Sigerson Cup: NUIG qualify for first final since 2003

February 14, 2018

NUIG's Sean Mulkerrin celebrates after his side scored a goal against DIT.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

NUIG have qualified for the Sigerson Cup final for the first time since 2003 after seeing off DIT by 2-12 to 0-15 in Mullingar tonight.

Goals in either half from Galway team-mates Sean Kelly and Eoin Finnerty proved crucial as Maurice Sheridan's men booked their place in Saturday's decider at Santry Avenue where they will face UCD (0-18 to 1-13 winners over UUJ after extra-time).

The Galway students took a 1-6 to 0-7 half-time lead into the dressing rooms at the St Loman's GAA grounds with Kelly getting inside the opposition's rearguard for his side's opening goal on 20 minutes.

Damien Comer, Ronan O'Toole (on his home pitch) and Adam Gallagher were among the scorers for the winner's before substitute Finnerty found the net to leave the scoreboard reading 2-10 to 0-12 with 10 minutes remaining.

DIT, who started with Dublin senior forward Brian Howard, fought all the way to the final whistle with midfielder Sean Hurley accurate from placed balls, but crucially could never get their noses in front.

With just a goal between the sides, Billy O'Loughlin's charges had a late penalty shout waved away after a NUIG defender appeared to have made a foot block.

But NUIG held out for victory.

NUIG - T O'Malley; S Brennan, S Mulkerrin, K McDonnell; C Kelly, R Greene, G O'Kelly Lynch; C D'Arcy, P Cooke (0-1); E Tierney (0-2, 1'45), O Gallagher (0-1), A Gallagher (0-4, 2f); B Donovan, D Comer (0-1), S Kelly (1-0). Subs: R O'Toole (0-2) for S Kelly, K Molloy (0-1) for B Donovan, E Finnerty (1-0) for O Gallagher, R Forde for C Kelly, J Maher for R Greene.

DIT - L Stacey; A McGowan, B Power, R Shanahan; B Howard (0-1), R O'Brien (0-1), B Maher; T Corcoran (0-1), S Hurley (0-4f); C Pearson, C Loftus (0-3, 1f), C Howley; C O'Reilly (0-1), D Kirby, S Dempsey (0-1). Subs: K O'Gara (0-2) for T Corcoran, L Hughes for D Kirby, B Brennan for C O'Reilly, D McAllister for S Dempsey, C Madden (0-1) for C Loftus.

Referee - A Nolan.

Most Read Stories