Dr McKenna Cup: Donegal too strong for the Orchard County

January 20, 2018

Armagh's Eamon McGeown has a shot at goal during the McKenna Cup semi-final against Donegal at Celtic Park

Donegal will take on Tyrone in this year's Dr McKenna Cup decider after dishing out a seven-point defeat to Armagh this evening.

The last four encounter was switched to Celtic Park after both Ballybofey and the Athletic Grounds failed pitch inspections this morning and it finished 0-20 to 1-10 in favour of Declan Bonner's charges.

Kieran McGeeney's side actually enjoyed the brighter start but they played second fiddle to the Tir Chonaill men during a second-half in which they were outscored by eleven points to 1-1.

Orchard County full-forward Eamon McGeown netted what proved to be the game's only goal in the 13th minute and his strike boosted Armagh into a 1-3 to 0-2 lead.

Donegal, however, soon set about reeling in their opponents and took over in the lead by the 29th minute with Paddy McBrearty and 'man-of-the-match' Nathan Mullins amongst their scorers.

Stephen Sheridan replied at the opposite end of the field and the sides were tied on 1-6 to 0-9 at the break.

Donegal drew first blood in the second-half with McBrearty on target once again and that set the tone for the remainder of the contest.

The final versus the Red Hands is scheduled to be played over the weekend of February 17th/18th.

Donegal - M A McGinley; P Brennan, S McMenamin, C Ward; E Doherty, L McLoone, T McClenaghan; J McGee, N Mullins (0-2); E Ban Gallagher, C Thompson (0-1), C McGonigle; P McBrearty (0-8, 3f), M O'Reilly, D O'Connor (0-3, 1f). Subs: N O'Donnell (0-3) for T McClenaghan, C McGinley for S McMenamin, S McBrearty (0-3) for C Thompson, K McBrearty for J McGee, B McCole for P McBrearty.

Armagh - P Morrison; J McAlinden, O Lappin, J Cosgrove; J McElroy, R Kennedy, D McKenna; A Findon, S Sheridan (0-1); R Lappin, A Duffy, C White (0-1); M Stevenson (0-3, 1'45), E McGeown (1-3, 0-1f), O MacIomhair (0-1). Subs: R McQuillan for O Lappin, R Owens for S Sheridan, C McGeary for D McKenna, E English (0-1) for C White, D McQuade for R Lappin.

Referee - N McKenna.

Most Read Stories