Goalkeeping

Have to say Harry hasn't convinced me
For O'Gara's goal on Saturday he was stuck to his line when basic goalkeeping was to advance and narrow the angle
Not saying he would have saved it but he would have made it more difficult for the attacker
Also he has a habit of running back to the goals facing the posts with his back to play when the safer option is to run backwards so at least you know where the ball is.
I'd like others opinions on this

denniswise (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 22/03/2023 14:19:26    2465783

Replying To denniswise:  "Have to say Harry hasn't convinced me
For O'Gara's goal on Saturday he was stuck to his line when basic goalkeeping was to advance and narrow the angle
Not saying he would have saved it but he would have made it more difficult for the attacker
Also he has a habit of running back to the goals facing the posts with his back to play when the safer option is to run backwards so at least you know where the ball is.
I'd like others opinions on this"
Hard to put too much blame on Harry for goal, this was a team issue. He does not look comfortable coming so far out and is only a matter of time before he is turned over. Lets get the basics right first, all Harry was doing was passing ball sideways, prefer to see him staying near goal at least until proper system is put in place.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 22/03/2023 14:32:03    2465789

Replying To seadog54:  "Hard to put too much blame on Harry for goal, this was a team issue. He does not look comfortable coming so far out and is only a matter of time before he is turned over. Lets get the basics right first, all Harry was doing was passing ball sideways, prefer to see him staying near goal at least until proper system is put in place."
https://twitter.com/i/status/1637116881956921345

Agreed the defence was poor but look at the video on the link above he could have mad it harder for O'Gara

denniswise (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 22/03/2023 15:08:53    2465811

Replying To denniswise:  "https://twitter.com/i/status/1637116881956921345

Agreed the defence was poor but look at the video on the link above he could have mad it harder for O'Gara"
Agreed he needs to come out to narrow the angle and even make O'Gara have to go around him.

In saying that the defending from the outfield players was horrendous particularly Adam O'Neill and Flood. Flood decides he will just look after his own man to make sure he doesn't score but in doing that lets O'Gara stroll into have a free shot at goal

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 22/03/2023 16:34:33    2465867

Replying To denniswise:  "Have to say Harry hasn't convinced me
I'd like others opinions on this"
It could have been avoided if the two backs decided to do something instead both just let him have the space to decide to go for goal

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 22/03/2023 16:35:30    2465868

Have to say it's a bit harsh starting up a forum post basically singling out and criticising a player.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 23/03/2023 08:20:18    2465937

He probably should have come out to narrow the angle but i wouldn't blame him too much. Real issue for the goal was the defending by 2 of the full back line. Was very naive and poor.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 23/03/2023 09:45:55    2465945

Jesus I cant believe what I'm reading.

Whatever about criticising the team as a whole, thats fair enough. Even commenting on an individual in a given performance from time to time is part of the normal debate.

But to set up an entire thread, to do nothing other than single out & criticise 1 person is an absolute disgrace.

We've had massive issues around goalkeeping over the past decade or more & Harry Hogan has been by far the best of them. He's putting in a huge effort & sacrificing a lot to be part of a team that isn't winning or close to it... Other former goalkeepers walked away from the same situation. People rabbiting on here about him missing frees.... absolute rubbish, hes the goal keeper, he's not responsible for scoring. If he's willing to put his hand up to try it, because others & 6 forwards included in that, haven't taken the responsibility or leadership to do it themselves. Harry has taken up the mantle that 11 previous men couldn't hold, and he's done a damn good job in a team where the majority of the play is directed at his goals rather than the oppositions. He's made multiple top class saves over the past couple of years, including a few panalties & proven himself as a very accomplished & deserving holder of the Jersey.

Is it any wonder young men turn their back in inter-county football with nonsense like this.

This thread is nothing more than a stonethrowing exercise for someone hiding behind a pseudonym.
Shame on the person behind that & shame on the administrators for facilitating them. That's not what this forum is supposed to be about.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 23/03/2023 13:36:25    2466002

Replying To Selwyn:  "Have to say it's a bit harsh starting up a forum post basically singling out and criticising a player."
I,M sure there was no harm intended, but is harsh to focus on one team member. Admin should have included it in topic already open.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 23/03/2023 13:54:25    2466006

Replying To Jinxie:  "Jesus I cant believe what I'm reading.

Whatever about criticising the team as a whole, thats fair enough. Even commenting on an individual in a given performance from time to time is part of the normal debate.

But to set up an entire thread, to do nothing other than single out & criticise 1 person is an absolute disgrace.

We've had massive issues around goalkeeping over the past decade or more & Harry Hogan has been by far the best of them. He's putting in a huge effort & sacrificing a lot to be part of a team that isn't winning or close to it... Other former goalkeepers walked away from the same situation. People rabbiting on here about him missing frees.... absolute rubbish, hes the goal keeper, he's not responsible for scoring. If he's willing to put his hand up to try it, because others & 6 forwards included in that, haven't taken the responsibility or leadership to do it themselves. Harry has taken up the mantle that 11 previous men couldn't hold, and he's done a damn good job in a team where the majority of the play is directed at his goals rather than the oppositions. He's made multiple top class saves over the past couple of years, including a few panalties & proven himself as a very accomplished & deserving holder of the Jersey.

Is it any wonder young men turn their back in inter-county football with nonsense like this.

This thread is nothing more than a stonethrowing exercise for someone hiding behind a pseudonym.
Shame on the person behind that & shame on the administrators for facilitating them. That's not what this forum is supposed to be about."
Couldn't agree more. The criticism from people directed at the players and manager recently and in particular this week has been over the top. Yes, Meath were poor last week and over the last few weeks, but the same people moaning and attacking the team and management over tactics/set up are the same people that would be giving out if Meath parked the bus or were criticizing the style of play under the previous management. Meath are nearly dammed if they or dammed if they don't. At the end of the day they are the ones commiting seven days a week to try and better Meath football, not the ones hurling from the ditch. Also Colm O'Rourke is no fool and isn't a complete novice having never managed or coached a team before. He has been involved one way or another in club management since he finished playing.

Also certain pundits like Cora Staunton and others are only to delighted to stick the boot into O'Rourke at the first sight of problems with his management. Certain national journalists who couldn't coach a under 8's team also only to delighted to call him out already as being no good. No wonder nobody wants to go into management these days.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 23/03/2023 14:03:07    2466013

I actually thought his kick outs were good last Saturday.

He could do nothing about either goal.

Very harsh in my opinion.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 23/03/2023 14:55:45    2466032

Only recently we were delighted to have Harry in goals but now we're turning on him because of a few mistakes.

Look at Cluxton, the Galway Kerry and Mayo keepers of the past 10 years. They all made mistakes and had flaws in their game.

Harry pulled off a great save against Cork the first day out and now because he didn't make a save he is questioned

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 23/03/2023 20:10:01    2466114

Shame on the person behind that & shame on the administrators for facilitating them. That's not what this forum is supposed to be about."
100 % agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/03/2023 21:26:37    2466120

I don't see where this was personalising anything
The thread title is perhaps misleading and maybe should read, Poor goalkeeping' because let's call a spade a shovel, it WAS poor goalkeeping
The argument that he has taken up the mantle that 11 other men couldn't hold, does not make sense as now that he has taken up the mantle it is now up to him to show he is good enough to keep the mantle and for me he hasn't yet shown he is
I am not for one moment suggesting he is a bad goalkeeper, although I fear county level may be a step too far all I am saying is he could have done better for O' Gara's goal and I would say if you asked Harry he'd admit as much
If the forum is not about opinion, and this is just that, my opinion, then what is it about
Thank God the administrators recognise an opinion as just that
You wouldn't by any chance be related to Harry would you

denniswise (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 23/03/2023 21:57:58    2466125

Replying To denniswise:  "I don't see where this was personalising anything
The thread title is perhaps misleading and maybe should read, Poor goalkeeping' because let's call a spade a shovel, it WAS poor goalkeeping
The argument that he has taken up the mantle that 11 other men couldn't hold, does not make sense as now that he has taken up the mantle it is now up to him to show he is good enough to keep the mantle and for me he hasn't yet shown he is
I am not for one moment suggesting he is a bad goalkeeper, although I fear county level may be a step too far all I am saying is he could have done better for O' Gara's goal and I would say if you asked Harry he'd admit as much
If the forum is not about opinion, and this is just that, my opinion, then what is it about
You wouldn't by any chance be related to Harry would you"
While I think it was poor judgement to have this as a whole new topic, the point being made is a fair one. He was poor for O Gara's goal, this doesn't make him a bad keeper by any stretch, but he definitely could have been positioned better, come out to close the angle. However as one poster pointed out, the fault of the goal is with the 2 lads from the full back line that never tracked his run.
As far as scoring not being his responsibility, if he is on frees/45's then it most definitely is his responsibility. A lot of people need to cop themselves on about this attitude of 'Oh he's a keeper, how is there not a forward able to take a free', the same last year when McGill took the peno against Clare. IF they are the best in the panel at that particular skill, then you have them taking them. Cluxton did it for years for the Dubs, Nash and Davy Fitz took penos for Cork and Clare in the hurling. You put your best player on the job, regardless of where they are togging out, and if Harry is deemed as our best and has accepted the responsibility then it is his job to put them over, there can be no argument with that.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 24/03/2023 11:12:34    2466178

Replying To denniswise:  "I don't see where this was personalising anything
You wouldn't by any chance be related to Harry would you"
"all I am saying is he could have done better for O' Gara's goal".... And you started a whole post about this? Good man.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 25/03/2023 08:00:40    2466379

Crazy topic on my view. To my mind he has never done anything to say he is not up to being Meath goal keeper.
In a lot of counties people complain about goal keepers coming out the field a bit and Harry gets stick. But this is part of the modern game, there is risks to it but also advantages. Blocking off space on opposition kick outs is an advantage which is hard to quantify but probably stops the opposition getting a good few possessions in a good position a few times in a game. If a goal is lost due to the tactic every 6 games maybe it's worth it?. Same with coming off your line to support build up play.
I'd be amazed if Harry is deciding to do this on his all himself, it's probably a management tactic (and Meath are far from alone in having goal keepers do this, some keepers in other counties come out the field more often than Harry.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 25/03/2023 11:08:29    2466402

I think admins need to delete this thread. No need for a standalone thread. Keeper made a mistake for a goal
by not coming out but has improved on kickouts and team strategy has improved on kickouts.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 25/03/2023 13:06:00    2466435

Replying To royal11:  "I think admins need to delete this thread. No need for a standalone thread. Keeper made a mistake for a goal
by not coming out but has improved on kickouts and team strategy has improved on kickouts."
Completely agree it's a bit of a witch hunt really and very unfair on one individual why don't we a topic on right half forward ....

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 25/03/2023 14:14:02    2466465

A good back line will prevent any shots on goal. nearly all goals are not keepers fault. I would personnally dislike a keeper fluting around out the field for no particuliar reason.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 29/03/2023 16:39:28    2467642