RIP Jack Charlton

Replying To GreenandRed:  "How did Jack Charlton do a lot of damage to the popularity of GAA sports?"
of Course he popularised Soccer like no one else did it was more or less a City sport before that Giles said so too thousands of young lads took up Soccer after 88, & especially 90 but not Jacks problem or indeed the FAI but of course it impacted hugely on GAA & Rugby for many tears after that probably still does.

Your just naive to think otherwise Jack brought great times ecpecially Italia 90

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 13/07/2020 11:28:06    2283917

Jack would have made a helluva good Gaelic player - uncompromising attitude, could look after himself, and a winning mentality. Essential attributes in any sport. Jack was a Geordie - great down-to-earth people in that part of the world (and the only part of England where people use old words like "aye" instead of yes!), and that no-frills, down-to-earth culture that he exemplified is why he had an appeal that transcended sport.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 13/07/2020 12:25:55    2283923

Replying To clooney:  "of Course he popularised Soccer like no one else did it was more or less a City sport before that Giles said so too thousands of young lads took up Soccer after 88, & especially 90 but not Jacks problem or indeed the FAI but of course it impacted hugely on GAA & Rugby for many tears after that probably still does.

Your just naive to think otherwise Jack brought great times ecpecially Italia 90"
Soccer, rugby's popularity impacted the GAA. Up to the GAA to sort that out and maybe take a few ideas from them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/07/2020 14:47:53    2283940

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Soccer, rugby's popularity impacted the GAA. Up to the GAA to sort that out and maybe take a few ideas from them."
Your Missing point though if you have an international team that is on television for 3 weeks during summer and interview after interview and team is successful young lads will flock to it everyone knows that nothing GAA can do about it no matter how you try the exposure and sports wear everything is a draw for kids.

Not much of a red & green GAA man id say

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 13/07/2020 15:09:18    2283943

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Soccer, rugby's popularity impacted the GAA. Up to the GAA to sort that out and maybe take a few ideas from them."
I remember we had underage training in the evening after the Ireland Romania game, we all wanted to have a game of soccer rather than train that evening.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 13/07/2020 15:52:44    2283946

Replying To clooney:  "Your Missing point though if you have an international team that is on television for 3 weeks during summer and interview after interview and team is successful young lads will flock to it everyone knows that nothing GAA can do about it no matter how you try the exposure and sports wear everything is a draw for kids.

Not much of a red & green GAA man id say"
You'd say wrong.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/07/2020 16:08:34    2283949

Growing up in the 80/90s we were going so well in sport it was hard to decide whether you were gonna be a runner, swimmer or the next Sean Kelly and add to that the KitKat tennis clubs and Jack's army sure it was hard to know what you playing half the time.

But the GAA was never in any trouble

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 13/07/2020 17:25:33    2283965

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Also Niall Quinn."
Yes, of course - I forgot about big Niall! I think he scored 4 goals in the 1983 Leinster Minor final. In the all-Ireland final he played against the likes of Joe Cooney, Gerry McInerney, Pat Malone and Anthony Cunningham who helped Galway win their first ever minor hurling title.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 13/07/2020 17:59:21    2283968

RIP Jack, big likeable straight talking man who brought great joy to Irish football fans and indeed the whole country, especially throughout WC 1990.

Jack will be sadly missed but he left us with unforgettable memories and moments.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/07/2020 18:31:34    2283972

Replying To Breezy:  "The 91 saga was not nearly as big as you seem to think it was. How many GAA fans in the south of the country cared or would remember much about it now"
Oh it was. Plenty vast majority of south of country was transfixed on it. The whole country was. The final match was only beat in that years tv Ratings by toy show it even beat Eurovision for gods sake. It captured the whole country.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2020 19:10:36    2283978

Replying To lilypad:  "Numerous replies to you not posted for some reason but the bottom line is that the 91 saga carried a huge national interest at the time.
Just ask royaldunne."
Indeed it did. As a supporter from one of the counties involved I suppose it was only afterwards that it became evident how everyone was transfixed by it. Everyone became either a dub or Meath supporter for the last game. It captured the nation. Even non gaa people.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2020 19:13:54    2283981

Jack Charlton...a colossus of a sportsman for Leeds Utd and England...World Cup winner!,pity the English FA never even acknowledged his application for the England managers job.Englands loss was Irelands gain,remember taking my sons out of school early for the early afternoon kick offs midweek qualifiers...heady days.I'm a big gaa follower and my sons travelled with me to see Limerick hurling games when they were kids and as they are Meathmen we went to all those Meath football games including 1991....unforgettable.RIP Jack you were wonderful for Ireland...put us on the International football map....competed with the best and sometimes beat them.Thank you Jack Charlton.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 13/07/2020 22:49:41    2283987

Before my time, but his impact on Ireland was palpable over the weekend.
RIP Jack.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 14/07/2020 08:38:50    2283995

Not trying to diminish him but if there's a statue or mural built, i'll be expecting the do-gooders to tear it down when they decide he's a racist because he said he stopped caring about newcastle, sunderland, mddlesborough football teams as much when they started employing foreign players who's names he couldn't pronounce

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 14/07/2020 09:03:09    2283997

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "Not trying to diminish him but if there's a statue or mural built, i'll be expecting the do-gooders to tear it down when they decide he's a racist because he said he stopped caring about newcastle, sunderland, mddlesborough football teams as much when they started employing foreign players who's names he couldn't pronounce"
I don't think that you're diminishing Big Jack.

Can we leave your woke/PC brigade/liberal/gammon imported American culture wars speak out of a thread about a former football manager.

As much as you've fallen in line in your place in all this online BS, some of us haven't.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/07/2020 10:12:01    2284003

RIP Jack.....ye seemed to be a decent and modest oul sort.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/07/2020 10:26:40    2284004

Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't think that you're diminishing Big Jack.

Can we leave your woke/PC brigade/liberal/gammon imported American culture wars speak out of a thread about a former football manager.

As much as you've fallen in line in your place in all this online BS, some of us haven't."
Whats an extra culture on an irish GAA site speaking about an english man who played and managed a foreign sport mainly in england....

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 14/07/2020 10:39:43    2284006

Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't think that you're diminishing Big Jack.

As much as you've fallen in line in your place in all this online BS, some of us haven't."
Same as that.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/07/2020 10:47:24    2284010

Strange that most people that think they're 'woke' seem half asleep...

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 14/07/2020 11:21:28    2284018

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "Whats an extra culture on an irish GAA site speaking about an english man who played and managed a foreign sport mainly in england...."
Big Jack was part of a group of people that brought really memorable moments to the vast majority of the people of Ireland, including the majority of GAA people.

That's why there is a thread about him.

Leave all the faux culture wars s***e out of it coz it has no relevance in this thread. Go and argue about Liberals/Dems/PC Brigade/gammon or other culture wars crap on reddit or somewhere else.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/07/2020 11:25:13    2284019