Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Castletown had 10-11 players who'd be expected to start in a significant championship game. Missing Niall O' Brien, Shane Clavin, Liam Varley and Naoise McKenna who were major losses but to suggest it was nearly second string side is unfair to the Gaels. The Gaels were missing a couple themselves and Derek McNicholas was injured for 20 mins. It was a boost for the Collinstown men and Buddha and his selectors will be mildly concerned that their younger players struggled to step up."
No I didn't mean it was a second string Castletown team, and the Gaels were full value for their victory. They have some lovely hurlers and I actually think they'll be in the mix up come the end of the championship.
I just think Castletown will be a different animal come championship will a lot of players to come back and also some young lads to come back in as well after exams etc.
I'm hoping for a competitive championship, hopefully Cullion and Pollard can show up well also.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 24/06/2022 18:01:44    2427316

Congratulations and commiserations to St.Oliver Plunketts who got to the national Feile Na Gael division 2 final getting through against Castletown(Laois), Kildalkey, Kevin Lynch's and Maynooth only to lose the final by a point to Cushendall.

We can look forward to a high quality under 15 championship in the county where the Mullingar boys wont have it easy. But well done to Plunketts its great to see the club on the up and having a strong Mullingar is only going to help Westmeath hurling.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 25/06/2022 17:56:35    2427440

Replying To jobber:  "Congratulations and commiserations to St.Oliver Plunketts who got to the national Feile Na Gael division 2 final getting through against Castletown(Laois), Kildalkey, Kevin Lynch's and Maynooth only to lose the final by a point to Cushendall.

We can look forward to a high quality under 15 championship in the county where the Mullingar boys wont have it easy. But well done to Plunketts its great to see the club on the up and having a strong Mullingar is only going to help Westmeath hurling."
Good to see. Saw their panel listed after they won the Westmeath feile. Lots of familiar surnames.

jamsie (Westmeath) - Posts: 443 - 25/06/2022 18:37:22    2427447

Replying To jobber:  "Congratulations and commiserations to St.Oliver Plunketts who got to the national Feile Na Gael division 2 final getting through against Castletown(Laois), Kildalkey, Kevin Lynch's and Maynooth only to lose the final by a point to Cushendall.

We can look forward to a high quality under 15 championship in the county where the Mullingar boys wont have it easy. But well done to Plunketts its great to see the club on the up and having a strong Mullingar is only going to help Westmeath hurling."
They performed very well throughout the tournament and unlucky to lose out by the single point in the final. The good news for Westmeath is that when you look at the u15 club championship, Clonkill, Na Piarsaigh, Castletown, Raharney, Clan Na Gael appear to be around the same level as Plunketts. It's showing in our development squads around those age groups at the moment. Other clubs are emerging too like Cullion, Southern Gaels and Fr Daltons.
The amalgamations are working wonders for the likes of Ringtown and Brownstown. As those clubs are also starting to produce a couple of talented players for our development squads too.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 25/06/2022 20:49:09    2427492

Replying To Dheen:  "They performed very well throughout the tournament and unlucky to lose out by the single point in the final. The good news for Westmeath is that when you look at the u15 club championship, Clonkill, Na Piarsaigh, Castletown, Raharney, Clan Na Gael appear to be around the same level as Plunketts. It's showing in our development squads around those age groups at the moment. Other clubs are emerging too like Cullion, Southern Gaels and Fr Daltons.
The amalgamations are working wonders for the likes of Ringtown and Brownstown. As those clubs are also starting to produce a couple of talented players for our development squads too."
All good,but it is such a shame that people cant follow the underage Hurling and football on the Westmeath website which is a sad joke. A couple of yerars ago it was one of the best in the country but now a disorganised fixture list at adult level and underage doesnt exist. Not a word about any development squads nothing.Whose responsibility is it?

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 26/06/2022 08:29:47    2427522

Replying To jobber:  "All good,but it is such a shame that people cant follow the underage Hurling and football on the Westmeath website which is a sad joke. A couple of yerars ago it was one of the best in the country but now a disorganised fixture list at adult level and underage doesnt exist. Not a word about any development squads nothing.Whose responsibility is it?"
Yeah spot on Jobber, it's very poor and difficult to follow. I don't want to name names as to who is responsible but it's pretty clear who is.
It's so important for the development of the game in the county to promote it properly on the county website. We should be able to have better organised fixture lists and information on development squads such as players and managements. They deserve to be credited for the work they are doing and also it will gain more interest from the supporters. The very same with the club championships as well. Its fair to say that any Westmeath supporter of our underage in particular has to find out information on social media via club's Twitter/Facebook accounts.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 26/06/2022 10:15:24    2427532

Who's job is it so? Hardly expect County PRO to deal with updates on development squads?? She has enough to do. Why don't you or Jobber get involved Dheen?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 26/06/2022 15:47:27    2427605

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Who's job is it so? Hardly expect County PRO to deal with updates on development squads?? She has enough to do. Why don't you or Jobber get involved Dheen?"
I wasn't putting anyone down as I know there is a lot of working going on in the background, but we should have a far better website than what's there at the moment. It was actually better awhile back.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 26/06/2022 17:40:27    2427658

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Who's job is it so? Hardly expect County PRO to deal with updates on development squads?? She has enough to do. Why don't you or Jobber get involved Dheen?"
I dont know who is PRO but yes it is his/her responsibility to get the info up by himself/herself or by delegation.Management is an art, manage by organizing the correct people to do a job.If you havent that ability support the team and help people who can do the job.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 26/06/2022 20:19:34    2427752

What's everyone's opinion of how the honours will go this year?
In senior I think it's hard to look outside the strength of the traditional big 3 again this year but think that Raharney and Castletown have edged slightly ahead of Clonkill. Gaels don't have any depth and won't be around for the business end, although some out that way claim they're flying but they tend to believe that every year. Pollard v Cullion in round 2 is the relegation final.
The de facto intermediate championship will be interesting this year, there's several teams close in standard, Delvin, the Wood, Brigids, Plunketts all decent on their day.
And if Ringtown don't come out of the third tier for the junior this year they may throw their hat at it as there's practically nothing but B teams left alongside them in the competition, I know there's good experience in the second string outfits and they may trouble them but surely they should make it this year. All the teams in this grade are pretty limited to be fair.
Senior Castletown to come good after a couple of near misses
Intermediate Delvin as they are just slightly stronger than the afforementioned rivals
Junior Ringtown unless they get caught in the knockouts by a senior second string, which could happen with their track record

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 17/07/2022 21:17:16    2432587

The Gaels looked decent in the League final, they can trouble the big 3 and I genuinely wouldn't be surprised if this is the year they make the final, they've been knocking on the door for awhile now in Senior A.
I expect Pollard and Cullion to be competitive but ultimately it will come down to these two teams in the relegation decider.
I expect Senior B to be between Delvin and Fr Daltons as they are just ahead of the other teams although Plunketts could surprised after being promoted up from Intermediate.
As for Intermediate itself, I hope it will be contested between one of Ringtown, Turin and Southern Gaels.
The second teams of the Senior A well be hard to beat though especially in the early stages of the championship.
Ringtown seem to be going well.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 19/07/2022 08:57:54    2432837

Will this year be the Gaels (Liverpool) year? If their wider squad steps up then maybe they can really challenge. C'ships aren't won based on league form in May. For me, Cullion were the most likely of the previous Senior B teams to be on an upward curve and not bounce straight back down. They've put a couple of new players on the county panel with some game time too. Right age profile to go with that. Pollard or Cullion could easily nip any of the other teams that are fielding a weakened selection and not tuned in. Will be a great relegation battle.

Senior B is impossible to call. Very evenly matched teams. I don't think Delvin or indeed any team are outright clear favourites. The old intermediate c'ship was always a dogfight that often produced a surprising winner.

Intermediate, hopefully, doesn't have one of the 2nd string teams winning. Might well be Turin's turn, some lovely young hurlers developing in McCabe Park.

gedupoutofit (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 20/07/2022 11:47:19    2433096

Turin have suffered a couple of defeats already in this competition, Ringtown beat them comprehensively in round 1 and they seem to be missing their Loman's footballers who haven't featured yet. They would be significant losses. Hard to see them being competitive when a shallow playing pool is depleted further. Sean Leech seems to manage both codes.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 20/07/2022 14:22:39    2433145

There was chatter that Loman's are not entertaining dual players this year.
Jack Geoghegan started v Caulry, think he might be the only Turin hurler with Lomans.
Cullion's Kevin Regan came on as a sub for Lomans.
Plunkett's Sean Kelly also started for Lomans and hasn't hurled yet i believe.
Kelvin Reilly is another - not sure about his small ball commitments with Clonkill this year.
Maybe there is some truth in it but I can't see any other football clubs implementing such a stance.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 20/07/2022 14:35:06    2433147

Given that Kevin Regan is a county hurler, I doubt he will be submitting to such a ridiculous stance by Lomans.
The Lomans players who aren't playing with Turin wouldn't be much of a loss to Turin. David Aughey who is currently injured is a bigger loss to them.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 20/07/2022 14:54:52    2433158

Replying To Dheen:  "Given that Kevin Regan is a county hurler, I doubt he will be submitting to such a ridiculous stance by Lomans.
The Lomans players who aren't playing with Turin wouldn't be much of a loss to Turin. David Aughey who is currently injured is a bigger loss to them."
There are two lads , Turin have a small player pool, surely a couple of 19 year olds with Senior football championship winning experience who were both county hurling minors would be of assistance to them in some way ,that comment doesnt make sense. Your club obviously has big numbers and can write off lads

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 232 - 22/07/2022 07:30:47    2433475

You're not being honest there Chick, of the Loman's dual players for Cullion, Clonkill, Plunketts and Turin not one have played for their hurling club in championship this year. That might change this weekend with clubs playing championship but only in one case I suspect. Turin certainly need their young players available and it's poor form if they're being prevented from doing so. Niall Mitchell and Darragh Egerton can manage it at a high level in both codes.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 22/07/2022 09:52:54    2433482

Replying To Claretandblue:  "You're not being honest there Chick, of the Loman's dual players for Cullion, Clonkill, Plunketts and Turin not one have played for their hurling club in championship this year. That might change this weekend with clubs playing championship but only in one case I suspect. Turin certainly need their young players available and it's poor form if they're being prevented from doing so. Niall Mitchell and Darragh Egerton can manage it at a high level in both codes."
Wheres the dishonesty, i was only replying to a comment that the Lomans lads playing football that hurl with Turin wouldn't be much loss, what sort of a statement is that ,two strong ,fit young lads that were county minors, id doubt Turin see it that way
Unlike alot of others i dont know why lads have choosen not to hurl with their clubs as yet ,id imagine that could be down to personal decisions or perhaps they have been brainwashed by Lomans as ye guys suggest . Most of those lads are probably not capable of making their own decisions

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 232 - 22/07/2022 11:12:17    2433503

So what are people's thoughts ahead of the senior championship ?
Can the Gaels build on their league form and edge out one of the big 3 for a place in the knockout stages ?
I believe Brendan Murtagh is just playing football this year so a big void there for Clonkill.
Clonkill face Castletown first and then Raharney which is a tough start.

Castletown Geoghegan v Clonkill - draw
Raharney v Castlepollard - Raharney
Cullion v Lough Lene Gaels - LLG

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 22/07/2022 12:49:10    2433525

Replying To BigSur:  "So what are people's thoughts ahead of the senior championship ?
Can the Gaels build on their league form and edge out one of the big 3 for a place in the knockout stages ?
I believe Brendan Murtagh is just playing football this year so a big void there for Clonkill.
Clonkill face Castletown first and then Raharney which is a tough start.

Castletown Geoghegan v Clonkill - draw
Raharney v Castlepollard - Raharney
Cullion v Lough Lene Gaels - LLG"
Castletown vs Clonkill- Castletown by 3
Raharney vs Castlepollard- draw
Lough Lene Gaels vs Cullion- Gaels by 4

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 22/07/2022 13:28:20    2433531