Meath V Tyrone

another big win tyrone against cork what might have been for Meath but we must use it as a positive and look forward to 2019

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 07/07/2018 18:46:56    2119394

We played a weakened Tyrone team but who knows if we had a more favourable draw like Monaghan got we could be on the verge of the S8's. Not that getting there before we're goid enough would do us any good.

Hopefully the new generation that seems to be of a higher quality will start feeding in to the seniors soon.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 07/07/2018 22:05:47    2119436

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "We played a weakened Tyrone team but who knows if we had a more favourable draw like Monaghan got we could be on the verge of the S8's. Not that getting there before we're goid enough would do us any good.

Hopefully the new generation that seems to be of a higher quality will start feeding in to the seniors soon."
we were very weakened ourselves look at all the players we lost from the start of the league, looking back on the year getting beating at home to cork was a very bad result look at how they were after we may have got to division one if we had won that

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 08/07/2018 11:44:39    2119553

I am not buying into ifs and buts here.

We lost to Longford and so, should never been in the position we faced.

Next year is vital however I feel we needed a positive 2018 to push on.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 08/07/2018 12:24:10    2119565

Replying To Royalio11:  "I am not buying into ifs and buts here.

Next year is vital however I feel we needed a positive 2018 to push on."
longford lost by a point to Kildare if we got as handy as games as some of them got in the back door we would still be in it we are not as far away as you think

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 08/07/2018 19:46:29    2119757

Replying To Royalio11:  "I am not buying into ifs and buts here.

Next year is vital however I feel we needed a positive 2018 to push on."
longford lost by a point to Kildare if we got as handy as games as some of them got in the back door we would still be in it we are not as far away as you think

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 08/07/2018 19:46:41    2119758

Replying To meath1977:  "another big win tyrone against cork what might have been for Meath but we must use it as a positive and look forward to 2019"
Agreed. While it's only speculation, I personally think we would have made the super 8s. Unfortunately wasn't to be for a few reasons, including bad officiating.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2018 21:23:21    2119798

Replying To meath1977:  "longford lost by a point to Kildare if we got as handy as games as some of them got in the back door we would still be in it we are not as far away as you think"
Totally agree.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2018 21:23:54    2119799

Replying To meath1977:  "longford lost by a point to Kildare if we got as handy as games as some of them got in the back door we would still be in it we are not as far away as you think"
I said I wasn't buying ifs and buts and your response is "if we got as handy as games"..what absolute nonsense!

"If" we beat Longford we would have come in to the qualifiers at a later stage. "But" we didnt, we lost to Longford and so it was our own path that we created.

"If" we pushed up on Tyrone in the 75th minute we wouldn't have let them walk up the pitch and score a levelling point to bring the game to extra time whereby "if" the ref gave the free we would have went to free kick shootout. "But" we lost.

Are you for real? All the teams who beat us in the league this year Cork; Tipperary; and Cavan are gone.

Longford got nowhere either..18 point hammering by Dublin - same team that beat us in Pearse Park.

Longford went on to lose by a point to a team who hadn't won a game in a full year (a team whos last victory was beating us by 9 points last season, the largest defeat ever suffered to Kildare), a team that lost to Carlow this year.

Seriously your logic is that we would have navigated the qualifiers "if" we got handy draws is just outrageous and cannot be backed up by any facts.

A reminder of our recent qualifier history - We have won 1 game (last year to Sligo) in the last 8 seasons.

There is nothing to suggest that Meath are just off competing in the Super 8s. Conversely there is lots to say that we are.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 09/07/2018 00:35:29    2119831

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agreed. While it's only speculation, I personally think we would have made the super 8s. Unfortunately wasn't to be for a few reasons, including bad officiating."
RD please stop ...........now your swimming against the overwhelming tide of facts , and looking at it with rose tinted glasses .....genuine supporters see it as it is and then look to discuss what can be done to better our lot .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 09/07/2018 09:51:10    2119883

Replying To meath1977:  "we were very weakened ourselves look at all the players we lost from the start of the league, looking back on the year getting beating at home to cork was a very bad result look at how they were after we may have got to division one if we had won that"
look at the players we lost ... Lets do that please ....look at the reasons why we lost them ........lets not say it was players putting club before County .... No Meath Footballer will walk from a County Setup just because the club wants them too , they would have had too much pride in the jersey to do it ..... there must have been other underlying reasons .......if you have a mass walk out of seasoned players from a County panel why do we just take that sort of thing on the chin.... We are not Dublin , we don't have 5 or 6 lads sitting in a dressing room to fill those empty bench positions and to maintain the level of strength in the panel .
If we have very ( recent) Former county players tearing up the club scene , but walking away from the County set up what does that mean ...... What's going wrong ......and WHY IS IT GOING WRONG .Ask the WHY's, and ignore those that will tell you that al is really well in Meath GAA .
And now don't go berating me because I am again raising the issue . we all need to be going in the one direction ( but that doesn't mean lying down and accepting the popular opinion because it is popular, it means if it isn't right , review and fix ) , we need the collective spirit that we became known for in the Boylan era , unfortunately anyone who attended Meath Matches this year will have seen a complete lack of that .
Watching Meath players ( team mates been bullied by opposing players ) left isolated by their fellow team mates is one indication that ALL IS NOT WELL in the team , no matter what is said or printed .You may not like your fellow team mate personally , but he is your team mate .... I recall 4 or 5 Longford players manhandling a Meath forward in Longford , while their team mates looked on.......
The above has happened on numerous occasions this year... Team collective ( Ha) ... in another era if that occurred and a Meath man was been bullied , numerous enforcers would have had a "word" in the bully's ear .... Are we as has been stated in the national Media gone too soft , .......
Passion and commitment is all fine and dandy from the side line ( in a controlled manner) , but if its missing on the park , losing your cool on front of your team is not going to raise their passion levels ...... it may however raise doubts in them selves as to their own abilities .
A serious review of where we are , at Club and Senior County level needs to be carried out . I believe Andy's position is up for review at present ,2/3 years gone hopefully this will be a forensic review , otherwise we are going to see the same of the same in 2019.

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 09/07/2018 10:12:07    2119894

Replying To Meath_True:  "look at the players we lost ... Lets do that please ....look at the reasons why we lost them ........lets not say it was players putting club before County .... No Meath Footballer will walk from a County Setup just because the club wants them too , they would have had too much pride in the jersey to do it ..... there must have been other underlying reasons .......if you have a mass walk out of seasoned players from a County panel why do we just take that sort of thing on the chin.... We are not Dublin , we don't have 5 or 6 lads sitting in a dressing room to fill those empty bench positions and to maintain the level of strength in the panel .
If we have very ( recent) Former county players tearing up the club scene , but walking away from the County set up what does that mean ...... What's going wrong ......and WHY IS IT GOING WRONG .Ask the WHY's, and ignore those that will tell you that al is really well in Meath GAA .
And now don't go berating me because I am again raising the issue . we all need to be going in the one direction ( but that doesn't mean lying down and accepting the popular opinion because it is popular, it means if it isn't right , review and fix ) , we need the collective spirit that we became known for in the Boylan era , unfortunately anyone who attended Meath Matches this year will have seen a complete lack of that .
Watching Meath players ( team mates been bullied by opposing players ) left isolated by their fellow team mates is one indication that ALL IS NOT WELL in the team , no matter what is said or printed .You may not like your fellow team mate personally , but he is your team mate .... I recall 4 or 5 Longford players manhandling a Meath forward in Longford , while their team mates looked on.......
The above has happened on numerous occasions this year... Team collective ( Ha) ... in another era if that occurred and a Meath man was been bullied , numerous enforcers would have had a "word" in the bully's ear .... Are we as has been stated in the national Media gone too soft , .......
Passion and commitment is all fine and dandy from the side line ( in a controlled manner) , but if its missing on the park , losing your cool on front of your team is not going to raise their passion levels ...... it may however raise doubts in them selves as to their own abilities .
A serious review of where we are , at Club and Senior County level needs to be carried out . I believe Andy's position is up for review at present ,2/3 years gone hopefully this will be a forensic review , otherwise we are going to see the same of the same in 2019."
Kildare people were calling for cian o neill s head when they lost to Carlow now look where they are and cian is a great lad . mod got 4 years give andy the same its not always the manager fault players need to take a look at themselves too.kildare are the perfect example of giving managers time we need to do the same

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 09/07/2018 12:11:21    2119951

Replying To meath1977:  "the only bright thing about it that's it's in navan probably the last game in navan before they do it up we always have a slim chance there"
I can go along with that but it is possible that some players don't want to give the commitment that is needed but we need to find out the reason why players are walking away and address the issue

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/07/2018 12:22:01    2119957

Replying To thecraw1:  "Kildare people were calling for cian o neill s head when they lost to Carlow now look where they are and cian is a great lad . mod got 4 years give andy the same its not always the manager fault players need to take a look at themselves too.kildare are the perfect example of giving managers time we need to do the same"
if its yellow , and walks like a duck , & quacks like a duck , then in all probability it is a Duck ..... how much longer do we need to sit on the fence and hope that there is an improvement .....If we don't change , then how do we see an improvement . fair play to Andy for his side line commitment .... but ....
I watched the Tyrone match from the terraces , we ( Meath) sprinted with the ball out of defence , and then ground to a halt on their 45 , we started moving laterally ,then backwards ,then back up to their 45,and took the ball into contact , got turned over , tried to play catch up ( time and time again) , but the ball was already with their forwards who time and time again scored from inside our 45 .... on the terrace side , they could do it , so why couldn't we.

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 09/07/2018 13:30:01    2119985

Replying To Meath_True:  "look at the players we lost ... Lets do that please ....look at the reasons why we lost them ........lets not say it was players putting club before County .... No Meath Footballer will walk from a County Setup just because the club wants them too , they would have had too much pride in the jersey to do it ..... there must have been other underlying reasons .......if you have a mass walk out of seasoned players from a County panel why do we just take that sort of thing on the chin.... We are not Dublin , we don't have 5 or 6 lads sitting in a dressing room to fill those empty bench positions and to maintain the level of strength in the panel .
A serious review of where we are , at Club and Senior County level needs to be carried out . I believe Andy's position is up for review at present ,2/3 years gone hopefully this will be a forensic review , otherwise we are going to see the same of the same in 2019."
Agreed 100%...........It is time for County Board to take charge now. Delegates who refuse to accept that all will be ok if we do nothing should talk now. I would expect that coaching standards would be on the top of any agenda. Actual coaching in all aspects of the modern game is a must now. In doing so that may also answer the question of why so many players leaving the panel. etc. Accepting of course that some players have perfectly valid reasons for leaving that have nothing to do with poor coaching or man/management . I would prefer to see us grasp the nettle now rather than indulge in the usual hackneyed false optimism where the usual excuses of "ifs" and "buts" . We are always the "victim" ,.such bullshit offers nothing.
County Board be pro active.....accept the reality . We have to take stock ,implement an action plan to address the critical areas where we a way short in last few years. It has to be accepted that it will take courage,vision and time. but at least that is better than continuing as we are ,and hoping things will come good....they wont !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 09/07/2018 13:40:51    2119991

Sorry to disappoint you, but Andy's position isn't up for review till next year.
The one problem I would have for next year is if Andy takes any of the prima donnas who thought themselves too precious to put in the effort for the county , back into panel. Don't let the door hit yous on way out lads. Good riddance.
Andy needs to be strong on this , they must not think they can just show up, cause the girls (or guys) at the palace have forgotten they were on Meath team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2018 19:35:50    2120149

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry to disappoint you, but Andy's position isn't up for review till next year.
The one problem I would have for next year is if Andy takes any of the prima donnas who thought themselves too precious to put in the effort for the county , back into panel. Don't let the door hit yous on way out lads. Good riddance.
Andy needs to be strong on this , they must not think they can just show up, cause the girls (or guys) at the palace have forgotten they were on Meath team."
That would be one of the critical questions for Co Board review Why they left ? I assume they would gather information from objective assessment from relevant sources rather than speculation.Anyway, the main point on that issue is to get the right answer. Also the exercise would also assist with establishing what needs and help Andy requires . No doubt ANY manager who may replace him will need help if that happens. My view assist the man in situ now. In simple fit the man to the job NOT the job to the man.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 09/07/2018 20:49:14    2120177

Replying To thecraw1:  "Kildare people were calling for cian o neill s head when they lost to Carlow now look where they are and cian is a great lad . mod got 4 years give andy the same its not always the manager fault players need to take a look at themselves too.kildare are the perfect example of giving managers time we need to do the same"
the craw1 , its the Managers job to get the guys to play for the jersey to the best of their ability , it's his job to man manage the players, to facilitate and to ensure the environment is as need to perform . It's also beneficial if controlled aggression can be displayed at all times ..... Are you telling me the fact that large numbers of our so called top players in the County no longer want to play for the County is because there's too much required of them .... Are you telling me that the current set up is asking way more of them that the previous two managers had .... I doubt that ... I doubt seriously that those guys walked because there not up to doing the hard miles this year.
We need a comprehensive analysis of what's. happened , and we need to put in place a fix that will encourage players to give their all for the jersey. We need to get the truth on the exodus for the panel .
from every one of the players , no matter how personal it is . I'm sure the players would like to have their say . And if there men enough to speak to the media , then a round table discussion isn't going to phase them ,

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 10/07/2018 12:43:05    2120350

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry to disappoint you, but Andy's position isn't up for review till next year.
Andy needs to be strong on this , they must not think they can just show up, cause the girls (or guys) at the palace have forgotten they were on Meath team."
you are incorrect RD , the aforementioned review was discussed at the County Board meeting . recently

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 10/07/2018 12:44:04    2120351