Down Football thread

Replying To germac:  "We all know who the correct person is , and if he has any gra for Down football he will put his hand up, and take the job, Just lookat Derry today , 2 years ago in div 4 , this year beat All Ireland winners and Monaghan and in Ulster final, There is no doubt in my mind if our boys get their act together, and commit they could do the same , Reguarding county officals , The RIGHT MEN would need to go and see him NOT THE WRONG MEN, YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN, and tell him what ever it takes , NOW is the time for Action, and not arseing about sleepwalking"
Do you mean Conor Laverty???. I would be more than satisfied with that appointment, if he brought along the Kilcoo contingent. If they came on board and showed that so-called winning mentality it would bring along the other good footballers in Down who have not committed. We need all our best footballers in Down to be committed to the cause and if it takes a Kilcoo manager to achieve this then so be it.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 17/05/2022 10:11:13    2418005

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "Do you mean Conor Laverty???. I would be more than satisfied with that appointment, if he brought along the Kilcoo contingent. If they came on board and showed that so-called winning mentality it would bring along the other good footballers in Down who have not committed. We need all our best footballers in Down to be committed to the cause and if it takes a Kilcoo manager to achieve this then so be it."
Yes Conor is the only show in town along with Marty clarke and whoever else he brings in, but the only thing that will hold this back is if he carries on playing next year with the club as i think he will have to give it 100% with no distractions.

If this happens he would have to get a complete buy in from lads not for 1 year but 3/4 years with no ******* off to America or the like, yes a massive commitment but thats what's needed, bury club riveries and create there own club mentality. we have the players in Down to compete but there's serious problems in the structure from top to bottom that needs to be addressed also.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 703 - 17/05/2022 11:06:25    2418035

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Yes Conor is the only show in town along with Marty clarke and whoever else he brings in, but the only thing that will hold this back is if he carries on playing next year with the club as i think he will have to give it 100% with no distractions.

If this happens he would have to get a complete buy in from lads not for 1 year but 3/4 years with no ******* off to America or the like, yes a massive commitment but thats what's needed, bury club riveries and create there own club mentality. we have the players in Down to compete but there's serious problems in the structure from top to bottom that needs to be addressed also."
To address the structures in down football will not be an overnight process. This will take at least 5 years of soul searching, determination and above all the correct people in charge on the football field as well as in positions of responsibility.

We need our centre of excellence up and running asap. This will give us the momentum to have all teams centred in the one place. It will also give the coaches at all levels a centre where they are all singing of the same hymn sheet in terms of a style of play, tactics, training methods and strength and conditioning. The game has changed so much and we need to embrace this change.

Also we need to get into the schools and make sure that the kids are proud to wear that famous red and black jersey. We will do this by winning and making sure that teams are not just picked from the so called elite clubs in Down. Everyone must be considered good enough until proven not.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 17/05/2022 11:41:30    2418057

On paper Cavan against Down is the pick of the first round of matches and the same pairing served up a memorable game in 2020 when Cavan went onto win the Ulster title.

So much for promoting the Tailteann Cup, this game is not on TV, or Gaago. You'll have to rely on Twitter, rolling newspaper blogs or score updates on the radio to keep you informed.

Truthfully Down are playing to restore some pride to a team that has had a proverbial kicking this season, a season that can't end quick enough for most Down fans.

Cavan are rightfully seen as favourites to lift the inaugural Tailteann Cup and deservedly so. I'd like to see Down play with a little more freedom and shake off the fifteen men in our own half approach. If Down could put up a score of eighteen points or more at least they'd be moving in the right direction.

Is Downs slide arrested today in Breffni Park or is there further to fall?

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 28/05/2022 13:23:48    2420592

Full time score Cavan 0-24, - Down 1-12. RTÉ praised Down's efforts, they didn't just go through the motions.

A missed penalty penalty and eight wides in the first half made it difficult for Down to get close to Cavan. As an exercise in developing their team this outing will have told Down little.

The fact that Down won't have a serious outing as a team until February 2023 is an indictment of the present Senior football setup. How does such a gap in preparation and practice help anyone?

Fair play to the panel of players that represented Down today, they are the players I'd build the team around going forward. They are the players who are making themselves available when lots of others don't want to know.

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 28/05/2022 15:56:08    2420621

The only way is up for Down after the year they had.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 28/05/2022 16:49:22    2420629

Replying To Newmitch:  "Full time score Cavan 0-24, - Down 1-12. RTÉ praised Down's efforts, they didn't just go through the motions.

A missed penalty penalty and eight wides in the first half made it difficult for Down to get close to Cavan. As an exercise in developing their team this outing will have told Down little.

The fact that Down won't have a serious outing as a team until February 2023 is an indictment of the present Senior football setup. How does such a gap in preparation and practice help anyone?

Fair play to the panel of players that represented Down today, they are the players I'd build the team around going forward. They are the players who are making themselves available when lots of others don't want to know."
I was at the game yesterday as a neutral but was impressed with Down's effort and attitude.

The first half score line didn't actually reflect the overall picture of the game. Down missed at least 8 wides and the double penalty miss just before half time was a killer as Cavan went in 7 points up rather then 4.

If this panel of players can stay together I can see Down moving in the right direction in the future.

MartinEgan (UK) - Posts: 78 - 29/05/2022 09:05:53    2420705

5 time All-Ireland champions are now, statistically, one of the worst performing teams in the country.
James McCartan deserves great credit for allowing himself the ignominy of being associated with this farce. All for his love of this once great county.
There is an argument that the players who have deserted him when his spine stiffened and he answered the call that nobody else pretended to hear, should never be afforded the opportunity to pull on the famous red and black jersey again.
Apart from the aberration that was 2010, the county team has been in a pauper's grave since '96. Another few years in the doldrums will no longer make a difference.
Every coaching effort and finance should now be made to further the improvement of underage teams and interested seniors only.

downwolf (Down) - Posts: 15 - 30/05/2022 21:56:37    2421275

Replying To downwolf:  "5 time All-Ireland champions are now, statistically, one of the worst performing teams in the country.
James McCartan deserves great credit for allowing himself the ignominy of being associated with this farce. All for his love of this once great county.
There is an argument that the players who have deserted him when his spine stiffened and he answered the call that nobody else pretended to hear, should never be afforded the opportunity to pull on the famous red and black jersey again.
Apart from the aberration that was 2010, the county team has been in a pauper's grave since '96. Another few years in the doldrums will no longer make a difference.
Every coaching effort and finance should now be made to further the improvement of underage teams and interested seniors only."
Agree with everything you have said downwolf. I hope James stays but we really need to get our underage structures right if we are to progress. This will not happen unless we get quality coaches in. They don't have to be from Down as clearly it isn't working. We also need to get the centre of excellence up and running as this will prove pivotal to the future of Down football.

As for the senior team. What can you say??? A complete and utter disgrace that the best footballers in Down don't want to play. Also those who left the panel when we went out of the sam maguire need to take a hard look at themselves. As for the guys who left the panel after the league to go to the USA or where ever the transfers should never have been granted by the county board.

We need to build a core panel of 30 players who want to be there and if you are not picked this is a management decision. Grow a set and fight for your place. If you are not prepared to commit then don't come anywhere near the Down senior set up.

I would also like to thank James who did an excellent job under very difficult circumstances. It is time we got behind him and his entire family. Just look at what they have done for Down football. If he doesn't deserve respect then God help us.
Well done wee James!!!!!

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 31/05/2022 12:04:28    2421335

Seems that Darren O'Hagan has played his last game for Down. One of my favourite players, as tough as they come, never hid and worked his socks off. I wish there were more Darrens out there.

No doubt over the next few months Darren will be joined by a few more Down veterans. James McCartan has begun to turn the page and is giving youth it's head. There were seven players making their championship debuts against Monaghan, which some people might think is too many but understandable in the peculiar circumstances surrounding Down football.

One thing I'd like to see if possible, is an end to the revolving door in Down player selection. It seems that every season a large number of players enter the squad and a large number leave. You need continuity in a team, and it's a huge waste of scarce resources continually having to bring a new group up to speed, physically, tactically and in conditioning terms.

I just read a report of the Cavan v Down game and James McCartan said Down struggled on kickouts, that Cavan plucked the ball out of the air and Down had to live off scraps.

If I had one wish for James McCartan if he stays or for a successor is that Down find three or four players who can win ball in the air and especially in midfield. It's been a running sore for Down teams for years now and no team will make any progress unless it can win its share of ball. It's frustrating to watch Down be dominated at midfield by all comers.

It's Down's Achilles heel and what a lift it would give the players and fans if they could take the field knowing that they had the players to compete for possession all over the field, if you can't get the ball you have no chance of success. Here's hoping.

Newmitch (Down) - Posts: 97 - 01/06/2022 20:15:59    2421689

Haven't heard anything official about Darren O'Hagan yet. Kevin McKernan has confirmed his, well deserved, retirement.
What a player he was in his prime. Tough, super-versatile and a terrific example of how to represent a county with pride. That he was able to train and perform to such a high standard, despite the fact that he was tortured with injuries for so long, was a testament to his grit.
So unlucky not to pick up an All-Star, his many outstanding performances were certainly deserving of one.
Will we see future generations achieve the longevity of McKernan and O'Hagan? We can only dream.

downwolf (Down) - Posts: 15 - 03/06/2022 09:24:18    2421889