Galway SFC final replay: Corofin complete six-in-a-row

November 04, 2018

Mark Mannion of Mountbellew-Moylough hits the deck as Corofin's Gary Sice closes in

Corofin 1-8

Mountbellew/Moylough 0-5

Corofin took possession of the Frank Fox Cup for a sixth successive year after seeing off 13-man Mountbellew/Moylough in an ill-tempered Galway SFC final replay at Pearse Stadium.

Dylan Wall scored the only goal early on, while four points from Gary Sice were also crucial as the reigning All-Ireland champions, who were without All-Star forward Ian Burke due to injury, progressed to a Connacht club SFC semi-final meeting with Clann na nGael next weekend. Mountbellew/Moylough finished with 13 players after Noel McDonagh received a straight red card and Barry McHugh picked up two yellows, while Kieran Fitzgerald also received two yellow cards as he won a remarkable 13th county championship medal.

After Michael Daly gave the challengers a first-minute lead, Corofin replied with a goal from Wall after Liam Silke had set him up. Daly notched his second point, but then Corofin scored four without reply. Barry McHugh and Eoin Finnerty got two back for Mountbellew/Moylough to leave them trailing by 0-4 to 1-4 at the interval.

Man-of-the-match Sice extended Corofin's advantage from a free after the restart and they never looked like losing after Paul Donnellan had a goal chance saved by centre back Dylan McHugh.

Corofin - B Power; C Silke, K Fitzgerald, L Silke (0-1); K Molloy, D McHugh, D Wall (1-0); D Burke, R Steede (0-1); J Leonard, M Lundy, C Brady (0-1); G Sice (0-4, 3f), Michael Farragher (0-1), Martin Farragher. Subs: C Cunningham for C Silke, D Canney for Martin Farragher, C Brady for D Burke, D Silke for J Leonard, B O’Donovan for K Molloy.

Mountbellew/Moylough - D Boyle; M Mannion, G Donoghue, G Sweeney; P Donnellan, N McDonagh, J Daly; M Daly (0-2), M Barrett; S Boyle, C Murray, E Finnerty (0-2); C Mannion, B McHugh (0-1f), A Barrett. Subs: L Donnellan for A Barrett, C Ryan for C Mannion, A Barrett for S Boyle, B Mannion for L Donnellan.

Referee - T O Flatharta.

Most Read Stories