Eugene Keating

After another powerful performance yesterday surely Keating is the best player in Cavan at the moment. Do you lads agree?

cavan96 (Cavan) - Posts: 26 - 21/05/2012 17:20:54    1177394

Hard to argue with that. I feel Givney is up there with him for talent but he's certainly the best at what he does by a long way. I'd be more focused on the players moving forward as a team than singling a player out for praise, but credit where credit is due.

Bananas (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 21/05/2012 17:56:32    1177437

He was excellent yesterday, gave Neil McGee all sorts of trouble when the ball was played in, but you can't judge him on just one game. I don't think we gave enough of the ball into him yesterday, we dithered on it too much and that killed us. Hopefully we'll get a run in the qualifiers and he can show us more.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 21/05/2012 17:57:02    1177438

Except for taking sideline kicks. 40 metre backpass from a sideline kick led to Donegals penalty. So he undid all his good work up front .

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 21/05/2012 18:02:33    1177447

the goal want scored for about a minute after that sideline kick and we got possesion and lost it again in that time if i remember correctly so all the blame isnt to him in all fairness

cavan96 (Cavan) - Posts: 26 - 21/05/2012 18:16:47    1177468

richiej - that was one blot on his copybook.. instead of being negative all the time, there wasnt a whole lot wrong with the guy's performance... i thought he was exceptional, a lot of the time he was feeding off scraps and still managed a return.. some of the points he took were unreal, first one stood out by a mile, and was arguably the score of the game... hopefully he can go on to replicate the type of performance yesterday within the qualifers...

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 21/05/2012 18:18:14    1177469

I heard the other day that he got a new job in Cavan starting in August and will move to Cavan town and look to play with the Gaels ..

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 21/05/2012 19:17:35    1177534

RichieJ that has to be the stupidest post I've ever seen. Would you say McFadden undid all the good work he did because he dropped a 45 short in the first half and missed one in the second?

Keating worked hard to get out in front for a poor ball in that was boxed away from him by a top class defender. He then raced over to take the line ball because he was mad to get involved in the game and was having to get by on the occasional poor ball in, scraps in other words. And I wouldn't even blame him for Cavan losing possession from the lineball, the pass was accurate and was a good height and pace for McKeever to run onto. He was caught standing still after calling for the ball twice and so was at fault.

To say Keating ''undid all his good work'' by giving a pass backwards when there was no real option to shoot, a pass that was decent by all accounts, is absolutely ludicrous. If he had have shot and missed I'm sure he'd have been criticized by you as well.

I think I speak for many when I say please stop posting on this forum. You have nothing constructive to add and the majority of your posts are laughable.

Bananas (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 21/05/2012 19:24:53    1177542

Totally agree with your post Bananas

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 21/05/2012 19:50:39    1177571

I think I speak for many when I say please stop posting on this forum. You have nothing constructive to add and the majority of your posts are laughable.

Have to say I agree. Richiej please leave the board. Your posts are utter tripe.
Keating had a great game yesterday with little or no service. What did the best forward in the county that now sits in Kildare score against Donegal last year?

holluc (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 21/05/2012 20:15:30    1177604

Cop on gaelsutd, every prediction you make on here is rubbish and Richie yet again making a total fool of himself. Were you at the game Richie?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 21/05/2012 20:18:57    1177610

i fully agree bananas...

humptydumpty1 (Cavan) - Posts: 92 - 21/05/2012 20:25:55    1177619

Richiej i dont think you can call yourself a cavan man, the best forward in cavan isnt sj, the best forward in cavan was wearing no 14 yesterday,

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 21/05/2012 20:50:38    1177648

Seriously why is Richiej's post allowed appear. He never has anything constructive to say. If young players were reading the tripe he was posting on here they would probaly consider why they put in the time and effort to play with Cavan. although they would have the cop on to pass no remarks to a bar stool fool like him.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2936 - 21/05/2012 21:01:00    1177656

Great to see other posters telling Richiej where to go after years of crap. Don't let the door hit you on the way out Richie.

holluc (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 21/05/2012 21:11:04    1177666

yea have to say keating was playing great and winning the ball without wanting the ball put into his hands ,i was a johnston fan but hes let himself down and now is playing no football which is wrong ,but there ya go

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 21/05/2012 21:31:51    1177693

I hope the young lads have the sense to ignore all the negativity that is said by a select few on here, the fact is I and a lot of others have a lot of faith in them, and am willing to give them time to develop physically before I expect them to compete with one of the strongest outfits in Ireland. Keep the faith lads, and keep improving. Nobody is in any doubt that that performance yesterday was a marked improvement from the league.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 21/05/2012 21:35:09    1177702

I hope the young lads have the sense to ignore all the negativity that is said by a select few on here, the fact is I and a lot of others have a lot of faith in them, and am willing to give them time to develop physically before I expect them to compete with one of the strongest outfits in Ireland. Keep the faith lads, and keep improving. Nobody is in any doubt that that performance yesterday was a marked improvement from the league.
Sergeant_Slash , 21/05/2012 at 21:35

Funny posts when Val Andrews did this he was roasted why I ask has the opinions changed ?????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 21/05/2012 21:44:29    1177717

Keating played well took some great scores and had very little help inside. Why does he need to take sideline kicks if he is the target man????? What's the idea of playing a 40 metre backpass from a sideline ball to a marked man????? Tactics were rubbish like they always are. We are clueless everywhere. This time next year there will be another 4/5 starters. But the end result the same.... We never really start.. Thank god Forde didn't get the Gaels job!!

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 21/05/2012 21:50:27    1177723

Ahh Richie, if you weren't stranded in "London" you could manage Cavan Gaels. If only eh!

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2936 - 21/05/2012 21:55:17    1177729