Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care.

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "AG, your posts are like deciphering 16th century state papers!

I think most people have lost the thread of what anyone was saying."
I like your sense of humour,

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2021 12:28:45    2367531

it would be easier to follow Joyce's "Ulysses" reading it backwards than follow this thread. The Cavan man must be having some laugh.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 04/08/2021 12:35:14    2367535

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I like your sense of humour,"
Have to admit it's gone way off the topic of a non offensive banner appearing at a game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 04/08/2021 13:11:22    2367545

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

The sheer ignorance and lack of basic knowledge of many in the 26 counties about the North and what went on there is quite shameful

It's his personal opinion and has no basis in fact."
I've spent the last 26 years of my life living in Wexford. I know numerous people down here that know nothing about the troubles. Some are genuinely ashamed. Most were too afraid to go up there during the troubles and some still are. It has a basis in fact in Wexford and numerous other counties here in the 26 counties. It's not just his personal opinion. You seem to be the man with few facts and plenty of opinions."
On one hand you say you know numerous people down here that know nothing about the troubles but in the same breath you also say "Most were too afraid to go up there during the troubles", so clearly they did know or otherwise they wouldn't have been afraid !

You see, it's this type of contradictory nonsense which draws the wrath of AG.

Was there some kind of media blackout in Wexford or something or what exactly do you feel the people of Wexford ought to have known apart from what they already knew and what difference would all the minute day to day details have made had they known them ?

I think it's a reasonable question to ask."]Why do you refer to yourself in the third person? That's a trait indicative of pedants, narcissists and sociopaths.
Actually, I understand why you do it now.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/08/2021 13:35:52    2367549

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

The sheer ignorance and lack of basic knowledge of many in the 26 counties about the North and what went on there is quite shameful

I've spent the last 26 years of my life living in Wexford. I know numerous people down here that know nothing about the troubles. Some are genuinely ashamed. Most were too afraid to go up there during the troubles and some still are. It has a basis in fact in Wexford and numerous other counties here in the 26 counties. It's not just his personal opinion. You seem to be the man with few facts and plenty of opinions."
On one hand you say you know numerous people down here that know nothing about the troubles but in the same breath you also say "Most were too afraid to go up there during the troubles", so clearly they did know or otherwise they wouldn't have been afraid !

Was there some kind of media blackout in Wexford or something or what exactly do you feel the people of Wexford ought to have known apart from what they already knew and what difference would all the minute day to day details have made had they known them ?

I think it's a reasonable question to ask."]Why do you refer to yourself in the third person? That's a trait indicative of pedants, narcissists and sociopaths.
Actually, I understand why you do it now."]What are you saying to the Wexford poster?...if you are afraid go up and find out if your fears are genuine?..I have many fears in life and as is human nature avoid all totally if possible or as much as possible...I have never been to the Norh, never had the occasion to travel there, I cant afford to go to games that far to be honest, both time wise and financially. When I was young and single I could have afforded to go but like many people didn't due to the climate up there at the time 1970s/80s...I know if everyone too that view no one would go, but people do make decisions based on things like that...I do regret that I have never been in the north as it's part of my country, always was and always will, maybe someday possibly but not going for the sake of going either..each to their own and all..I have great time for all Northern teams given the hostile environment they grew up in...we dont know what that was like, fear to us, normal after a time for them..many articles have been written in such matters and people down hear haven't a clue and are not interested, not all but many..until you walk in my shoes ime sure many Northern GAA players would advise...just another observation on the matter..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 04/08/2021 14:06:20    2367568

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "
Replying To avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

Actually, I understand why you do it now."]What are you saying to the Wexford poster?...if you are afraid go up and find out if your fears are genuine?..I have many fears in life and as is human nature avoid all totally if possible or as much as possible...I have never been to the Norh, never had the occasion to travel there, I cant afford to go to games that far to be honest, both time wise and financially. When I was young and single I could have afforded to go but like many people didn't due to the climate up there at the time 1970s/80s...I know if everyone too that view no one would go, but people do make decisions based on things like that...I do regret that I have never been in the north as it's part of my country, always was and always will, maybe someday possibly but not going for the sake of going either..each to their own and all..I have great time for all Northern teams given the hostile environment they grew up in...we dont know what that was like, fear to us, normal after a time for them..many articles have been written in such matters and people down hear haven't a clue and are not interested, not all but many..until you walk in my shoes ime sure many Northern GAA players would advise...just another observation on the matter.."]It's the chips on their shoulders which is the issue Fairplayalway.

Even on here we see it all the time. The problem isn't that they are different people, the problem is that they cant acknowledge that.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2021 15:15:08    2367604

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "[quote=avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

Actually, I understand why you do it now."]What are you saying to the Wexford poster?...if you are afraid go up and find out if your fears are genuine?..I have many fears in life and as is human nature avoid all totally if possible or as much as possible...I have never been to the Norh, never had the occasion to travel there, I cant afford to go to games that far to be honest, both time wise and financially. When I was young and single I could have afforded to go but like many people didn't due to the climate up there at the time 1970s/80s...I know if everyone too that view no one would go, but people do make decisions based on things like that...I do regret that I have never been in the north as it's part of my country, always was and always will, maybe someday possibly but not going for the sake of going either..each to their own and all..I have great time for all Northern teams given the hostile environment they grew up in...we dont know what that was like, fear to us, normal after a time for them..many articles have been written in such matters and people down hear haven't a clue and are not interested, not all but many..until you walk in my shoes ime sure many Northern GAA players would advise...just another observation on the matter.."]It's the chips on their shoulders which is the issue Fairplayalway.

Even on here we see it all the time. The problem isn't that they are different people, the problem is that they cant acknowledge that.
"]ah thats very unfair, living up there and in cases during the height of the troubles, lads taking risks even going training or celebrating winning matches, we need not go there but it cannot be swept under the carpet either, and you say they have chips on the shoulders????..some yes possibly but not all...as I say we havent experienced it so we cannot say how we would be coming from a situation like that, yes it has changed now but its not a light switch wherer people change instantly, it will take a long time for the mindset to heal normally, and all are reminded every July where they stand if they were begining to feel abit normal, we havent a clue down here. Calling them a different people..well I will park it...the mind boggles...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 04/08/2021 16:02:16    2367623

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "[quote=avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

"]You've just spent the last few days writing dissertation levels of drivel on a topic your clearly know little about, all for the end goal of trying to convince people who live/lived in the North, how they should feel about a place you've never lived in. The only reason I can think of for somebody to go to those lengths to prove a point under those circumstances is that they must have, yes, a very serious chip on their shoulder or else they just like trolling. With your track record, maybe a bit of both.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 04/08/2021 16:37:56    2367640

Replying To SaffronDon:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Fairplayalways:  "[quote=avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

"]You've just spent the last few days writing dissertation levels of drivel on a topic your clearly know little about, all for the end goal of trying to convince people who live/lived in the North, how they should feel about a place you've never lived in. The only reason I can think of for somebody to go to those lengths to prove a point under those circumstances is that they must have, yes, a very serious chip on their shoulder or else they just like trolling. With your track record, maybe a bit of both."]Ahh Saffron, the Beauty from Djibouti comes in here like a peacock craving our attention. He believes he is better educated, better travelled and more intelligent than the rest of us ; he is capable of spinning out reams of half baked ideas on any issue you wish to discuss, from Stone Age cave paintings to nuclear physics. I do hope it's an online persona he is trying to create for the fun of it rather than a reflection of the real person. Because if it is, he's that poor middle aged guy in the anorak with the thick glasses muttering to himself at the local bus stop that everybody ignores . HS gives him the attention he craves.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/08/2021 17:10:09    2367655

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To SaffronDon:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Fairplayalways:  "[quote=avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

"]You've just spent the last few days writing dissertation levels of drivel on a topic your clearly know little about, all for the end goal of trying to convince people who live/lived in the North, how they should feel about a place you've never lived in. The only reason I can think of for somebody to go to those lengths to prove a point under those circumstances is that they must have, yes, a very serious chip on their shoulder or else they just like trolling. With your track record, maybe a bit of both."]Ahh Saffron, the Beauty from Djibouti comes in here like a peacock craving our attention. He believes he is better educated, better travelled and more intelligent than the rest of us ; he is capable of spinning out reams of half baked ideas on any issue you wish to discuss, from Stone Age cave paintings to nuclear physics. I do hope it's an online persona he is trying to create for the fun of it rather than a reflection of the real person. Because if it is, he's that poor middle aged guy in the anorak with the thick glasses muttering to himself at the local bus stop that everybody ignores . HS gives him the attention he craves."]He's wasted talent on HS. There's definitely a Ronnie Pickering/ Wealdstone raider role for him out there somewhere.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 04/08/2021 18:07:37    2367676

Nobody understands this and we don't care!

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 04/08/2021 19:43:07    2367727

Replying To essmac:  "Nobody understands this and we don't care!"
Lol :-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 04/08/2021 19:45:51    2367729

"]Could you not be doing something? Said before, sick looking at ye.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 04/08/2021 21:42:15    2367775

Replying To Saynothing:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Fairplayalways:  "[quote=avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

"]Could you not be doing something? Said before, sick looking at ye."]Sorry to bother you, we will private message ya in future maybe to see how ya are before we post..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 05/08/2021 00:02:38    2367810

Can someone think of the children and delete this thread.... Sweet lord

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 05/08/2021 09:15:20    2367833

Replying To conman1282:  "Can someone think of the children and delete this thread.... Sweet lord"
Remember when a few of the Tyrone boys grew biblical beards? Ricey, jordan and a few others, and there was a rumour that they were all going to wear them for, think it might have been the 2008 final against Kerry?

Kerry friend of mine became slightly obsessed with that for a week :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2522 - 05/08/2021 09:25:08    2367837

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "
Replying To Saynothing:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Fairplayalways:  "[quote=avonali:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "If you consider this to be hitting the nail on the head then I can see what camp you are in:

"]Could you not be doing something? Said before, sick looking at ye."]Sorry to bother you, we will private message ya in future maybe to see how ya are before we post.."]I don't think he had you in mind when he posted that.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 05/08/2021 11:37:15    2367885

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Remember when a few of the Tyrone boys grew biblical beards? Ricey, jordan and a few others, and there was a rumour that they were all going to wear them for, think it might have been the 2008 final against Kerry?

Kerry friend of mine became slightly obsessed with that for a week :-)"
i think they grew them for the whole summer, after they got beat in Ulster by Down they said they werent shaving until they were put out of the championship.

They were told to build the Arc and Sam would come - and so it was to be :)

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 05/08/2021 11:47:03    2367888

Replying To conman1282:  "i think they grew them for the whole summer, after they got beat in Ulster by Down they said they werent shaving until they were put out of the championship.

They were told to build the Arc and Sam would come - and so it was to be :)"
And so it came to pass! The noughties holy trinity:-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 05/08/2021 14:56:33    2367966