HS football team of the week

May 21, 2018

Fermanagh fans celebrate after their side's Ulster SFC quarter-final victory over Armagh at Brewster Park.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

There were big wins for Monaghan and Fermanagh in the Ulster SFC over the while both Tipperary and Clare cleared quarter-final hurdles in Munster…

1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Beggan's unerring accuracy from long range placed balls is a potent weapon in Monaghan's arsenal.

2. John Meagher (Tipperary)

The Premier County dispatched Waterford with the minimum of fuss and now face a seven-day turnaround before taking on Cork.

3. Michael Jones (Fermanagh)

Jones and his defensive team-mates restricted Armagh to just three points from play at Brewster Park.

4. Eoghan Collins (Clare)

Stiffer tests lie ahead for Collins & Co but it was very much a case of job done in the Gaelic Grounds.

5. Barry Mulrone (Fermanagh)

Frequent forays forward by the Devenish clubman and Declan McCusker succeeded in putting the Orchard County on the back foot.

6. Vinny Corey (Monaghan)

The 35-year-old scored the all-important goal as Malachy O'Rourke's side booked their semi-final ticket at Tyrone's expense.

7. Robbie Kiely (Tipperary)

The Premier County captain embarked on his trademark raids into enemy territory on numerous occasions against Waterford.

8. Darren Hughes (Monaghan)

When the Healy Park contest was very much in the melting pot, Hughes used his experience to telling effect.

9. Ryan Jones (Fermanagh)

Commanding performances from Jones and his midfield partner Eoin Donnelly laid the foundations for Fermanagh's win.

10. Kieran Malone (Clare)

Rewarded Colm Collins' faith in him with a return of 1-3 from play on his championship debut.

11. Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan)

A late replacement for Conor McCarthy, McAnespie's industry posed plenty of problems for the Red Hand's rearguard.

12. Liam McGrath (Tipperary)

A constant thorn in the side of the Waterford defence, McGrath finished with 0-9 (seven frees) to his name on his first championship start.

13. Conor McAliskey (Tyrone)

If Tyrone are to make progress via the qualifiers, Mickey Harte will look to McAliskey to continue his rich vein of scoring form.

14. Seamus Quigley (Fermanagh)

The 29-year-old made up for lost time with a six-point contribution on his championship bow.

15. Conor McManus (Monaghan)

The Clontibret sharpshooter put on an exhibition of shooting and contributed six-points to the Farney County's success.

Most Read Stories