Goonies- The Marmite club?

Looking across the hedge from Monaghan, I'll be hoping for a Drumgoon win on Sunday. A small rural club that punches above its weight is the epitome of GAA spirit. However, speaking to a couple of folk from Cavan, they're saying that most football people in the county would hope to see them well beaten. Or is that just a Muinchille thing?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1344 - 30/09/2011 12:59:46    1044457

Naw I`d say most Cavan folk have good time foe small clubs like Drumgoon.Tomorrow we`ll see Cavan Gaels run away with Castlerahan,in fairness two towns with big populations,yet Gaels are best! Crosserlough are a big club with big population around Drumkilly,Crosserlough and Kilnaleck. Drumgoon are definately big achievers for a small area and most fait GAA minds admire them,they have a great school and underage I believe and get the most from small base. I`m sure neighbours Cootehill might have some jealousy but thats probably only a few as well,in fairness Cootehill have big town and don`t achieve much.Some Drumgoon supporters were nasty at a game I was at last year but you get that everywhere`. I think Gaels will win well and I hope we go on to seriously challenge for Ulster honours. I`d have a soft spot for rural Drumgoon but think Crosserlough too strong in defence.Looking forward to great day in the park

gaelsarebest (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 01/10/2011 13:53:28    1044908

i'm ambivalent about marmite

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 01/10/2011 14:24:52    1044924

Well done drumgoon I know it was tight in the end and crosserlough could have nicked it but over the hour you deserved it f**k the begrudgers

fidel (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 02/10/2011 18:48:00    1045342

Well done lads, lucky to hold on in the end as Crosserlough dominated the second half, but credit where credits due...

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 02/10/2011 19:51:40    1045375

well done drumgoon,deserved your win.looking forward to sunday week in park when drumgoon and Gaels represent Ulster,hope all come out and support cavan teams as we go forward,together we are all better,was a nice honour for your clubman Aoghan Farrel to present the cup,we are all proud of this fine GAA administrator. Anyway I hope all the goonies do well in Ulster and support the Gaels after their own game,we could do with a few extra voices!!

gaelsarebest (Cavan) - Posts: 39 - 05/10/2011 13:40:08    1046940

Fair play to the goonies on sunday,their hard work,dedication and commitment was justitfyably rewarded with the intermediate championship,well done lads....no reason why the adventure should stop there....next stop ulster club,keep her lite lads!!

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1223 - 05/10/2011 19:57:35    1047238