Time To Allow Crowds In

Think everyone knows the one poster who has ruined this discussion with all the repeating and then some snide remarks towards others..that's me finished on this discussion and I hope others now do the same..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2202 - 20/06/2021 11:31:42    2352124

Replying To lilylanger:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "If you find it difficult to see who said what on here, please forgive me for expecting you to be able to analyze data.

Case rested.
"
Rude."
No, not rude at all, just putting these Covid deniers and know all's in their box, if they lost someone because of it they might change their tune. Time to stop mollycoddling these people in one breath and wondering why we've not fully opened up yet.

My posts re. Covid are backed up by science, not some "gut feeling" crap.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/06/2021 12:22:43    2352139

With the attitudes and I'll be honest plain ignorance demonstrated on here by many of you in relation to Covid all I'll say is that it's no wonder the country is fast becoming a mollycoddled laughing stock.

Some fella mentioned smart comments, while ironically making one himself and contributing f all apart from dismissing facts.

If you can't understand how to analyze data or use common sense that's fine, but don't try and put down factual information that's there to help everyone by being out and out ignorant, have the courtesy to at least listen and debate if you wish, instead of popping in with one line grunts.

Have a bit of manners instead of reinforcing the typical sleeveen gah man stereotype, smarten up lads.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/06/2021 13:26:37    2352149

Replying To AfricanGael:  "With the attitudes and I'll be honest plain ignorance demonstrated on here by many of you in relation to Covid all I'll say is that it's no wonder the country is fast becoming a mollycoddled laughing stock.

Some fella mentioned smart comments, while ironically making one himself and contributing f all apart from dismissing facts.

If you can't understand how to analyze data or use common sense that's fine, but don't try and put down factual information that's there to help everyone by being out and out ignorant, have the courtesy to at least listen and debate if you wish, instead of popping in with one line grunts.

Have a bit of manners instead of reinforcing the typical sleeveen gah man stereotype, smarten up lads.
"
On the one hand you're chastising us for being ignorant and immature, while in the last sentence you effectively admit that you buy into stereotypes. Great move.

I don't know anyone who died from covid. I know a fair few people who tested positive, and not one of them had any trouble recovering from it, most barely noticed anything, death rates were inflated, deliberately, anyone with even a passing knowledge of Dr Holohans career wouldn't trust him as far as they could throw him.
What kind of an idiot would not be even a wee bit sceptical?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1693 - 20/06/2021 16:45:13    2352177

Replying To Galway9801:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "With the attitudes and I'll be honest plain ignorance demonstrated on here by many of you in relation to Covid all I'll say is that it's no wonder the country is fast becoming a mollycoddled laughing stock.

"
On the one hand you're chastising us for being ignorant and immature, while in the last sentence you effectively admit that you buy into stereotypes. Great move.

I don't know anyone who died from covid. I know a fair few people who tested positive, and not one of them had any trouble recovering from it, most barely noticed anything, death rates were inflated, deliberately, anyone with even a passing knowledge of Dr Holohans career wouldn't trust him as far as they could throw him.
What kind of an idiot would not be even a wee bit sceptical?"
You see that's your problem, you don't like Dr Holohan so you'll do your bit to discredit anything he says. Typical Irish mentality.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/06/2021 18:02:49    2352194

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To lionofludesch:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "Nobody would have been sick if we wiped Covid out and had closed the borders, that's the whole point."
But we didn't wipe it out, it's been here since February 2020 and at no stage did we come close to wiping it out.
If the news papers and media were to be believed, even one infected person walking around freely could end up with half the country testing positive within a month, unless they were exaggerating (perish the thought).
So yeah, we'll put the internal holidaying in the "maybe" pile."
You're incorrect there, we were down to single digit cases around this time last year, so yes it was nearly wiped out. It was open borders which drove the numbers through the roof."]Single digit figures, as in positive cases? Or deaths?
No way was it positive cases. There was never a time throughout the pandemic that we were told we should be anything but terrified, who am I to believe, you, or the msm? (well, probably you in fairness lol)
If it was open borders, then why were people blaming the GAA celebrations for it?"]June 28th 2020, number of new cases reported in Ireland: (1), yes one."]Weren't the icu wards stretched to their very limit then? Nurses etc under intense pressure?
Also, 50% of cases are asymptomatic, apparently? So there's no way of telling how many cases there are.
We'll somethings not adding up anyway."]You're right to say that there's no way to tell exactly how many cases there were or are but I think you would agree that the numbers in hospital and the number of known cases gives some indication of how rampant community infection is and especially if the patients are spread all over the country. "]You're drawing far too many conclusions from unreliable data."]What's more reliable than data, gut feeling ? :-). "]While I agree with some of what you say, I do not agree with the theory that we could have closed off the County completely. There is no evidence to suggest that a small open economy with an open land border to another country could have possibly achieved this. To say otherwise is to do the same as you accuse others on here of, not relying on the facts. In addition the countries that have gone for zero covid, how do they get out of the bind they have put themselves into. This virus will perhaps now never be killed off but these countries have to go back to normal

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 22/06/2021 09:08:24    2352529

"

I have to agree with you on Dr Holohan his only tactic to battle covid is lockdown the country it seems. I would have empathy for his own personal situation during the pandemic that must have being very hard on him but people seem to forget his handling of cervical smear scandal. This over-zealous praise bestowed on him by the national media is a bit much, I think Niall Boylan described it perfectly when he said RTE will have him on Dancing with the stars when this is all over.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 22/06/2021 11:14:00    2352561

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "
Replying To Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "With the attitudes and I'll be honest plain ignorance demonstrated on here by many of you in relation to Covid all I'll say is that it's no wonder the country is fast becoming a mollycoddled laughing stock.

"

I have to agree with you on Dr Holohan his only tactic to battle covid is lockdown the country it seems. I would have empathy for his own personal situation during the pandemic that must have being very hard on him but people seem to forget his handling of cervical smear scandal. This over-zealous praise bestowed on him by the national media is a bit much, I think Niall Boylan described it perfectly when he said RTE will have him on Dancing with the stars when this is all over."]He's an abomination, typical delusional civil servant that this country is built on, shocking.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 22/06/2021 20:25:13    2352703

"

Has Hoolahan inflated the numbers in Brazil, India and the US as well ?

Brazil's president didn't believe Covid was serious, then he didn't believe in the vaccines to it.

Now with their country falling apart he now wants everyone vaccined by Christmas which won't happen.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 22/06/2021 21:14:18    2352709

Replying To carlovia:  "
Replying To Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "With the attitudes and I'll be honest plain ignorance demonstrated on here by many of you in relation to Covid all I'll say is that it's no wonder the country is fast becoming a mollycoddled laughing stock.

"

Has Hoolahan inflated the numbers in Brazil, India and the US as well ?

Brazil's president didn't believe Covid was serious, then he didn't believe in the vaccines to it.

Now with their country falling apart he now wants everyone vaccined by Christmas which won't happen."]So I'm guessing from your post that you assume that every last death in those nations was carefully investigated before being labelled a covid death?
Come on man.
In Britain for example, AFAIK, anyone who died within a month of testing positive for covid was registered a covid death, there was a criterium put in place in each country in order to easily and quickly make records , and I'd hazard a guess that the net was cast quite wide.
This, combined with a headline seeking media, and a gullible populace helped to inflate both the death rates and the fear.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1693 - 22/06/2021 22:36:54    2352725

He's an abomination, typical delusional civil servant that this country is built on, shocking.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8036 - 22/06/2021 20:25:13

As i cant just quote this bit alone when you hit the quote button(that needs to change...) im copying and pasting...

He isnt an adomination. He's helped lead the country to lower cases and deaths compared to a lot of other countries and he was right to lead us in manner he has even if it is now going much slower than other countries
Typical delusional civil servant is bull....

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 22/06/2021 22:55:16    2352731

You could only look on with a hint of jealousy at Denmark last night with 25000 at their game against Russia in Copenhagen. Testing, testing and more testing along with a very good contact tracing system and they're showing how to manage a big crowd at a major sporting event. I thinking we're letting in a total of 9000 fans into the Aviva Stadium for two rugby matches next month.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/06/2021 01:16:46    2352747

Replying To KillingFields:  "He's an abomination, typical delusional civil servant that this country is built on, shocking.

As i cant just quote this bit alone when you hit the quote button(that needs to change...) im copying and pasting...

He isnt an adomination. He's helped lead the country to lower cases and deaths compared to a lot of other countries and he was right to lead us in manner he has even if it is now going much slower than other countries
Typical delusional civil servant is bull...."
To be fair and with all due respect to Tony with what he had to go through during this, its the people of this country that lead the country to lower cases and deaths by the majority following the guidelines that were put in place, along with our excellent frontline workers keeping the poor health system going. NPHET are only giving the guidelines/advice but its the people that have done the hard work to keep everything at bay as best we can for the most part by locking down and keeping to the restrictions with the exception Christmas. I'd be patting the backs of my fellow neighbour and colleague first over anyone in NPHET

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/06/2021 10:11:28    2352774

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "To be fair and with all due respect to Tony with what he had to go through during this, its the people of this country that lead the country to lower cases and deaths by the majority following the guidelines that were put in place, along with our excellent frontline workers keeping the poor health system going. NPHET are only giving the guidelines/advice but its the people that have done the hard work to keep everything at bay as best we can for the most part by locking down and keeping to the restrictions with the exception Christmas. I'd be patting the backs of my fellow neighbour and colleague first over anyone in NPHET"
Aye - it's the general populace that deserve the plaudits. It's not how many deaths there have been, it's how many deaths there might have been that's important.

Which is something we'll never know.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 23/06/2021 10:24:43    2352780

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "To be fair and with all due respect to Tony with what he had to go through during this, its the people of this country that lead the country to lower cases and deaths by the majority following the guidelines that were put in place, along with our excellent frontline workers keeping the poor health system going. NPHET are only giving the guidelines/advice but its the people that have done the hard work to keep everything at bay as best we can for the most part by locking down and keeping to the restrictions with the exception Christmas. I'd be patting the backs of my fellow neighbour and colleague first over anyone in NPHET"
Correct. I personally have lost faith in NPHET, and constant lockdown. Why not accept Covid is here, and work around it, by vaccinating the public, like with flu vaccines.
Surely there is a better solution than imposing lockdowns, trying antigen testing would be a start, but the junta oppose it.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 23/06/2021 12:57:05    2352829

Replying To KillingFields:  "He's an abomination, typical delusional civil servant that this country is built on, shocking.

Typical delusional civil servant is bull...."
His role on the cervical check scandal was abominable, that's for sure.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1693 - 23/06/2021 12:59:16    2352830

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Correct. I personally have lost faith in NPHET, and constant lockdown. Why not accept Covid is here, and work around it, by vaccinating the public, like with flu vaccines.
Surely there is a better solution than imposing lockdowns, trying antigen testing would be a start, but the junta oppose it."
Theyre doing it.
Lockdown protects us all and we are getting through the vaccine proccess.....

im in early 30s and i have my first vaccine shot already.... we are getting there....

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 23/06/2021 13:28:28    2352838

Replying To KillingFields:  "Theyre doing it.
Lockdown protects us all and we are getting through the vaccine proccess.....

im in early 30s and i have my first vaccine shot already.... we are getting there...."
That I agree with, lockdown has protected us, no doubt about it.
Now, if you'll excuse me, there's a rat loose in my house, so I'm gonna go burn the place down.
Laters :)

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1693 - 23/06/2021 17:03:25    2352906

If anyone wants to see more crowds at the GAA matches here are the contact details for the Minister of Sport.
Please be polite!

Jack Chambers: Dept of Sport 01 6313983
Email [email protected]

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 28/06/2021 12:15:28    2354097

Replying To realdub:  "
Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "[quote=Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "With the attitudes and I'll be honest plain ignorance demonstrated on here by many of you in relation to Covid all I'll say is that it's no wonder the country is fast becoming a mollycoddled laughing stock.

"

I have to agree with you on Dr Holohan his only tactic to battle covid is lockdown the country it seems. I would have empathy for his own personal situation during the pandemic that must have being very hard on him but people seem to forget his handling of cervical smear scandal. This over-zealous praise bestowed on him by the national media is a bit much, I think Niall Boylan described it perfectly when he said RTE will have him on Dancing with the stars when this is all over."]He's an abomination, typical delusional civil servant that this country is built on, shocking."]Totally correct Realdub…. Giving Holohan freeman of the city for reading a few prepared statistics of a sheet of paper…. Why not give it to Zara King as she had read out the exact same figures 5 minutes before him…and she didn't battle for years against Vicky Phelan… In this Country we love bestowing honours on those like Holohan for doing next to nothing

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1885 - 28/06/2021 13:08:59    2354133