Givney Stars as Ulster wins

David Givney starred as Ulster defeated Donegal this evening.
Givney who I exposed his worth as a possible inter County footballer give a great display at midfield for the winners.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 03/11/2012 21:13:08    1292190

Well said tom

FALCON (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 03/11/2012 21:53:12    1292203

Falcon,

I feel that too much negativity is around in Cavan, David who I followed from U18 onwards is what we in Cavan want.
A big footballer in Raymie Carlon style
I feel if more posters on H/S were postive on what is good( Sean take note) we can move on and again be a big force in Ulster football

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 04/11/2012 10:42:01    1292248

he was ok..he wasn't great

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 04/11/2012 11:23:20    1292257

I feel if more posters on H/S were postive on what is good( Sean take note) we can move on and again be a big force in Ulster football
tomsmith , 04/11/2012 at 10:42

If I was negative I would not have backed the county team to get promotion. I am one of the more positive supporters.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 04/11/2012 11:40:11    1292262

Wishful - he was impressive, certainly outshone cavanagh. Certainly done better against McGee than when we played Donegal in breffni. Drove forward when he could and scored a good point. Less said about his goal effort at the end the better though.

Total_Football (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 04/11/2012 13:35:01    1292299

wishfulthinkin givney was very good caught some ball around the middle scored a point and was one of the best players on the pitch what game were you watching?

bart_simpson (Cavan) - Posts: 45 - 04/11/2012 15:18:45    1292346

ok ok, lets get carried away about a meaningless game.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 04/11/2012 18:08:19    1292473

Let be positive about a man that I feel could save Cavan.
What I did say is that I take the credit for discovering David who I followed for may years and pointed out to the Cavan selectors that he was County material. This is all positive stuff, but for a poster to try and say he was positive by saying that cavan was going to get promoted, is not positive that is being silly.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 04/11/2012 19:24:29    1292542

again, i ask the question, why does anyone bother to respond to this joker. ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 04/11/2012 20:36:13    1292599

He was far from good, kicking shots into the keepers hand and then that volley attempt..
mc kiernan deserved to get more game time

nedkelly (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 04/11/2012 20:55:33    1292612

again, i ask the question, why does anyone bother to respond to this joker. ?
s goldrick , 04/11/2012 at 20:36

For me he has this knack of getting under my skin.
Talks a lot about pubs so maybe he does all this when the jungle juice is in.
I don't know but he gets on my nerves.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 05/11/2012 09:00:32    1292677

Tom, have you any more undiscovered talent up there in Cavan? W'el have to appoint you as chief scout!!! But of course we will always have the "glass half empty boys" as well. I watched the game and certainly David was as good as anyone on the pitch. He won some good posession around the middle and will be doing that for Cavan for a good many years. We havent had a good ball winner since Stephen King and with Mc Kiernan we will be able to compete in the air with the big boys over the next few years. He still has a bit to learn but he is only 22 so dont be too harsh on the lad. So lets be proud of one of our own competing with the best in Ulster!! Well done David!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 05/11/2012 11:03:10    1292732

05/11/2012 11:03:10
BreffniDub

1292732 I watched the game and certainly David was as good as anyone on the pitch.
Did you watch McBrearty, Gallagher, Hughes or Pemrose?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 05/11/2012 11:18:35    1292747

wishfulthinkin
Did you watch McBrearty, Gallagher, Hughes or Pemrose?

I watched them all and David was every bit as good as these boys. Who won most of the posession along with Cavanagh in the first half around the middle third??

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 05/11/2012 14:30:15    1292906

Saw the game too. David looked solid and fitted in well. The only thing I could be negative about was his decision making in front of goal. Couple of bad shots in first half and the one that flashed across goal, I think if it had have been someone a bit cuter like cavan agh he may have fisted it over or recycled it back out. Those little things are what is different between us and the better counties in ulster

laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 05/11/2012 17:31:15    1293025

For the love a jaysus it was a charity exhibition! Get a grip lads

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 05/11/2012 20:52:24    1293169

Lets judge the guy against the Cork and the Kerrys if we ever meet them in the qualifers, then we will know more about him..

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 06/11/2012 10:20:44    1293258

"For the love a jaysus it was a charity exhibition! Get a grip lads"....

Ye fair enough, but just goes to show what can happen certain players when they have a good team around them. I rate him but in truth we need another 4-5 like him but i not sure they are around. These young lads with bright futures need all the encouragement they can get and if that's Joe Kernan praising him after a charity match then We should take that any day.....

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 606 - 06/11/2012 14:05:29    1293391

Joe Kiernans one thing, listening to tomsmith try take credit is another! S.goldrick hit the nail on the head but more importantly how is this jargon getting published? Someone at HS needs a job appraisal, and quick

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 06/11/2012 16:22:55    1293509