Galway V Mayo Connacht Final

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Agree on the McLaughlin advantage I had forgotten about that one completely. You're probably right overall but I suppose it's the most recent ridiculous decision that sticks in your mind!

As I said yous will be happy out to have plenty to improve upon going into the semi-final now, nice break as well after 5 weeks in a row."
Agreed Joe... a lot of sloppy play which will be heavily punished the next day out. It's not beyond the bounds that Cork could succumb to Tipp who still have a core of very good footballers and won't just be pushed over, but going according to the odds on that, it's likely Mayo will face a Cian O'Neill coached Cork team. There's no better man to have a team in top condition and while his knowledge of the Mayo players isn't quite as useful as it was, he still would know a lot more about our guys than we know about the Cork players. He's also going to have a game plan, so all this talk about Mayo sauntering into a final is well wide of the mark.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/11/2020 14:13:33    2310071

Not a great game but the conditions didn't help, Galway made a lot of errors and the ref had a very bad game I thought, Mayo are looking good and this wasn't one of their better performances, they'll do better in Croke park I think, if I was Cork or Tipp I wouldn't exactly be shaking in my boots but Mayo are favs to reach the All Ireland final again, odds are on Dublin v Mayo final again but this is 2020 and anything can happen.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 16/11/2020 14:33:07    2310091

Replying To Gleebo:  "Tough game to analyse, really, given that both teams missed more than their fair share of chances and were wasteful at times in possession. Mayo in particular went from taking on some crazy percentage shots in the first half to almost trying to walk the ball over the bar in the second!

Definitely a cynical challenge near the end from Eoghan McLaughlin which probably tarnished a fine performance from him. But ultimately we're never going to win with some people- allow the Galway man to shoot and you're naive, take him out and you're engaging in the dark arts. Hurson was poor for both sides I thought- he missed a blatant knee to AOS's head and a punch on Tommy Conroy.

Sensational shooting at times from Shane Walsh and young Kelly is a real find, not too dissimilar to our own Paddy Durcan in his bursting up the field to take the play to the opposition.

I was pleased with how our defence held up in general- Galway got quite a few of their points from long distance efforts and struggled to create goal chances. We missed two chances for majors, at least one of which Eoghan McL should have tapped over the bar.

I'm still struggling to see what we're trying to do with Aido at full-forward, as we seem to be playing in low fast ball to him rather than a high ball for him to break. At a time when we're short of ball winners in midfield it seems to be a waste tbh.

After five seasons without a Connacht title I would gladly have taken a Nestor Cup at the beginning of the season. We are in bonus territory with a young side and we'll get a better gauge of where they are nationally once they hit Croker.

Someone also please check on Belclare, I worry that being knocked out of the championship by Mayo two years in a row may all be too much for him."
Thought AOS played very well, led the line took 2 men with him with dummy runs, creating space. Great target man & distributor, he came to the middle to help out when needed. Thought himself or EML were man of the match. MR got it & while he played well & won a couple of turnovers, he also gave away a few turnovers.
Interestingly, the player (Galway) who gave away the most turnovers & who had a very poor game stayed on the field for the whole game, I thought the stats people would have flagged this.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 16/11/2020 14:38:24    2310096

Replying To moc.dna:  "Thought AOS played very well, led the line took 2 men with him with dummy runs, creating space. Great target man & distributor, he came to the middle to help out when needed. Thought himself or EML were man of the match. MR got it & while he played well & won a couple of turnovers, he also gave away a few turnovers.
Interestingly, the player (Galway) who gave away the most turnovers & who had a very poor game stayed on the field for the whole game, I thought the stats people would have flagged this."
Yeah, Aido played quite well, you can always rely on him to do a lot of work around the field and to drag one or two extra defenders with him, I just worry that we're not deploying a game plan to get the most out of him.

To me, it doesn't make much sense to have him flitting between full-forward and centre-field: place him in one position or the other. And if you do leave him in the full-forward line, put a few high ones on top of him around the opposition's square. With a decent quality of ball he can be dangerous in that situation, even if the opposition drop back an extra body or two it opens up space for others. With all due respect to Aidan, he's not likely to win a ball out in front of his man, beat him with a shimmy and knock it over from 40 years, it's just not a strength of his game.

In terms of scoring ability, we have Darren Coen sitting on the bench at the moment who would be much more accurate, so unless we're getting goal opportunities or winning breaks/forward marks off AOS, he might be better off at midfield or centre-forward, where we've struggled a bit to win clean ball this season.

I suspect that while Conor Loftus has burst himself for the team around the middle, he may not be suited for that role in the open expanse of Croke Park. But let's see.

Galway look to be a coming force in the years to come if they can sort a permanent goalkeeper/ show a bit more consistency in their forward line. Connacht may well be the most competitive provincial championship now, with no team having retained the Nestor Cup since 2015.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2020 15:13:34    2310143

watched the game back again and i have to agree with the ref for calling ball back for the quick line ball he was at least 20 yards further up the field there can be no complaints keith higgins lucky but he didnt lay a glove on him and forced the ball the be plyaed on the ground .

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/11/2020 15:22:43    2310148

Replying To Saynothing:  "Agree, was only making the point of how wrong Brolly was but Sean called it as any player should do."
Yes but the proper punishment for that type of play, no matter what county is a straight red, go back to basics, put the emphasis on skill and sporting behaviour.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 16/11/2020 15:32:35    2310155

Replying To ryan:  "How can this be justified as a championship? Galway had to win one game at there home stadium to be Connaught champions for 2020. Provincials are well outdated."
Most of us agree the provincial syeteem is a farce. Ulster the only competitive province really.I mean Munster gets lambasted and yet would be 2nd to ulster in terms of quarter final appearances over the last ten years. 5 munster teams have reached at least quarter final stages (Kerry Cork Limerick Clare and Tipp) with 3 from Leinster (Dublin Meath Kildare) and 3 from Connaught (Galway Ross Common and Mayo) but Ulster lead with Monaghan Cavan Donegal Fermanagh Down Tyrone and Armagh. The provincial are especially unfair on Ulster teams. It's time for a change but gaa are more interested in money than change.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 16/11/2020 15:40:57    2310162

Replying To mayo_123:  "watched the game back again and i have to agree with the ref for calling ball back for the quick line ball he was at least 20 yards further up the field there can be no complaints keith higgins lucky but he didnt lay a glove on him and forced the ball the be plyaed on the ground ."
When Walsh eventually took the lineball at the end I'm not sure how Paddy Durcan got away with knocking it away with his arms on the ground, I thought it was as obvious a free as there was all day.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 16/11/2020 15:53:58    2310170

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Not a great game but the conditions didn't help, Galway made a lot of errors and the ref had a very bad game I thought, Mayo are looking good and this wasn't one of their better performances, they'll do better in Croke park I think, if I was Cork or Tipp I wouldn't exactly be shaking in my boots but Mayo are favs to reach the All Ireland final again, odds are on Dublin v Mayo final again but this is 2020 and anything can happen."
Compared to some recent Connacht finals in Salthill the conditions was very decent yesterday.

Galway like ourselves the week made plenty of errors enforced and errors made under no pressure at all. It was midway through the 2nd half before Galway brought the required intensity for a championship knock out tie, we didn't bring it at all. Mayo have learnt plenty about themselves from winning that Connacht title and number of players getting their hands on a first provincial medal.

Hard to see past a Mayo v Dublin All-Ireland final now. I'd fancy Donegal if as expected win Ulster to topple Dublin more than Cork, Tipp catching Mayo on the hop especially when they have 3 weeks to prepare.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 16/11/2020 16:30:40    2310206

Replying To Soma:  "When Walsh eventually took the lineball at the end I'm not sure how Paddy Durcan got away with knocking it away with his arms on the ground, I thought it was as obvious a free as there was all day."
I thought that at the time too, but don't have the stomach to watch it back. :)
Looked like he definitely played it on the ground. We got done for a similar offence earlier in the game.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 16/11/2020 16:38:12    2310208

Replying To Soma:  "When Walsh eventually took the lineball at the end I'm not sure how Paddy Durcan got away with knocking it away with his arms on the ground, I thought it was as obvious a free as there was all day."
I thought the same. Watched it back and it looked like Durcan got a nudge from the Galway player. ref didn't call it either way to add to the chaos that was that period of injury time

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 16/11/2020 16:40:49    2310209

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Most of us agree the provincial syeteem is a farce. Ulster the only competitive province really.I mean Munster gets lambasted and yet would be 2nd to ulster in terms of quarter final appearances over the last ten years. 5 munster teams have reached at least quarter final stages (Kerry Cork Limerick Clare and Tipp) with 3 from Leinster (Dublin Meath Kildare) and 3 from Connaught (Galway Ross Common and Mayo) but Ulster lead with Monaghan Cavan Donegal Fermanagh Down Tyrone and Armagh. The provincial are especially unfair on Ulster teams. It's time for a change but gaa are more interested in money than change."
Not much wrong with the provincial system for me. If you kill it you lose the local bragging rights every summer which brings in the crowds and revenue for county boards and provincial councils. There's no way that Cork v Armagh will pull a crowd like Cork v Kerry or Armagh v Tyrone. It's the current All Ireland championship that's wrong and some counties can have less games to play than others to get to an All Ireland final. I think they should scrap the tiered championship plan which only makes the stronger counties stronger and keeps the weak weaker. Scrap the backdoor, run off open draw provincial championships separate from the All Ireland. Gives so called weaker counties a chance of an upset against a higher ranked local rival and a chance, however slight, of silverware. Then an open draw All Ireland championship. I think there's zero chance of that ever happening though.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 16/11/2020 18:03:28    2310262

Replying To cluichethar:  "Haven"t seen anyone comment on what happened at 38:25 of the first half. Galway fullback seems to punch i believe it's Tommy Conroy in the face."
There is a picture on the St James page of a Mayo player punching Johnny Duane, perhaps Croke Park should review it.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 16/11/2020 18:10:00    2310266

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Not much wrong with the provincial system for me. If you kill it you lose the local bragging rights every summer which brings in the crowds and revenue for county boards and provincial councils. There's no way that Cork v Armagh will pull a crowd like Cork v Kerry or Armagh v Tyrone. It's the current All Ireland championship that's wrong and some counties can have less games to play than others to get to an All Ireland final. I think they should scrap the tiered championship plan which only makes the stronger counties stronger and keeps the weak weaker. Scrap the backdoor, run off open draw provincial championships separate from the All Ireland. Gives so called weaker counties a chance of an upset against a higher ranked local rival and a chance, however slight, of silverware. Then an open draw All Ireland championship. I think there's zero chance of that ever happening though."
OK Green and red. Of course the local rivalry is great but really the provincial system is outdated. Galway v Mayo Kery v Cork and some ulster rivalry but that's about it. Now I don't know the answer either but maybe the league and provincial championship could be ran side by side with open draw for championship. Its just a thought. Anyway congrats on yesterday and best of luck for the rest of the championship.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 16/11/2020 18:14:17    2310270

Replying To GDL:  "There is a picture on the St James page of a Mayo player punching Johnny Duane, perhaps Croke Park should review it."
What's the St. James page. If he did he did but at 38:25 it clearly shows what it shows.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 16/11/2020 18:32:02    2310281

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Most of us agree the provincial syeteem is a farce. Ulster the only competitive province really.I mean Munster gets lambasted and yet would be 2nd to ulster in terms of quarter final appearances over the last ten years. 5 munster teams have reached at least quarter final stages (Kerry Cork Limerick Clare and Tipp) with 3 from Leinster (Dublin Meath Kildare) and 3 from Connaught (Galway Ross Common and Mayo) but Ulster lead with Monaghan Cavan Donegal Fermanagh Down Tyrone and Armagh. The provincial are especially unfair on Ulster teams. It's time for a change but gaa are more interested in money than change."
I know it nearly 10 years ago but from 2001-2011 all 9 teams in Ulster contested an Ulster Final.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 16/11/2020 18:52:04    2310294

Replying To cluichethar:  "Haven"t seen anyone comment on what happened at 38:25 of the first half. Galway fullback seems to punch i believe it's Tommy Conroy in the face."
Galway no3, Sean Kelly that appeared to strike Tommy while in a headlock. Dangerous play but look these incidents happen. Some of our lads are no angels either and all teams have an element of scoundrels...does not make it right but I don't think any team can claim they are whiter than white. We move on...it over and done with.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 16/11/2020 18:53:26    2310296

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "OK Green and red. Of course the local rivalry is great but really the provincial system is outdated. Galway v Mayo Kery v Cork and some ulster rivalry but that's about it. Now I don't know the answer either but maybe the league and provincial championship could be ran side by side with open draw for championship. Its just a thought. Anyway congrats on yesterday and best of luck for the rest of the championship."
3 different winners of connacht last 3 years. Most competitive province at the moment. Not sure where you are getting Mayo V Galway. Mayos first time to reach a final in 5 years this year. You must live under a rock

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 16/11/2020 19:04:29    2310308

Replying To cluichethar:  "What's the St. James page. If he did he did but at 38:25 it clearly shows what it shows."
St. James' GAA Galway facebook. It clearly shows Johnny Duane get a punch to the chin.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 16/11/2020 19:46:42    2310330

Replying To GDL:  "St. James' GAA Galway facebook. It clearly shows Johnny Duane get a punch to the chin."
GDL do you have a video link to this punch? If you do then i will back you up.

Unfortunetly a picture is not conclusive. It doesn't clearly show a strike.

Video footage is and Conroy struck with the knee and Galway full back struck with the fist.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 16/11/2020 20:19:39    2310350