Dawning Of A New Era On The Horizon

Headline article in the Chronicle questions whether we are at the dawn of a new ear in Meath Gaelic football based on the minors getting to an All Ireland semi and the under 16's getting to the quarter finals of the Gerry Reilly tournament in Oldcastle.

The sub heading is "The overnight success story that has taken years to achieve". I am not sure if i agree with calling this a success story.

While I agree that there looks to be some progress, it will take a lot more before we can have any confidence that we have turned a corner. It is good to see that we have won 2 Leinster under 17 titles in a row. Now we need to continue to develop consistently teams that are competitive at the busines end of the provincial and hopefully All-Ireland series. We really need a new groundbreaking team that can win or at least get to an All-Ireland.

Lets hope this is a topic that will continue to develop in a positive way in the next few years.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 18/08/2018 14:22:36    2134237

In a sense it's heartening to be winning for a change, but it just reinforces the point on how people have short memories.

10 years ago we were winning Leinster Minor titles and reaching all Ireland semi finals, but it didn't carry through to U21, didn't bring any senior success and didn't last very long. Those players from 06-08 should have spent the last 5 years at their peak, but instead we've several mediocre years of mid table league finishes and poor championships.

Menton and Biggy are the only 2 players I can think of off the top of my head still playing from those teams. The likes of Shane O'Rourke, Mickey Newman, Davy Dalton, Damien Carroll, Ciaran Lenihan, Donnacha Tobin, Andy Tormey would have come through them too but are all no longer involved for various reasons. So while we're praising these young lads now, in 10 years time there's every chance we could be saying they're not good enough, or not dedicated enough, or that "we only want the lads who're dying to play for Meath" after the player commits to his club/work/going abroad.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1642 - 18/08/2018 15:41:24    2134250

Ye it was great to see Meath Minors win a Leinster Title and no one will remember who they beat only we win. I do feel however that this was a bad set of Leinster teams and remember Wicklow beat Dublin and Louth almost did as well, whilst Kildare were plain awful. Galway we're away to good for our Minors but there are some potential players in this squad.

I would not be hanging my hat on the Gerry Reilly. Meath seem to land themselves every year in a group where they whip the minnows and they find themselves found out against bigger teams in semi finals like Monaghan last year.

Still yet to see a Meath underage team that has a load of X factor players that you could say are potential stars of the future. There are certainly some top players but whether they play for Meath and keep playing is anyone's guess

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 19/08/2018 00:12:43    2134328

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Ye it was great to see Meath Minors win a Leinster Title and no one will remember who they beat only we win. I do feel however that this was a bad set of Leinster teams and remember Wicklow beat Dublin and Louth almost did as well, whilst Kildare were plain awful. Galway we're away to good for our Minors but there are some potential players in this squad.

I would not be hanging my hat on the Gerry Reilly. Meath seem to land themselves every year in a group where they whip the minnows and they find themselves found out against bigger teams in semi finals like Monaghan last year.

Still yet to see a Meath underage team that has a load of X factor players that you could say are potential stars of the future. There are certainly some top players but whether they play for Meath and keep playing is anyone's guess"
The Gerry Reilly team last year lost in the final not the semi-final. And they lost by 1 point to Monaghan without Cian McBride, Conor Harford or Matthew Costello who were playing for the under 17's. Hardly found out. I agree with your premise that our underage success is still very incomplete. When we win 2 or 3 20's Leinsters then it's time to get excited. But if you are going to make the point at least be accurate

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 19/08/2018 14:47:16    2134402

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "The Gerry Reilly team last year lost in the final not the semi-final. And they lost by 1 point to Monaghan without Cian McBride, Conor Harford or Matthew Costello who were playing for the under 17's. Hardly found out. I agree with your premise that our underage success is still very incomplete. When we win 2 or 3 20's Leinsters then it's time to get excited. But if you are going to make the point at least be accurate"
The Gerry Reilly as far as Meath Development teams go is fast becoming a very underwhelming competition. Let's call a spade a spade . Hammering Louth tonight and getting to the final with the teams they have beaten hardly strikes of a competiton that is improving our county boys or giving an accurate reading of where we are at. They should ask Tyrone/Donegal/GALWAY and other big teams into it instead of having Meath whip the minnows around Leinster every year and they laud us getting to the final. They have beaten no one this year with a damm and play Longford in Final. Underwhelming is understatement

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 19/08/2018 20:56:42    2134516

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "The Gerry Reilly as far as Meath Development teams go is fast becoming a very underwhelming competition. Let's call a spade a spade . Hammering Louth tonight and getting to the final with the teams they have beaten hardly strikes of a competiton that is improving our county boys or giving an accurate reading of where we are at. They should ask Tyrone/Donegal/GALWAY and other big teams into it instead of having Meath whip the minnows around Leinster every year and they laud us getting to the final. They have beaten no one this year with a damm and play Longford in Final. Underwhelming is understatement"
Its Cavan in the final, i believe Cavan are extremely strong and hammered Dublin ??. You can only beat what is put in front of you

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 19/08/2018 22:53:13    2134574

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "The Gerry Reilly as far as Meath Development teams go is fast becoming a very underwhelming competition. Let's call a spade a spade . Hammering Louth tonight and getting to the final with the teams they have beaten hardly strikes of a competiton that is improving our county boys or giving an accurate reading of where we are at. They should ask Tyrone/Donegal/GALWAY and other big teams into it instead of having Meath whip the minnows around Leinster every year and they laud us getting to the final. They have beaten no one this year with a damm and play Longford in Final. Underwhelming is understatement"
I never said it was impressive. Just saying last years group got found out against Monaghan is completely wrong. I don't read much into an under 16 comp but don't throw nonsense out there to be fatalistic

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 20/08/2018 03:09:52    2134600

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I never said it was impressive. Just saying last years group got found out against Monaghan is completely wrong. I don't read much into an under 16 comp but don't throw nonsense out there to be fatalistic"
Yes the under 16's are fairly ok team and hopefully can win the Gerry Reilly this year . It is great for these young lads to get a few games experience at intercounty level and what is needed if they continue forward . Hopefully 2 or 3 lads will continue to develop and play senior intercounty level in the future

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 20/08/2018 10:14:58    2134639

There is potential, but potential is all it is. Let's hope. I'm looking forward to Conlon (cilles) joining up with seniors next year. And maybe one or two others to strengthen panel.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/08/2018 13:58:20    2134766

Another good indicator with the under 16's winning the Gerry Reilly Cup for the first time in 11 years. So hopefully a decent minor team again next year.

http://hoganstand.com/Meath/Article/Index/290163

Meath 2-14 Cavan 1-13

What a game the large and enthusiastic crowd were treated to in the Gerry Reilly Leinster U16 FT Cup Final played in Millbrook, Oldcastle on Sunday evening. The stage was set for a thrilling final and that's what we got.

Cavan's Daryl McGurren got the opening score with a lovely point. Meath's Cillian Hegarty pointed for Meath and Niall Finnerty and Barry Thompson followed up with pointed frees to put Meath ahead. Meath had the advantage of the wind, but Cavan were putting a lot of pressure on the Meath backs. Points from Daryl McGurren and Finntan O'Reilly (f) had the sides level again at 0-3 each.

In the 18th minute Niall Finnerty pointed from a free to put Meath up again. Meath were creating goal chances, but were thwarted by great saves from Cavan's 'keeper, Brian O'Rourke' The crucial score of the half was Evan Corrigan's goal that stretched Meath's lead, which helped them lead by 6 points at the break.

H/T: Meath 1-7 Cavan 0-4

A super goal to the Meath net by Finntan O'Reilly brought Cavan right back into it. It was nip and tuck between the sides with movements from one end of the field to the other at terrific pace.It was Evan Corrigan's second goal to give Meath the lead at 2-9 to 1-7 that gave Meath the initiative at this stage. Cavan never gave up and were putting a lot of pressure on the Meath backs. They did get the last 4 points to close the gap, but failed to get a needed goal to increase the pressure on Meath.

The game was a tribute to both sides and played at a hectic pace and great commitment and skill on display.

Leinster Chairperson, Jim Bolger, congratulated everybody involved on a very successful tournament. He paid tribute to the teams, mentors and the organisers of the tournament including the County Boards, Alan Mulhall (Leinster GAA Provincial Games Manager), Meath GAA and Jamie Queeney

Meath's Evan Corrigan was presented with the 'Man of the match' award by Martin Briody (Briody Bedding Limited - Sponsor) & Jim Bolger (Chairperson - Leinster GAA)

Meath's captain, Josh Carolan was also presented with the Gerry Reilly Leinster U16 FT Cup Trophy by Claire Reilly (Gerry's mother), Martin Briody (Briody Bedding Limited - Sponsor), Jim Bolger (Chairperson - Leinster GAA)

Scorers for Meath: Evan Corrigan (2-1), Niall Finnerty (0-6,3f), David Bell (0-3,3f), Barry Thompson (0-2,1f), Cillian Hegarty and Shane Smyth (0-1) each

Scorers for Cavan: Finntan O'Reilly (1-2,2f), Daryl McGurren(0-5,2f), Caoimhin McGovern (0-4,1f), Jack Mooney and Cian Farrelly (0-1) each

Meath: Dean Pluck (Ballinabrackey), Marc Donnelly (Ratoath), James McGovern (Drumbaragh), Harry Corscadden (Meath Hill), Harry Ryan (Ballinlough), Cillian Hegarty (Donaghamore/Ashbourne), Brian Cassidy (Kilmainhamwood), Josh Carolan (Simonstown)-(Capt), Endy Ehichoya (St Colmcilles), Evan Corrigan (Wolfe Tones), Pearse Sheridan (Oldcastle), Shane Smyth (Skryne), Niall Finnerty (Skryne), Barry Thompson (Ballinabrackey), Aaron Chinchilla (Simonstown). Subs: David Bell (St Colmcille's) for Donnelly, Marc Donnelly for Smyth, Aitzol King (St Patrick's), Darren Connell (Oldcastle), Evan Quinn (Donaghamore/Ashbourne) for Donnelly. Cian O'Farrell (Ratoath), Rodney Jones (Donaghamore/Ashbourne), Cian McGlynn (Carnaross), Jamie O'Shea (Summerhill), Jamie Browne (Donaghamore/Ashbourne), Oisin Miland (Duleek Bellewstown), Lee Walsh (Dunderry), Shane Carpenter (Syddan), Abdul Olaosebikan (St Patrick's), Ciaran McCarrick (Dunshaughlin), Peter Brennan (Trim), Cian Flynn (St Colmcille's),

Cavan: Brían O'Rourke (Ballyhaise), Cian Reilly (Killygarry), Paul McCabe (Killygarry), Eoin Galligan (Cavan Gaels), Owen Gibson (Mountnugent), James McCahill (Drumlane), Ross O'Gorman (Ballyhaise), Evan Kelly (Laragh), Matthew McGahern (Mullahoran), Colin McKiernan, (Ballyhaise), Jack Mooney, (Killygarry), Caoimhin McGovern (Shannon Gaels), Daryl McGurren (Drumlane), Finntán O'Reilly (Butlersbridge), Tiarnan Madden (Gowna). Subs: Luke Crosson (Killinkere) for Galligan, Nikodim McKiernan (Templeport) for Mooney, Cian Farrelly (Cootehill) for Gibson, Ben Mooney (Killygarry), Sean McEvoy (Ramor Utd) for McGurren, Jack Tully (Cavan Gaels) for McGahern, Peter Smith (Lavey) for O'Gorman, Niall Carolan (Cuchulainns) for McGahill, Alan Murray (Knockbride), Andrew Farrelly (Bailieborough), Colm O'Rourke (Laragh), Conor Maguire (Butlersbridge), Diarmuid Boylan (Gowna), Liam Corr (Mullahoran), Ned Brunton (Mountnugent), Cian Donohoe (Cuchulainns) Cian Hartin (Gowna), Conor Galligan (Templeport), Conor McCabe (Killygarry), Cormac Lynch (Killygarry), Cormac Smith (Ballyhaise), Daniel Ward (Drumgoon) Jamie Smith (Ballyhaise), Kevin McPhilips (Butlersbridge), Leon McGinnell (Denn), Liam Bannon (Templeport), Luke Donohoe (Templeport), Ronan Kiernan (Drumlane), Ryan Kellet (Ramor Utd), Ryan O'Reilly (Drung), Sean Óg Flynn (Dumlane) Shea Smith (Lavey), Tom Harten (Mullahoran) Adam Charters (Crosserlough) Conrad Cooney (Bailieborough), Ryan Stuart (Crosserlough) Paddy Matthews (Munterconnaught)

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 11/09/2018 14:43:11    2141025

I have seen the U-20's, U-17's and U-16's play this year and I am convinced that the wheel is slowly starting to turn again, but it needs to be kept in mind that we have an awful lot of ground to make up. Our U-20's were the only team to beat Kildare in the championship but on the other hand got destroyed against Dublin so while there is room for optimism we also have to be realistic because too often over the last 10 years it seemed that we were making progress only for an almighty setback.

I was in Millbrook on Sunday evening and I was very impressed by Meath; backs who attacked the ball and tackled without fouling, the half back line was the platform for a lot of scores. Up front everyone was comfortable to take a shot on and there was no shortage of individual talent either, Finnerty has huge potential, Bell starred for the minors this year, Corrigan got man of the match, Thompson has been excellent throughout the whole tournament and most importantly every player grafted and played for the team. Meath even brought a few players off the bench to good effect. It was obvious from the joy among the players afterwards that they are a close nit bunch who have put in a huge effort.

Huge credit must go to the mentors for having the team so well prepared, there was players from every corner of the county in the squad which shows the net has once again been cast wide, hopefully the management team continues on next year and we reclaim the leinster title and maybe even go all the way.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 467 - 11/09/2018 17:42:18    2141072

The Gerry Reilly cup might or might not be a good competition. Personally I think its great to see us getting to finals and especially winning. Fair play to all involved .It dose the confidence good. Getting to final last year I would say helped the minors to achieve what they did this year.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/09/2018 11:10:22    2141188

Yes and to illustrate this the ladies are in the AI final. Wish all the players and management the best- great achievement to even have got this far.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 15/09/2018 12:15:08    2141865