Dublin v Mayo

Another poor game, Mayo no match for a wasteful Dublin!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 14/04/2013 17:25:17    1367454

Very impressed with Ger Brennan today

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 14/04/2013 17:27:06    1367458

Ha, yeah my mistake!

Good performance from the Dubs, but can anyone stop kerry in this years championship??!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/04/2013 17:32:02    1367464

Gaa_lover
County: USA

Attendence: 24,941 it's time they stop playing these game in Croke park.

If you took the Dublin support out of it the crowd was very small. I don't think the league semi finals are working out & really the final should be between the top two. It would also do away with the nonsense of teams being in games where they can be both relegated & i n the semi-final at the same time.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 14/04/2013 17:56:17    1367489

Dublin looked good when they got going after 10 or so minutes. You'd have to question Mayo's All-Ireland credentials after today though. It may suit them to be written off but there is massive problems in that team that seem to have been just ignored / pushed under the carpet since last year's All-Ireland. They will be back in Croke Park on the August Bank Holiday due to the weakness of the Connacht championship but its hard to see them going much further. People are saying Mayo are wasteful but Dublin should really have won by a far more convincing margin if they'd been more clinical.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 14/04/2013 18:06:32    1367499

LOOking at todays game my heart goes`out to the Mayo supporters
they might win Connacht thats it they havent got it up front
when it comes to big games they bottle it

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 14/04/2013 18:28:42    1367515

Thought Caferkery and boyle were good for mayo. O shea done a bit in the second half. . The Dubs are going well and young Mannion is palying like he has been there for years. Long way to go yet though. They leave themselves very open at times which may be there achilles heel come August/September. Mayo missing some of there first team with the likes of Dillon, Andy Moran and Higgins making a big difference to that team. I dont think they will win the All-Ireland though. No quality forwards.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 14/04/2013 18:34:44    1367523

MuckrossHead

Gaa_lover
County: USA

Attendence: 24,941 it's time they stop playing these game in Croke park.

If you took the Dublin support out of it the crowd was very small. I don't think the league semi finals are working out & really the final should be between the top two. It would also do away with the nonsense of teams being in games where they can be both relegated & i n the semi-final at the same time.

Agreed. Any chance of changing it next year? the current format has become very stale.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 14/04/2013 18:45:47    1367530

Very good performance from Dublin, my only worry is were way to open Donegal will kill us in the Champo if we leave that much open space to Murphy , McFadden and Mcberaty. It's clear we're the best team out there but it just takes one bad performance in August and your out. But right now no one can get near us , 6 points points flatters Mayo we took our foot off the gas 2nd half for whatever reason I don't know. I fear a bad beating for Tyrone I watched them against Kildare and for me there average, if they get within 6 points of us I'd be suprised. Last thing SON what a player them two scores were just different class.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/04/2013 19:16:47    1367541

when it comes to big games they bottle it

They didnt bottle it, They where outplayed by a team who played better on the day. Simple as that.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/04/2013 19:23:54    1367547

I thought Dublin where very good today, They showed up and they just seemed to want it. They had the better technical players on the pitch, bearing in mind they where missing some players so i wouldnt be getting too carried away

Jason Whelan and Paul Mannion where very impressive. Both scoring goals, When it comes to the championship if they play like that they will start, Alan Brogan must be looking at this genuinely worried for his place in the team. Although he is a phenomonal player, He could find himself warming the bench. Diarmuid Connolly had a better game than last week, Seems to turn it on when we play Mayo.

Midfield is a big problem area for Dublin but today i was very impressed with MDMA and Cian O'Sullivan, Particularly O'Sullivan who isn't a natural midfielder but it looks like he gettin used to it now. I thought as a unit the front 6 where brilliant

My man of the match today however was Ger Brennan, He was phenomonal in there, He showed every bit of experience that he has

Would be a bit concerned with us conceding 15 points. They also had some goalscoring chances which they would have taken had they been a little mre clinical.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/04/2013 19:34:33    1367552

The defending in both semi finals was very slack today must have been 15 goal chances created if only we seen that type of open football played in the championship.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4397 - 14/04/2013 19:41:47    1367558

Haven't been to a Croke park game with so little atmosphere. Mayo were dominant in the first 10 minutes but they dropped the heads once Dublin scored. it was a screamer of a goal and against the run of play. great to be in the final but I feel Kildare gave Tyrone a better game and they may be more prepared come next Sunday.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 14/04/2013 19:45:31    1367561

Snuff have you any GAA background at all or are you another keyboard warrior like Ulsterman ?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 14/04/2013 20:02:35    1367579

Well gaa lover, 1986 and counting.See ye in McHale park.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/04/2013 20:04:12    1367581

Point to note: Mayo got in on goal numerous times which required the very last line of defence, Cluxton to show why he is the best in the game bar none!

.........Dublin defence needs to tighten up!....Mayo got in too easy!

How are we ever going to cope when it comes to playing the likes of Kerry in the championship!....its theirs to lose!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/04/2013 20:10:00    1367587

Snuff have you any GAA background at all or are you another keyboard warrior like Ulsterman ?

______

Pot Kettle Black

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/04/2013 20:34:05    1367612

Mayo are poor very poor, Dublin didn't seem to be as good as some on hear are proclaiming.
let's be honest if this set up of semis continue it will destroy the league. Neither kildare or Mayo are at the same level as Dublin same probably for Tyrone, Dublin's real competition IMO are donegal, cork and kerry ", they are big four and Tyrone probably fifth mayo and kildare are a fair bit off them five and unfortunately so is every other county

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/04/2013 20:41:59    1367625

Glad to see all the mayo lads escaped without needing a tetanus shot!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 14/04/2013 21:13:40    1367646

51longago

Well gaa lover, 1986 and counting.See ye in McHale park.

I'll go over if you book me a flight and i could give you my excellent neutral opinion after the game for free. As for now Dublin's long wait to beat Mayo in knock out football is officially over!

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3993 - 14/04/2013 21:23:48    1367653