2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why are you hoping Clare beat Kilkenny?"
A few reasons for me. I lived right on the Galway/Clare border and have friends and relatives both sides. Clare have won far less than Kilkenny. Something different. New blood in a sense. Would love a Galway v Clare AI. Having said all that I have nothing but admiration for what Kilkenny has done in hurling. From the schools all the way up to Seniors your consistency is amazing!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 29/06/2022 19:51:19    2428731

Replying To F4:  "There goals goals in Coady and Reid. Would expect Kilkenny to win 7-8 points."
A fine analysis.

Lads ill give ye a tip. Shane O Donnell MOM. If Clare win which is odds on and Davyd Fitz is on the panel you can bet your house SOD will man of the match and there is great value in 12/1

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 30/06/2022 10:22:59    2428759

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why are you hoping Clare beat Kilkenny?"
The Clare crowd are a bit of fun, and you can have the craic with them; bodhrans,music, color, etc.

The KK crowd are a bore fest. Most don't travel most of the time. Then straight down the road home once the final whistle is blown. Perishing lot, indeed.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 30/06/2022 12:04:02    2428786

Replying To Trump2020:  "A few reasons for me. I lived right on the Galway/Clare border and have friends and relatives both sides. Clare have won far less than Kilkenny. Something different. New blood in a sense. Would love a Galway v Clare AI. Having said all that I have nothing but admiration for what Kilkenny has done in hurling. From the schools all the way up to Seniors your consistency is amazing!"
I live on the Galway / Clare border too but even though more Galway people would support Clare than not support them the opposite is true of Clare people supporting Galway as I have found them to be jealous and bad-minded of any Galway success such as an AI.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 30/06/2022 12:49:23    2428797

Replying To tommy k:  "I live on the Galway / Clare border too but even though more Galway people would support Clare than not support them the opposite is true of Clare people supporting Galway as I have found them to be jealous and bad-minded of any Galway success such as an AI."
Have you ever thought that by knowing YOU they are turned off Galway for life?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 30/06/2022 14:16:25    2428833

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "A fine analysis.

Lads ill give ye a tip. Shane O Donnell MOM. If Clare win which is odds on and Davyd Fitz is on the panel you can bet your house SOD will man of the match and there is great value in 12/1"
Tip top. Who is this new lad Coady?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 30/06/2022 14:19:54    2428835

Replying To tommy k:  "I live on the Galway / Clare border too but even though more Galway people would support Clare than not support them the opposite is true of Clare people supporting Galway as I have found them to be jealous and bad-minded of any Galway success such as an AI."
Are you sure your not Tommy L....as in a Tommy Larkins man! Woodford isn't far from Scariff lol

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 30/06/2022 14:40:32    2428840

Tipp have a reputation for being cocky but i've never seen as many posters "confident" their team will win handy on Sunday! Some of my posts dont even make it on the forum yet a good chunk of whats let on here is pure rubbish!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/06/2022 14:59:54    2428845

Replying To tiobraid:  "Tipp have a reputation for being cocky but i've never seen as many posters "confident" their team will win handy on Sunday! Some of my posts dont even make it on the forum yet a good chunk of whats let on here is pure rubbish!"
It's a MUNSTER thing. Shame there are no emojis on this lol!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 30/06/2022 15:16:13    2428854

Replying To Viking66:  "It's a MUNSTER thing. Shame there are no emojis on this lol!"
Maybe but it seems to be a Munster, Leinster and Cannacht thing the past couple of weeks! In fact Limerick posters and nearly the least bullish!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/07/2022 08:20:44    2428924

Replying To tiobraid:  "Tipp have a reputation for being cocky but i've never seen as many posters "confident" their team will win handy on Sunday! Some of my posts dont even make it on the forum yet a good chunk of whats let on here is pure rubbish!"
I think you'll see tiobraid most of the posts for Sunday are Galway posters writing off their own team rather than over confident Limerick people. I think Limerick have had a couple of tasty league games with Galway the last 2 years and the team will be raring to go and well tuned in for this game.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 01/07/2022 08:35:53    2428925

Replying To foreveryoung:  "The Clare crowd are a bit of fun, and you can have the craic with them; bodhrans,music, color, etc.

The KK crowd are a bore fest. Most don't travel most of the time. Then straight down the road home once the final whistle is blown. Perishing lot, indeed."
There is nothing worse at a GAA match than a lad showing up behind you with a bodhran. You are going to listen to this insufferable din for 2 hours from some Johnny-come-lately who wouldn't be able to tell you who the county champions are.
Give me the Kilkenny crowd over the nouveau riche bandwagon associated with any other newly successful county at any given time. Say what you want the Kilkenny support are if nothing else knowledgeable about the game. Every other county has a core support through good and bad and then a massive bandwagon when times get good.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 01/07/2022 08:56:53    2428927

Replying To tiobraid:  "Maybe but it seems to be a Munster, Leinster and Cannacht thing the past couple of weeks! In fact Limerick posters and nearly the least bullish!"
Limerick are in the comfort zone. They know their name is on the cup and there is no need to be bullish.
Having a hurler of the year coming back, having beaten all and sundry without him. They are going to walk it from here and the only question is which of Kilkenny or Clare will they comfortably beat in the final.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 01/07/2022 09:54:56    2428936

Replying To updwell:  "I think you'll see tiobraid most of the posts for Sunday are Galway posters writing off their own team rather than over confident Limerick people. I think Limerick have had a couple of tasty league games with Galway the last 2 years and the team will be raring to go and well tuned in for this game."
There's lads talking about hat tricks and player of the year awards as well though!

Anyway, whats the rumours in Limerick? Will Lynch start and will Casey see game time? If its a tight game I can't see Casey seeing any game time but i could be wrong. I dont remember any player coming back and playing any part this late in a cship campaign after such a long lay off. Having done the injury myself - regardless of what training is done its very hard just to forget about the knee and play freely in the first few games back.

I think all four teams will line out close to what they have done - with KK likely being the one that mayhave 3-4 changes. Clare have plenty of options and opportunity to change things up but probably won't. Be interested to see if Duggan can spring into life. I have a feeling he will getthe better of Lawlor. I'd also be slightly worried about Carey and Reid in the half backline...they'll need plenty of cover there. From a Clare perspective I think Hayes and Quilligan could be targeted by Kilkenny.
Two very intriguing games.

In my biased opinion the big game of the weekend is the minor final. Promises to be a great spectacle with two really strong teams and could be a high scoring game. Wouldnt rule out a draw.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/07/2022 10:04:28    2428937

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Limerick are in the comfort zone. They know their name is on the cup and there is no need to be bullish.
Having a hurler of the year coming back, having beaten all and sundry without him. They are going to walk it from here and the only question is which of Kilkenny or Clare will they comfortably beat in the final."
I wont be disagreeing with that unfortunately. However, from a neutral perspective I really hope we havent another one sided final. Clare-Limerick have drawn 3 times this year (70 mins) so I'll hold onto that hope even if I do think Limerick will have two comfortable wins from here.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/07/2022 10:06:32    2428938

Replying To tiobraid:  "I wont be disagreeing with that unfortunately. However, from a neutral perspective I really hope we havent another one sided final. Clare-Limerick have drawn 3 times this year (70 mins) so I'll hold onto that hope even if I do think Limerick will have two comfortable wins from here."
Tiobraid, look back over the years. I remember as a young lad in '64 and '65 Tipp absolutely hockeying Cork in both Munster Finals and also destroying KK and Wexford in the two Finals. Who would have thought that Tipp would win just one All Ireland in the next 22 seasons- and were fortunate to win that one. When Cork destroyed Waterford by record margins in '82 and '83 who would have thought they would lose both Finals. There is absolutely no guarantee Limerick will win the All Ireland this year though they are favourites.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 01/07/2022 10:48:40    2428947

Replying To tiobraid:  "There's lads talking about hat tricks and player of the year awards as well though!

Anyway, whats the rumours in Limerick? Will Lynch start and will Casey see game time? If its a tight game I can't see Casey seeing any game time but i could be wrong. I dont remember any player coming back and playing any part this late in a cship campaign after such a long lay off. Having done the injury myself - regardless of what training is done its very hard just to forget about the knee and play freely in the first few games back.

I think all four teams will line out close to what they have done - with KK likely being the one that mayhave 3-4 changes. Clare have plenty of options and opportunity to change things up but probably won't. Be interested to see if Duggan can spring into life. I have a feeling he will getthe better of Lawlor. I'd also be slightly worried about Carey and Reid in the half backline...they'll need plenty of cover there. From a Clare perspective I think Hayes and Quilligan could be targeted by Kilkenny.
Two very intriguing games.

In my biased opinion the big game of the weekend is the minor final. Promises to be a great spectacle with two really strong teams and could be a high scoring game. Wouldnt rule out a draw."
Winner on the day?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 01/07/2022 11:04:19    2428950

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Limerick are in the comfort zone. They know their name is on the cup and there is no need to be bullish.
Having a hurler of the year coming back, having beaten all and sundry without him. They are going to walk it from here and the only question is which of Kilkenny or Clare will they comfortably beat in the final."
I seriously doubt John Keily would have Limerick in a comfort zone. If they are they will be beat in the final.

2019 semi was a prime example of this. They were the best team in Ireland that year by a mile but believed their hype walking out the tunnel in Croke Park that day v KK.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 01/07/2022 11:27:40    2428958

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Tiobraid, look back over the years. I remember as a young lad in '64 and '65 Tipp absolutely hockeying Cork in both Munster Finals and also destroying KK and Wexford in the two Finals. Who would have thought that Tipp would win just one All Ireland in the next 22 seasons- and were fortunate to win that one. When Cork destroyed Waterford by record margins in '82 and '83 who would have thought they would lose both Finals. There is absolutely no guarantee Limerick will win the All Ireland this year though they are favourites."
There is no guarantee of anything in sport, but I can say I don't think anybody will be within 5 points of them and if you add in Casey and Lynch I don't think anybody will be within 10.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 01/07/2022 11:45:02    2428965

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I seriously doubt John Keily would have Limerick in a comfort zone. If they are they will be beat in the final.

2019 semi was a prime example of this. They were the best team in Ireland that year by a mile but believed their hype walking out the tunnel in Croke Park that day v KK."
How are people still going on about this? That Limerick team wasnt a patch on todays team (although they are the same players). They are completely different animals these days. They were highly inconsistent that year and lost half of their championship games and their shooting was highly erratic. That kk team on paper was not a bad team at all. Tipp lost one of 8 championship games that year and to the best of my knowledge no other team have won 7 games to win an all ireland - although I stand to be corrected on that one. Tipp scored 16 goals in the championship that year and ran up huge scores in most of those games (30+ points in 6 of them). Only for a slightly surprise win for an underperforming Clare in the final group game Limerick would have not even reached that Munster final.
In that semi final, Hannon, Hegarty, O'Donoughue, Tom M and P Casey were all taken off - Hannon being the only one injured if memory serves me correctly. Those changes alone show that Limerick were certainly not the superpower then that they are now. They were far more inconsistent back then and didnt deserve to win that All Ireland by a long shot. The KK team that beat them that day were a team full of winners and it was not the ambush many seem to think it was.

Ps. you succeeded in riling me up. well done!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/07/2022 12:38:35    2428980