HS football team of the week

May 20, 2019

The Galway players warm up before the Connacht SFC semi-final clash against Sligo at Markievicz Park. ©INPHO/Evan Logan.

It was a weekend to remember for the supporters of Cavan and Armagh while Connacht holders Galway experienced little difficulty in dismantling Sligo…


1. Bernard Power (Galway)

The Tribesmen’s netminder went about his duties with the minimum of fuss in the convincing penultimate stage victory over Sligo.

2. Jason McLoughlin (Cavan)

The tenacious Breffni County defender was one of the standout performers in the local derby victory over Monaghan.

3. Padraig Faulkner (Cavan)
Asked to curb the influence of Conor McManus, the Kingscourt Stars clubman didn’t let his side down and also got forward to kick a point in the 55th minute.

4. Liam Silke (Galway)

The corner-back from Corofin roamed forward to pilfer 1-2 against the Yeats County in Markievicz Park.

5. Mark Shields (Armagh)

Introduced as a 30th minute substitute for Charlie Vernon, the versatile Shields had a huge bearing on proceedings in Newry and found the back of the Down net in the second-half of normal time.

6. Darren O’Hagan (Down)

The Mourne County captain and his team-mates will be bitterly disappointed with the outcome but can approach the qualifiers in an optimistic frame of mind.

7. John Daly (Galway)

A sterner test awaits the holders in the provincial decider but Daly and his team-mates can be satisfied with a job well done.

8. Gearoid McKiernan (Cavan)

The physically imposing McKiernan led from the front against the Farney County and finished as his team’s top scorer with 0-4 (two from play).

9. Jarly Og Burns (Armagh)

Midfielder Burns was very much to the fore as the Orchard County registered a first Ulster SFC victory since 2014.

10. Martin Reilly (Cavan) 

The ever-reliable Reilly delivered a pinpoint pass that led to his team’s penalty and made no mistake from the resulting spot-kick.

11. Dara McVeety (Cavan)

The hard-working McVeety epitomized the high work-rate that Cavan brought to the table against their next door neighbours.

12. Pat Havern (Down)

Havern found the target with 1-1 for Paddy Tally’s charges but they just came up short on the day.

13. Andrew Murnin (Armagh)

Murnin’s match winning contribution off the bench - he scored 1-1 – warrants his inclusion on the team.

14. Rian O’Neill (Armagh)

The young Crossmaglen ace enjoyed a championship debut to remember when sending over eight points (four from play) against their neighbours.

15. Niall Murphy (Sligo)

Paul Taylor’s side found the going tough against Galway but Murphy kept plugging away throughout.

Most Read Stories