Connacht SFL round-up: Leitrim hold Mayo as Rossies continue to impress

January 10, 2018

Mayo's Neil Douglas and Liam Ryan of Leitrim.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Brendan Gallagher's injury-time goal gave Leitrim a deserved 1-10 to 0-13 draw with Mayo at MacHale Park.

With 1,696 spectators looking on as the beaten All-Ireland finalists made their first appearance of the calendar year - albeit fielding an experimental side - the underdogs slotted the last six points of the first half to take a 0-8 to 0-6 lead into the interval.

With less than ten minutes left before the short whistle, Alan Freeman's free eased the hosts into a 0-6 to 0-2 lead but back came Leitrim with a run of scores from substitute Damien Moran, Gallagher (2), Eoin Ward, Keith Keegan and Aidan Flynn.

Diarmuid McKiernan saved a Freeman penalty in the fourth minute of the second half but Mayo finished strongly with four successive scores to lead by 0-13 to 0-10 deep into added time. But in the last play of the game, Gallagher got his fist to the ball ahead of Flynn and found the net to ensure that it finished level.

Roscommon manager Kevin McStay.
©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Meanwhile, in a high-scoring encounter at Kiltoom, Roscommon secured a resounding 3-19 to 2-10 victory over Sligo. A brace of Cian McKeon goals inside the opening eleven minutes and another from Diarmuid Murtagh separated the teams at the break, 3-8 to 0-8.

As the Rossies continued to rack up the scores in a game where attackers were well on top, the match was over as a contest long before Adrian Marren and Kyle Cawley landed late, late consolation goals for the spirited visitors.

Mayo - P O'Malley; M Park, G McDonagh, A Butler (0-1); J Stretton, S Nally, J McCormack (0-1); B Moran, J Flynn; F McDonagh (0-1), N Douglas (0-1), N Moran; R Egan (0-1), A Freeman (0-2f), C Treacy (0-3, 1f). Subs: J Gibbons (0-1) for B Moran, A Gallagher (0-1) for N Moran, O McLaughlin for R Egan, P Naughton (0-1) for A Freeman, M Ruane for J Flynn, K McLoughlin for S Nally.

Leitrim - D McKiernan; L Ryan, M McWeeney, M Murphy; J O'Brien, K Keegan (0-1), S Quinn; D Wrynn, C Moreton; C Gaffney, E Ward (0-1), J Rooney; A Flynn (0-1), D Rooney, B Gallagher (1-4, 0-3f). Subs: D Moran (0-1) for C Moreton, N McGovern (0-1f) for D Wrynn, J Mitchell for L Ryan, N Plunkett for J O'Brien, D Carberry (0-1) for C Gaffney, C Gallagher for E Ward.

Referee - S Hehir.


Roscommon - A Brady; S McDermott, J McManus, N McInerney; C Daly (0-2), S Mullooly, F Lennon (0-2); E Smith, Fintan Cregg; N Daly, C Murtagh (0-5, 1f), P Kelly (0-1); D Murtagh (1-2, 0-1f), C Lennon (0-1), C McKeon (2-1). Subs: H Darcy for P Kelly (BC), D Murray for S Mullooly, Finbarr Cregg (0-2) for N Daly, D Smith (0-3) for C McKeon, T McKenna for F Lennon, P Domican for N McInerney.

Sligo - A Devaney; E McHugh, P Laffey, E McGuinness; Keelan Cawley (0-1), P Kilcoyne, J Gillen; J Clarke (0-1), D Cummins; N Mullen (0-2), F Cawley, S Carrabine; S Coen (0-3, 1f), A Marren (1-2, 0-1f, 0-1'45), Kyle Cawley (1-0). Subs: G O'Kelly Lynch for J Gillen, M Gordan for E McHugh, P Hughes (0-1) for S Coen, C Lally for N Mullen, K Henry for S Carrabine, P McNamara for Keelan Cawley.

Referee - P Lydon.

Most Read Stories