Fermanagh v Cavan

Well lads, after a good confidence boosting win yesterday, how are we shaping up for the Fermanagh game? I think if we don't sort midfield we could be in for a tight game. The Fermanagh danger man is yer man Ward in the corner, very quick and destroyed us in the league. I think McLoughlin will be tasked with marking him. Maybe Jack Brady will get a start too, great young player, very versatile. I think we'll need a different plan, as Canavan will not be dafte enough to give Keating and Dunne all the space they had yesterday. If we get it tactically right, we have the better players, Fermanagh won't live with Keating and Dunne if they keep up their form. Also, Givney needs help in midfield.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 20/05/2013 20:04:25    1387783

it will be a lot tougher ,i think armagh are a team in decline and fermanagh under peter have improved very fast ,but they dont have any real danger men as such ,i think they a more a unit team ,i think if we win the battle of tactics we should be ok but we will need three things for our next day out 1.scoring our frees or kick them in short if it looks too hard . 2. midfields and braking balls could be the winning of the game so we need to win well there . 3 practice long range scoring we wont have the comfort we had against armagh unless were one on one .

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 20/05/2013 21:20:04    1387877

IS IT TO EARLY FOR A TEAM PREDICTION PERSONNALLY I WOULDNT CHANGE TOO MUCH MAYBE SWAP KILLIAN CLARKE FOR O REILLY ONLY BECAUSE OF HEIGHT CANT FAULT O REILLY WORK RATE WHAT EVER WAY IT WORKS OUT GOOD LUCK

cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 21/05/2013 08:19:45    1387949

does anyone else think the Ulster Council are being stubborn or trying to create unnecessary hassle by hosting the game in Brewster park at the same time as the G8 summit. Have you been to Enniskillen this week. There are the local police, police from around the province and even police from mainland Uk there at present. Searching vans, cars, setting up check points and this is only on the run up to it. Can you imaginge the hassle there will be with thousands of supporters trying to get into Enniskillen during he time the summit is being held.
Would Clones not have been a better option for both sets of fans? They are bringing the minors there on Sunday evening so why did they not play in Brewster? I think the Ulster Council are trying to make headlines !! What do you think?

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 22/05/2013 10:17:30    1388730

cavan.wanderer

IS IT TO EARLY FOR A TEAM PREDICTION PERSONNALLY I WOULDNT CHANGE TOO MUCH MAYBE SWAP KILLIAN CLARKE FOR O REILLY ONLY BECAUSE OF HEIGHT CANT FAULT O REILLY WORK RATE WHAT EVER WAY IT WORKS OUT GOOD LUCK

Have to agree with the Wanderer. Jack Brady if fit will probably come back into the forwards. Damian has to go back wing back where he is very good and Killian Clarke or Corr to midfield. Another thing lads like Damian Reilly and Killian Brady will have to cut out is raising their hands into opponents faces. He got sent off against Fermanagh in the Lge so Damian seems to have a short fuse. Sadly lads like that are no good sitting up in the stand after a Red. Management will have to enforce discipline on the field. Agression is great but has to be controlled.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 22/05/2013 10:58:40    1388772

I agree StirringIt and if it is like that already there is no way that 10 or 12 thousand will be fit to get into Enniskillen on the day of the match.

It is madness to let the game go ahead that weekend at that venue.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 22/05/2013 12:45:04    1388879

The game is on in Enniskillen get over it, think your getting a bit carried away with this G8 lads, Cavan support not good in the last few years anyway

weemanmc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 102 - 22/05/2013 13:22:21    1388919

stirringit you obvioulsy haven't been to Enniskillen recently. There is a bit more cop presence but I have yet to see a car getting searched. In the last 2 months I have spotted 3 check points. I would head into enniskillen from Belcoo at least 6 days a week so I think you are just making stuff up

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/05/2013 13:31:59    1388929

Lads Quit complaining about the game being in Brewster . its a home game for fermanagh , if armagh had to have one the game would have been in armagh

dreadnought1 (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 22/05/2013 13:35:54    1388934

weemanmc
County: Fermanagh
Cavan support not good in the last few years anyway

It was a disgrace last Sunday to be outnumbered at home.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 22/05/2013 13:49:56    1388954

RHF

weemanmc
County: Fermanagh
Cavan support not good in the last few years anyway

It was a disgrace last Sunday to be outnumbered at home.

You must have spent the whole match counting the supporters or did you do a head count as they came in, we'll done.

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 22/05/2013 16:27:32    1389136

potnorwindow

You must have spent the whole match counting the supporters or did you do a head count as they came in, we'll done.

Yeah i stood at every turnstile and counted every single person that entered the ground and asked them where they were from.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 22/05/2013 16:35:03    1389141

Fair Play!

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 22/05/2013 16:40:07    1389147

I'm just looking back at the Armagh game, one thing that worries me is the discipline of a few players. Damian Reilly has already been shown the line against Fermanagh this year, and he struck Tony Kernan early on in the Armagh match and should really have seen red only the ref didn't see it. This sort of nonsense could cost us big time unless its sorted out. Fermanagh are masters at winding players up, you only need to look at Keating's treatment he got when he came on as a sub against them in the league. Jersey ripped to pieces before he even touched the ball. We'll be lucky to finish with 15 players if this isnt looked at.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 22/05/2013 17:45:05    1389249

Totally agree slash: On another day with a different ref, there were a number of petulant tackles from a number of Cavan players that were deserving of bookings and more. Anything over the shoulder could be construed as a straight red. I don't suggest toning down the aggression, just the focus on tackling to prevent unnecessary sending off's

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 22/05/2013 19:12:26    1389318

Anyone know if Mossy will be fit for this game or how his injury is progressing? He did well at midfield in the league, Givney was basically on his own against Armagh and needs a partner, he can't compete with two men on him.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 24/05/2013 11:06:44    1390325

Sunday was the first time in a very long time id seen Cavan play. Just wondering how many from the minor Under 21 and Junior winning teams were playing?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/05/2013 13:20:00    1390466

1 Conor Gilsenan - Two ulster u21's.. 2. Jason McLoughlin- two ulster 21's.. 3. Rory Dunne Ulster 21 finalist, leinster junior winner '12.. 4. Killian Clarke- Ulster minor '11, and two u21 titles.. 5 James McEnroe- Ulster 21 finalist 2010.. 7. Killian Brady two ulster 21's, leinster junior 12.. 9. Dave Givney- Sigerson winner 2013, u21 finalist 2010. 11. Jack Brady 3 Ulster u21 titles. 12 Ferg Flanagan- 3 Ulster u21 titles. 13. Niall Mc Dermott Ulster u21 title. 14 Martin Dunne Leinster junior winner 2012.

Thefryingpan (Cavan) - Posts: 26 - 24/05/2013 15:16:35    1390636

did eugene keating not win an all-ireland with Virginia?

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 24/05/2013 16:02:55    1390689

Keating, McEnroe and Givney all won the All Ireland with Virginia twice.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 25/05/2013 14:22:49    1391038