Donegal GAA thread

The issue is not the website itself. If anyone remembers when it was released it was really good. The issue is that there obviously is no admin side to the website or if there is a poor one. There should be a way to successfully update the pages without making it a mess. There also needs to be a dedicated tech savy person updating the website.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 29/11/2022 20:44:17    2449097

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "The issue is not the website itself. If anyone remembers when it was released it was really good. The issue is that there obviously is no admin side to the website or if there is a poor one. There should be a way to successfully update the pages without making it a mess. There also needs to be a dedicated tech savy person updating the website."
The functionality is brutal but could be fixed handily enough. Just one example is in the Competitions section. You can filter it by Adults/Juvenile, Football/Hurling and Year. But why not add more filters like county/club. Or even break it out into separate categories for county and club altogether. The way it is currently, if I go to Fixtures & Results, and apply Adult -> Football -> 2022 I get a whole host of competitions. It should be much easier to filter and narrow down the competition you're looking for.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9134 - 30/11/2022 09:34:05    2449110

Replying To AudiMan:  "Great to see Mc Gonigle going for chair."
Spoke to Paul McGonigle at the coaching day up at St Michaels last Saturday (Cresslough fundraiser). Very passionate about Donegal and he seems willing to take on a tough job. Donegal isn't going to be the force that it has the past decade and things will get worse before they get better. But from speaking to him, I would be confident he will do his best to get the "rebuild" off to a good start.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 30/11/2022 14:34:44    2449158

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Spoke to Paul McGonigle at the coaching day up at St Michaels last Saturday (Cresslough fundraiser). Very passionate about Donegal and he seems willing to take on a tough job. Donegal isn't going to be the force that it has the past decade and things will get worse before they get better. But from speaking to him, I would be confident he will do his best to get the "rebuild" off to a good start."
Fully agree, Paul is a very astute and intelligent man. I think (and hope) he will serve the County very well...

In another note, how was the coaching day up there? I was intending to go but couldn't in the end up. Maxi and James rarely do things by half

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 30/11/2022 14:54:22    2449165

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "Fully agree, Paul is a very astute and intelligent man. I think (and hope) he will serve the County very well...

In another note, how was the coaching day up there? I was intending to go but couldn't in the end up. Maxi and James rarely do things by half"
Excellent. Chrissy McKaigue took minors for a session and we watched it, interesting the way explained marking in the current game...
Michael Gerad Doherty from Belfast gave us a great few ideas about session plans for very young groups.
Mick bohane was good craic and again went through different drills to improve skill and accuracy... Enjoyable day but it was long. 9 am to 5pm...

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 30/11/2022 15:08:26    2449166

With this new season, what importance does Ulster and league have? Do ee need to put more priority on these competitions this year? Or are we basically guaranteed to make the championship group stage no matter what?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 30/11/2022 16:49:50    2449178

Replying To TheRock2121:  "With this new season, what importance does Ulster and league have? Do ee need to put more priority on these competitions this year? Or are we basically guaranteed to make the championship group stage no matter what?"
All Ireland : The 4 provincial champions
The 4 beaten provincial finalists
The 7 next-ranked teams, based on final position in the 2023 National Football League + Westmeath (Tailteann Cup)
In my opinion,
Donegal are not going to make it the a provincial final. They have a very tough league campaign ahead, Donegal's three home games is Kerry, Galway and Mayo....Donegal may get relegated to Div2 next year.
The only help is that Dublin will win Leinster and they will most likely go up with Derry to Div 1, so even if Donegal were to be relegated they should be in the All Ireland. I think it's a very long shot that Donegal could be playing Tailteann Cup next year but it is possible.
I think Donegal supporters need to get ready for a few years of rebuilding...I hope I am wrong

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 30/11/2022 17:22:17    2449182

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "All Ireland : The 4 provincial champions
The 4 beaten provincial finalists
The 7 next-ranked teams, based on final position in the 2023 National Football League + Westmeath (Tailteann Cup)
In my opinion,
Donegal are not going to make it the a provincial final. They have a very tough league campaign ahead, Donegal's three home games is Kerry, Galway and Mayo....Donegal may get relegated to Div2 next year.
The only help is that Dublin will win Leinster and they will most likely go up with Derry to Div 1, so even if Donegal were to be relegated they should be in the All Ireland. I think it's a very long shot that Donegal could be playing Tailteann Cup next year but it is possible.
I think Donegal supporters need to get ready for a few years of rebuilding...I hope I am wrong"
Donegal will not be playing in the Tailtean Cup next year and I would be very surprised if they don't keep their Div1 status given how important the league is in the current system.Provincial championships will be very important for teams lower in the league system.I am curious to know how you think Donegal will deteriorate so much.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 30/11/2022 17:36:47    2449185

Whats gone wrong for St Eunans college two tankings that doesnt bode well for the future.A lot of hype has been generated about them the amount of training sessions a premier league team wouldnt do as much.Time to move down a grade imo.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 30/11/2022 18:11:09    2449188

Replying To gunman:  "Donegal will not be playing in the Tailtean Cup next year and I would be very surprised if they don't keep their Div1 status given how important the league is in the current system.Provincial championships will be very important for teams lower in the league system.I am curious to know how you think Donegal will deteriorate so much."
1. Michael Murphy is gone. That will be a massive loss to the panel. Who is going to fill the void as leader of the Team? He is the greatest Number 14 I have ever seen kick a football, a superb leader from the day they lost the u21 final to Dublin in 2010 to his last game. He is going to be a massive loss to Donegal next year

2. Donegal aren't the force they once were. Tyrone, Armagh and Derry are the Top/ Up & Coming teams in Ulster. Donegal, Monaghan and Cavan are a bit behind and then you have Down, Fermanagh and Antrim in the third tier of counties way back... Donegal need to regroup and focus on getting back to the top tier, living in the past thinking everything is grand will end up with Donegal in the third group of Ulster counties

3. There is a lack of talent coming through. Hopefully Oisin Gallen will step up to the mark but after him what new forwards in the county could you call on ?

4. There is too many new faces in the backroom team.... There will be teething issues, there always is, but the late appointment of Paddy Carr didn't help. Most of the new managers have had one to two months extra preparation time to get ready for national league.

I am not just trying to wind people up, I a just calling it as I see it. P.S I could have thrown in the rumors of the certain players that are supposedly not playing this year, but until that's confirmed it should be ignored.
Again as I said in my last post....I hope I am wrong and it's only my opinion, opinions are like ****holes everyone has one and some are louder than others!

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 30/11/2022 18:58:10    2449191

Replying To gunman:  "Donegal will not be playing in the Tailtean Cup next year and I would be very surprised if they don't keep their Div1 status given how important the league is in the current system.Provincial championships will be very important for teams lower in the league system.I am curious to know how you think Donegal will deteriorate so much."
One big problem we have is who is going to get the scores. Murphy is gone. Paddy mcbrearty and Jamie brennan have had injury problems and aren't close to the levels they were at a few years ago. Oisin Gallen is injury prone, might not even be around.. Apart from them, we have no marquee forward who will get scores against the top sides week in week out. People like langan, Thompson etc are too inconsistent and we dont have a proven right footed free taker any more. Others might chip in with a few points in games here. The younger guys coming in are still unproven. Add that to the fact that we aren't great defensively and it doesn't look too promising. People need to be realistic and accept that we don't have quality of players we had a few years ago. Not one of the current team would get into the 2012 all ireland winning starting team.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 30/11/2022 20:07:37    2449194

Now is the Winter of our discontent, Murphy gone, squad in disarray, incompetent county board, barren times ahead.
Tough job for the new management, Bonner can count himself lucky he got shown the door.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 30/11/2022 21:12:23    2449200

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Now is the Winter of our discontent, Murphy gone, squad in disarray, incompetent county board, barren times ahead.
Tough job for the new management, Bonner can count himself lucky he got shown the door."
Bonner went on his own accord certain players wanted him to stay on. I said all along he should have gave it one more year. Hope to see all the fair weather supporters back out this year. But I doubt it

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 01/12/2022 09:43:32    2449206

In the summer we had a great bunch of talented players that were being held back by poor management according to most posters and now suddenly we have nobody any good and are doomed.What a fickle bunch we are.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 01/12/2022 10:32:19    2449211

I think that we'll always have talented footballers in Donegal and can be a competitive top ten team. But the near annual trips to Clones for Ulster final day might be a thing of the past in the short term at least. Our u21 team last year could and maybe should have beaten Tyrone, who ended up going all the way. A period of transition easing younger players into the senior setup may mean some painful defeats. So fans may need to temper their expectations a bit and have some patience.

A lot of people, myself included, have called for a difference in our style of play. This will not happen without teething problems either. We'll just have to see what kind of squad Paddy Carr will have at his disposal before making any grand predictions but I think the 15 listed below could still compete at a high enough level...

1. Patton
2. McMenamin
3. McCole
4. Curran / McFadden-Ferry (injury doubt)
5. MacCeallbhuí
6. Eoghan Ban
7. E O'Donnell
8. Langan
9. J McGee/Mc Gonagle
10. Mogan
11. Thompson
12. R McHugh/S O'Donnell
13. McBrearty
14. N O'Donnell
15. Gallen

Also have the likes of Brennan, H McFadden, Ward, C O'Donnell and some of last year's u21s to flesh out the squad.

But - as I said earlier, lets wait and see who is in the actual squad come the McKenna Cup and league.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9134 - 01/12/2022 12:26:11    2449225

Replying To gunman:  "In the summer we had a great bunch of talented players that were being held back by poor management according to most posters and now suddenly we have nobody any good and are doomed.What a fickle bunch we are."
We still have a very talented squad in my view but the loss of Murphy and all the rumours swirling about things in the background doesn't make me optimistic for the next year.

Every county in Ireland would suffer seriously in losing someone like Murphy so if we avoid relegation and have a good crack at things in championship while hopefully bringing in a new style and blooding some new players I'd be delighted.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 01/12/2022 15:14:54    2449250

Replying To rorysboys:  "Any word on the players drafted in or the final piece in the management set up. A lot of outsiders if you can believe what's being said. At the end of the day bar Murphy and a few others most of the same players will be there. It's vital that we stay in division one and hopefully gave Ulster a rattle.. any comment lads what's the goal."
Its really hard to answer that question on expectations for next year when we aren't sure what squad will be available to Paddy Carr next year. I would love if we could play a more positive brand of football with some kick passing. I know that will be difficult to implement given how club football is played within the county.

A good year for me would be to retain Division one status and reach the All Ireland quarter final. A good run in Ulster would be a great bonus but feel it will be more important to reach the latter stage of the All Ireland series given the new format. If we were more positive in our approach and changed our style of football that will serve us better in the long run.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 01/12/2022 15:36:07    2449254

The CCCC has set out the schedule for next year's Sam Maguire Cup last 16 group stages. The four provincial winners and four runners-up will have home advantage in the opening round against the third and fourth ranked teams based on their league finishes respectively. In the second round, the provincial victors, who are top seeds, travel to the lowest ranked team and the runners-up head to the third ranked side. In the final round to be played at neutral venues, the provincial winners face the provincial runners-up and the No3 seeds take on the No4 seeds.
opening rounds will take place on the weekend of May 20/21.
Munster Champions to be in group with Connaught Runner up. And vice versa.
Ulster Champions to be in group with Leinster Runner up. And Vice versa.

Munster / Connaught Finals played weekend of May 6 / 7
Leinster / Ulster Finals played weekend of May 13/14.

Interesting

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 01/12/2022 15:42:22    2449257

Does anyone know who is in/out or who is being looked at currently?

Rumor mill is in full flight...

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 01/12/2022 16:38:39    2449263

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "Does anyone know who is in/out or who is being looked at currently?

Rumor mill is in full flight..."
No opt outs anyway from what I'm hearing (from a source within the panel).

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 01/12/2022 19:58:45    2449288