coothehill underage play in Cavan and Monaghan because they are too strong in a number of age groups at underage in Cavan so they go up to Monaghan and complete successfully in there championship as well. Same as East Cavan Gaels play in the Monaghan underage championship at a number of age groups. If Cootheill went to Fermanagh it would be to play lisbellaw in a challenge game that be it. Your right the turn out for the under 21 county hurlers this year was pathetic. It wasn't helped though that a text for training might be sent out only 24 hours in advance on a football night. Training for 21's only started 14 days before the Tyrone fixture. It was set up to fail some might same. Look both sides need to really work together put their differences aside and come up with a plan. At this stage it's probably too late for a senior team to field. But let's say the county board meet with the hurling people concerned said here's a budget for the 21's this year say 50% of what the 21's footballers get. We will work with ye to see if this is viable. Pressure is then on the hurlers to produce. Look you can't learn to swim without jumping in the water we will never know if Cavan can produce a team at adult level unless everyone tries and works together. This debate shouldn't be about county board or the players not producing it should be about what everyone can do to help and when is the right time.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 30/10/2015 12:26:24    1803083

Thetruthforonce.... I agree totally with what you say and its terrible how people come on here and run down those doing their best to get us back playing hurling at senior county level... Its true we are never going to compete at the top levelbut should there is no reason we cant hold our own at the lowest level and progress from there... Look at the amount of money that has been thrown at the football team over the years with the grand total of ONE Ulster title in the last 46 YEARS...now that is real embaressment....!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 30/10/2015 12:40:30    1803092

Sean just because you put something in bold letters doesn't make it the truth.

There are enough good young players but they're not going to get any better by not playing. Cavan are never going to compete with Cork but that doesn't mean they should give up, if things were going bad in other counties the reaction would be to put a bit more effort in.

Nobody represents a county for the sake of it, nobody would put themselves through a winter of training to play a division 4 match in front of 20 people if they didn't love the game and want to try their best for their county.

d101 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 30/10/2015 13:23:13    1803115

Thetruthforce- as bad as Cavan football has gone, they have never played in div4 in their history.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 30/10/2015 13:23:44    1803116

Another example of what is thought of dual players in Cavan.......

http://www.hoganstand.com/Cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=246189

d101 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 30/10/2015 13:28:28    1803118

That is absolutely shocking putting their two matches on at the same time. The county board really are taking the p*ss with fixtures these days. the last 3 weekends they have put the remaining league and reserve matches on the same time as the rugby and they have had to change the times of nearly every match they fixed. Whoever is making these fixtures must not have a cell in his brain. And im not a fan of giving out about the county board on this because I am wasting my own time but they p*ss me off so much I have to bad mouth them some way!
Got a bit off topic there sorry that article just annoyed me!

5seniormedals (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 30/10/2015 13:57:54    1803130

Fredflint, I apologise you are correct. I should have said Division 3. I didn't say Division 4 to offend anyone it was a genuine error. I'm not on here to put down any team it wasn't the point I was trying to make.

I don't think it's right to compare the Lacken situation this weekend with Hurling. It's a difference between to different sporting bodies. If I was asked my opinion on the matter which is only an opinion. It looks like the Ladies football board are trying to remove the competition for players by diminishing the Camogie competitions and putting there fixture on at the same time in the hope Lacken would field for the football instead of Camogie.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 30/10/2015 14:07:10    1803134

Thetruthforce- no problem.

5seniormedals - nice rant but you do realise camogie and ladies football have separate county boards each are separate to the men's game. The problem lies between the two boards of the ladies game - thought that was pretty clear from the piece?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 30/10/2015 14:44:26    1803150