Galway V Mayo

Replying To yew_tree:  "Correction lads: not spit but noticed a "split" towards us in the way once we beat them in 2017 we weren't their favourite other team anymore. It's easy to like a team you keep beating. Jesus I'm embarrassed.

Apologies Kerry fans. I've never been spit at at you or any set of fans for that matter. I won't blame auto correct I'll try and re read what I type in future."
No worries and glad to hear that. Fair play to you for your response Yew tree.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 28/07/2021 19:52:17    2365242

Replying To yew_tree:  "Had a few fans from Donegal jeering me and my father one day saying we will never live to see Mayo win Sam (I might)....but little did they know my father was (and still is) suffers from cancer so may not see Mayo ever win Sam. Mayos runs late into the championship the past few years have kept him going so I consider them a success.

I've never written or wished ill luck on Donegal but you sir with you constant tirades against Mayo are firing at this stage. I suggest you get a hobby or even better a woman.

Any team or player who puts themselves out there and never gives up is not a loser, a bottler or whatever in books and I don't care what county they are from."
Absolutely

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 28/07/2021 21:06:40    2365271

Replying To togoutlads:  "O'Hora ran to him when he had an acre of space to go around him. O'Hora was out of position completely, ran to our star performer who was destroying the Mayo defence at the time to draw him into your standard tussle, (happens all over the field all the time, unfortunately). However, the significant difference here is that a trained mixed martial arts fighter - a recognised jiu jitsu and karate competitor deliberately went to employ his 'skills' on a pretty much unsuspecting Gaelic footballer used to a bit of jersey tugging. O'Hora's martial arts skills only have a place on the mats, in supervised bouts, where the opponent knows the rules of engagement. That particular throw, even on mats, applies a massive impact to the shoulder. To do this on the field of play in the GAA is a whole other matter. He should receive a ban imo. Horan and McDonald are staying oblivious too. Poor form."
'O'Hora ran to him when he had an acre of space to go around him' i just shared a video of O'hora starting behind him and running past him...probably to mark from the front... should he have given him the covid 2 meter space instead maybe to get around him?

'O'Hora was out of position completely' O'hora was playing no.3 in an interchangeable backline ... what are you on about? where the hell do you expect him to be?

Also to the rest of your comment... i can't...

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 28/07/2021 21:09:32    2365276

Replying To togoutlads:  "O'Hora ran to him when he had an acre of space to go around him. O'Hora was out of position completely, ran to our star performer who was destroying the Mayo defence at the time to draw him into your standard tussle, (happens all over the field all the time, unfortunately). However, the significant difference here is that a trained mixed martial arts fighter - a recognised jiu jitsu and karate competitor deliberately went to employ his 'skills' on a pretty much unsuspecting Gaelic footballer used to a bit of jersey tugging. O'Hora's martial arts skills only have a place on the mats, in supervised bouts, where the opponent knows the rules of engagement. That particular throw, even on mats, applies a massive impact to the shoulder. To do this on the field of play in the GAA is a whole other matter. He should receive a ban imo. Horan and McDonald are staying oblivious too. Poor form."
If Ryan O'Donoghue raised his hands to an opponent would you put that that down to his boxing experience? Ridiculous accusation to make. Not saying O'Hora didn't do wrong or have no intent to hurt Walsh but being from the martial arts background he's not likely to have done what you claim. As a witness from the Hogan Stand why didn't you ring the guards if you're so convinced of such an assault and battery?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 28/07/2021 22:07:36    2365308

Replying To yew_tree:  "Correction lads: not spit but noticed a "split" towards us in the way once we beat them in 2017 we weren't their favourite other team anymore. It's easy to like a team you keep beating. Jesus I'm embarrassed.

Apologies Kerry fans. I've never been spit at at you or any set of fans for that matter. I won't blame auto correct I'll try and re read what I type in future."
I noticed about 5 typos in that post Yewtree.... you really need to up your game! Best wishes to your Dad btw.

Now here's hoping KB1 comes back now with a similar revelation... v disturbing otherwise.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/07/2021 17:23:48    2365560

Priceless line togoutlads: 'ran to our star performer who was destroying the Mayo defence at the time to draw him into your standard tussle.'

That's one of the most imaginative things I've seen written in here for a while. Suggests O'Hora has superpowers... poor Shane was powerless and found himself grabbing O'Hora despite resisting with every ounce of his being?! Brilliant!!

I like Shane... majestic in full flight. I hope both players recover quickly and are all the wiser in the future.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/07/2021 18:05:24    2365575

Sounds like Shane Walsh will be out for a couple months after the sneaky attack. Hopefully he can recover fully

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 30/07/2021 14:33:57    2365815

Replying To brisbane:  "Sounds like Shane Walsh will be out for a couple months after the sneaky attack. Hopefully he can recover fully"
Sorry to hear, but it was a bit sneaky of him blocking off O'Hora like that.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/07/2021 15:15:00    2365830

Replying To brisbane:  "Sounds like Shane Walsh will be out for a couple months after the sneaky attack. Hopefully he can recover fully"
Hope he's back fit soon. There are conflicting reports that it was Lee and not Padraig O'Hora that knocked him. One on GAA Hour Podcast yesterday. CCC not looking for retrospective action.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 30/07/2021 15:47:48    2365847

hopefully he be fit for the next match fingers crossed

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 30/07/2021 17:26:05    2365874

Replying To GreenandRed:  "If Ryan O'Donoghue raised his hands to an opponent would you put that that down to his boxing experience? Ridiculous accusation to make. Not saying O'Hora didn't do wrong or have no intent to hurt Walsh but being from the martial arts background he's not likely to have done what you claim. As a witness from the Hogan Stand why didn't you ring the guards if you're so convinced of such an assault and battery?"
First of all I could nt see what happened Shane Walsh but unless people are certain it was a callous act then one should be given benefit of doubt. Because of Ó Hora s background in martial arts maybe people reading it wrong. I did a bit of boxing but because of that I never resorted to using my fists on the field (bar once due to severe provocation) I was always on the belief I could only use them in the ring. Another teammate was the same. O Hora might be the last lad to do something like that. I ll admit I don't know. I'm just giving perspective. However wishing Shane a speedy recovery as he is a player I love watching play especially in the likes of Croke park.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 30/07/2021 18:52:48    2365899

Time to move on lads. Mayos power, pace and skill beat Galway in that second half. Galway have the talent but they need to find a few ruthless lads and get a little dirty the themselves. I'm not saying it's right but the top teams have an edge and Mayo for years we're nice guys but no more.

Law of averages and all that...back Galway for Connacht in 2022 and Mayo for Sam in 2022 ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 31/07/2021 05:17:24    2365998