Return Of The Championship - Excited ? Not Overly Bothered ?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It was the way things were back then mick the best teams won there provinces and battled it out for Sam,

People would belittle the munster football championship but my father used all ways tell us that Cork were the second best team in Ireland when we were winning allirelands in the 70s and 80s.

In those years would there have been anything gained by us playing the runner up in any of those provinces? I wouldn't have thought so but it might have suited Cork."
For certain Cork had a very powerful team in the 770 s and 80 s. No disrespect to other teams but the only teams I feared then were Cork and Dublin.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 29/10/2020 17:35:13    2302897

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I just picked 2015 at random to be honest, you could look at 2016 and say us in the quarters is a tougher match I suppose but those were the Rory Gallagher years.

I've looked at Dublin's run to an All-Ireland every year before the Super 8s and being honest I don't see much difference from the potential route this year other than having an extra game in the quarter final. You have three matches in Leinster and generally stroll through, the early years of your dominance this wasn't so much the case but definitely so recently. Then you play whoever comes through the qualifiers, a semi and a final. You keep mentioning playing a county from every province but sure in 2011 you didn't play anyone from Connacht. In 2017 you didn't play anyone from Munster. All you're missing is one game, so I don't get your logic personally.

Obviously the Super 8s is a different wrinkle and winning Sam by winning all your games in 2018 and 2019 is some going, no doubt about that.

Whatever about whether ourselves or Tyrone win it this year, I just don't understand playing down the achievement for Dublin winning it this year if yous do, in fact with the change in management and the turnover in players I'd say it'd be a great achievement to keep the consistency and level of excellence required to go again and win a 6th in a row in these circumstances, personally. But sure agree to disagree I suppose"
I think its a difference of opinion Joe, its fine if you think they equate that comes down to subjective individual judgement of what you consider good bad or equal opinion and that is personal and likely i would suspect something we deviate on and thats is fine.

Id stick to my original points, belief and opinion if im honest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/10/2020 17:37:54    2302901

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "For certain Cork had a very powerful team in the 770 s and 80 s. No disrespect to other teams but the only teams I feared then were Cork and Dublin."
If Cork got them selves together they'd be back fighting for football allirelands in no time, they've always had the talent but I've just always felt they were lacking good managers (Counihan and Morgan a side).

Of course hurling is number 1 in the rebel county and any excellent dual players will nearly always chose the small ball.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2020 17:58:18    2302908

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If Cork got them selves together they'd be back fighting for football allirelands in no time, they've always had the talent but I've just always felt they were lacking good managers (Counihan and Morgan a side).

Of course hurling is number 1 in the rebel county and any excellent dual players will nearly always chose the small ball."
You can bé sure of it. I've seen some fantastic Cork teams but they don't get the same level of support as the hurlers. Morgan and Counihan were excellent managers but the later was castigated a bit. JBM was a class footballer. I also love Colin Corkery and Graham Canty. Even now they have talent and I for one am very wary of them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 29/10/2020 18:30:08    2302919

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "You can bé sure of it. I've seen some fantastic Cork teams but they don't get the same level of support as the hurlers. Morgan and Counihan were excellent managers but the later was castigated a bit. JBM was a class footballer. I also love Colin Corkery and Graham Canty. Even now they have talent and I for one am very wary of them."
100% mick, I have massive respect for the neighbours and fook there were times when I was sure we'd bate them on a given day and theyd beat us by 7-8 points, and they new how to drive it home, I just hope this isn't a year they decide to come out of hibernation.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2020 20:12:36    2302952

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "100% mick, I have massive respect for the neighbours and fook there were times when I was sure we'd bate them on a given day and theyd beat us by 7-8 points, and they new how to drive it home, I just hope this isn't a year they decide to come out of hibernation."
Exactly and Ronan Mccarthy brought in Cian Ó Néill with him who knows a lot about Kerry being our trainer for a few years under Fitzmaurice.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 29/10/2020 21:38:02    2302968

Looking forward to it in these strange times. Something to keep us sane.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 29/10/2020 21:57:26    2302972

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Exactly and Ronan Mccarthy brought in Cian Ó Néill with him who knows a lot about Kerry being our trainer for a few years under Fitzmaurice."
Cian O'Neil will know any weakness in our older players but we've added a lot of new lads since he was with us mick but we're dealing with small margins, to quote Tesco every little helps :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2020 22:17:33    2302979

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If Cork got them selves together they'd be back fighting for football allirelands in no time, they've always had the talent but I've just always felt they were lacking good managers (Counihan and Morgan a side).

Of course hurling is number 1 in the rebel county and any excellent dual players will nearly always chose the small ball."
Similar to Dublin but the other way around. Most if not all will choose the big ball. We have serious amount of fantastic hurlers on the current football team, sure Con O'Callaghan is one of the best hurlers in Ireland in my view.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 30/10/2020 08:54:27    2303004

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Similar to Dublin but the other way around. Most if not all will choose the big ball. We have serious amount of fantastic hurlers on the current football team, sure Con O'Callaghan is one of the best hurlers in Ireland in my view."
So true. Conal Kearney only went back to county hurlers when he was finished with intercounty football. Shane Ryan likewise. Yes Con Ó Callaghan as good a hurdler as you d see. I heard Dermo was a class hurdler too alho I never saw him play. It's a pity really. I would love to see the dual players playing both but it's gone so professional now it's prob not going to happen.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 30/10/2020 09:58:34    2303009

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Similar to Dublin but the other way around. Most if not all will choose the big ball. We have serious amount of fantastic hurlers on the current football team, sure Con O'Callaghan is one of the best hurlers in Ireland in my view."
I have relations from West Cork who'd be involved with their club and they're always telling me about these great young talented players that they'd see or hear of from different parts of the county and then they'll say but he's an excellent hurler as well and then the eyes drop and there is a moments silence.

I wouldn't be the biggest hurling fan and I haven't seen con O'Callaghan play hurling at all, but could he not do both? Surely the 2 management teams could get together and work out some kind of plan where they share him.

Playing both codes in a county like Cork probably wouldn't work as its a vast county with massive distances to travel but in dublin that shouldnt be a problem.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/10/2020 10:03:51    2303011

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I have relations from West Cork who'd be involved with their club and they're always telling me about these great young talented players that they'd see or hear of from different parts of the county and then they'll say but he's an excellent hurler as well and then the eyes drop and there is a moments silence.

I wouldn't be the biggest hurling fan and I haven't seen con O'Callaghan play hurling at all, but could he not do both? Surely the 2 management teams could get together and work out some kind of plan where they share him.

Playing both codes in a county like Cork probably wouldn't work as its a vast county with massive distances to travel but in dublin that shouldnt be a problem."
You'd swear Cork was the size of Texas

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/10/2020 10:29:51    2303014

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I have relations from West Cork who'd be involved with their club and they're always telling me about these great young talented players that they'd see or hear of from different parts of the county and then they'll say but he's an excellent hurler as well and then the eyes drop and there is a moments silence.

Playing both codes in a county like Cork probably wouldn't work as its a vast county with massive distances to travel but in dublin that shouldnt be a problem."
I would guess that the training tactics etc are different and with the amount of training now intercounty teams do they would clash and I suppose players would feel its unfair if the dual player gets picked first while prob not there for all the training.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 30/10/2020 10:30:05    2303015

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "So true. Conal Kearney only went back to county hurlers when he was finished with intercounty football. Shane Ryan likewise. Yes Con Ó Callaghan as good a hurdler as you d see. I heard Dermo was a class hurdler too alho I never saw him play. It's a pity really. I would love to see the dual players playing both but it's gone so professional now it's prob not going to happen."
Conal Keaney wasted his prime years playing football, he could have been one of the top hurlers in the country. The level he got back to when he returned shows how good he could have been had he kept at it. Ryan was decent at both, but much to choose between really.

Connolly was a great underage hurler but equally as good a footballer. Similarly with Rory O'Carroll and Johnny Cooper (captained the Dublin minor hurlers). Connolly is/was a good club hurler and Rory has a couple of hurling County titles. I don't think Cooper hurls at all anymore.

Bernard Brogan was a better minor hurler than footballer, making the minor hurling squad but not the football. Ciarán Kilkenny, Eric Lowdnes, Emmet Ó Conghaile and Cormac Costello were all underage underage hurling stars, with Kilkenny and Costello in particular having the potential to be superb senior inter County hurlers.

Con has/had the potential to be one of best hurlers in the country.

Dublin football really is Dublin hurling's biggest obstacle, it was ever thus!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 30/10/2020 10:48:19    2303018

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I would guess that the training tactics etc are different and with the amount of training now intercounty teams do they would clash and I suppose players would feel its unfair if the dual player gets picked first while prob not there for all the training."
Aye you'd probably have a few that would be upset having a dual player mick but id think the majority would be happy to have the extra quality in the team.

Fittnes and strength and conditioning would probably fall under the 1 umbrella but like you say the tactics for both teams would be different, now of course the man himself might just be happy to play for 1 team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/10/2020 10:57:19    2303021

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Aye you'd probably have a few that would be upset having a dual player mick but id think the majority would be happy to have the extra quality in the team.

Fittnes and strength and conditioning would probably fall under the 1 umbrella but like you say the tactics for both teams would be different, now of course the man himself might just be happy to play for 1 team."
True. Cork have some fine dual players too if they played. I thought Aidan Walsh was going to be the next great midfielder after Darragh but he kept chopping and changing between both codes. Alan Cadogan of Cork also a great footballer with loads of pace and natural scoring ability.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 30/10/2020 11:17:10    2303022

Ii was unbelievably excited to begin with but i really coudnt give a toss now. These matches are for going to, watching on the telly is just crap. I wish the EU would do a lockdown and we go covid zero and enjoy 2021 cos this living with it is not life. Working and no ball at the weekend is worse than mountjoy

theborderfox (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 30/10/2020 11:26:26    2303025

Replying To MesAmis:  "Conal Keaney wasted his prime years playing football, he could have been one of the top hurlers in the country. The level he got back to when he returned shows how good he could have been had he kept at it. Ryan was decent at both, but much to choose between really.

Connolly was a great underage hurler but equally as good a footballer. Similarly with Rory O'Carroll and Johnny Cooper (captained the Dublin minor hurlers). Connolly is/was a good club hurler and Rory has a couple of hurling County titles. I don't think Cooper hurls at all anymore.

Bernard Brogan was a better minor hurler than footballer, making the minor hurling squad but not the football. Ciarán Kilkenny, Eric Lowdnes, Emmet Ó Conghaile and Cormac Costello were all underage underage hurling stars, with Kilkenny and Costello in particular having the potential to be superb senior inter County hurlers.

Con has/had the potential to be one of best hurlers in the country.

Dublin football really is Dublin hurling's biggest obstacle, it was ever thus!"
Yeah I forgot about Kilkenny. On Kearney though he was a fine footballer too and unlucky in some ways to lose out in 2011 especially. For sure football is the biggest obstacle to Dublin hurling(that's why we gave you a good Kerryman Datragh Ó Connell lol) the same as hurling an obstacle to football in Cork. Its a pity really cos even as neutrals we are missing out on seeing some great talent playing.Con Ó Callaghan is def a class hurdler and would walk on any county team.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 30/10/2020 11:28:20    2303026

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "True. Cork have some fine dual players too if they played. I thought Aidan Walsh was going to be the next great midfielder after Darragh but he kept chopping and changing between both codes. Alan Cadogan of Cork also a great footballer with loads of pace and natural scoring ability."
Ya I thought the same about Walsh but like you say he seemed very torn between the 2, I'd say in that situation a player would probably look at the 2 coaches and which team he'd have a better chance of winning an allireland with.

But you would think that a dual player would have a stronger gra for 1 over the other.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/10/2020 11:29:49    2303031

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya I thought the same about Walsh but like you say he seemed very torn between the 2, I'd say in that situation a player would probably look at the 2 coaches and which team he'd have a better chance of winning an allireland with.

But you would think that a dual player would have a stronger gra for 1 over the other."
Like most things in life people will go after the thing that has the most chance of bringing them success.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 30/10/2020 11:50:09    2303043