Ross Munnelly challenge on Donal Keogan

Given current rules its only a yellow but personally i feel that it should have been a red, he made not effort to play the ball and just went in to do the lad

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 30/07/2012 19:31:02    1234002

browncows

NAIL_BAR/Jimmy- To say it was nothing but a hard tackle is more do to with how little either of you know about the game of football and it is quite obvious that neither of ye played very much!!. It was a dangerous tackle in my opinion whether he meant it or not and should have got a straight red. A knee to the ribs area is one of the most dangerous tackle in the game. A Tyrone player the previous week got sent of for handbags in an incident that could never caused any injury but then again the ref on that day was a lad who never played football otherwise he would know the difference in what is potentially serious and what is akin to the waving of a handbag. Finally NAIL/JIM, if either of ye got that dig that young Keoghan got ye would not be able to post to this tread for a few weeks!!!

Firstly Keogan was one of stars this year and he was 100% committed for every ball he went for. Munally knew exactly what he was doing, may not of wanted to injure him but he was going to let him know he was there.

Yes, it was a dangerous challange, (and I hope Donal has a speedy recovery)but under the rules its a yellow card. We need to wise up to this kind of thing, it should be us taking our yellows for effective chalanges not for wildly swinging or slapping at a lad who has just run straight past. It is well known that forwards get away with harder challenges and this is the place to start putting the pressure on (we did it for periods in the Dublin game last week).

Finally Brown, I play quite a bit of ball myself, and we were always coached to go 100% for every ball, take the hits and if you get injured in a challenge you come off and some else comes in in your place. Fair play to Donal he took the hit and tried his best to play on, there was no complaining from him.

We dished out plenty of tough challenges over the years, so get over it. Hopefully we will meet Mr Munally sometime next year and we can give him a taste of his own medicine.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 31/07/2012 09:20:22    1234149

Lads in all fairness its senior chpionship football and whilst it may not have been the best tackle it was dealt with on the day. This thread is making us sound like mayo. Ross Munnelly is not a dirty player so lets stop with anymore on this.

We lost because we our first half game plan was incorrect. We should have croweded the back line and mid field agaisnt the wind and kept loais a couple o scores ahead instead of trying to run at them and blow them away.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 31/07/2012 09:40:24    1234155

Well said Foley91. Meath men don't whinge.

TheInsider (Meath) - Posts: 28 - 31/07/2012 10:24:55    1234189

Foley91 100% correct!! Lads this shouldn't even be up for discussion. It wasn't a pretty tackle but absolutely no malice involved. And he was a big loss when he went off but this happens in every game of football that is played. If our Lads hit like Laois did we might still be in the championship but they didn't!!!

I'm not suggesting anyone should intentionly cause injury but we used to pride ourselves on our own physicality now were whinging about getting hit!!
We were beating by the better team on the day and this just looks like sour grapes!!

Move on and look forward to next year.

meathbhoy10 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 31/07/2012 10:25:27    1234191

Great post meathbhoy10. Agree 100% with you. We need to toughen up and quite whinging about things (even ref decisions). If we had our own performances in order then we might have some reason to whinge about little things going against us. Our performances haven't been in order so let's focus on that first.

TheFlyingTeacup (Meath) - Posts: 286 - 31/07/2012 11:02:21    1234216

Cant believe this topic.......lads we won an all ireland in 96 with the same sort of play,jasus sake we took canavan & dooher out of it and in the final we showed mayo that nobody ****** with us.Stop moaning is correct,this meath team dont know how to put in a good hit,my own club ballinabrackey can put in bigger and better hits.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1146 - 31/07/2012 11:41:21    1234259

thelutch

Come on it was a bad tackle, there is hard hittin then hurting someone intentially, and you talk about ballinabrackey giving hard hits?!?!

Yes i recall a horrific injury sustained by young newman of kilmainham against a ballinabrackey side (broken leg).

There's hard hitting and there is thuggery.... In my opinion keoghan's injury was an act of dirty play!!

Graham (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 31/07/2012 11:54:03    1234282

The lutch

I was just going to point this out until I read your post. Jesus lads meath teams of old dished out plenty of this type of punishment on players on their way to winning all Ireland medals. This is a silly post, Im sure the chap will recover and if you had won this post would not exist.

sandyBeach (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 31/07/2012 12:35:33    1234358

thelutch

Come on it was a bad tackle, there is hard hittin then hurting someone intentially, and you talk about ballinabrackey giving hard hits?!?!

Yes i recall a horrific injury sustained by young newman of kilmainham against a ballinabrackey side (broken leg).

There's hard hitting and there is thuggery.... In my opinion keoghan's injury was an act of dirty play!!

@ graham....Exactly....thats your opinion,i have mine and others have theirs.As regards your players broken leg,yes that was an unfortunate incident however my opinion is he did not go in to break a leg,he pulled for a ball but young newman got thier first and got the follow thru.our player recieved a punch and 2 kicks on the ground in the aftermath and then a red card.The ccc reviewed the incident and deemed it accidental so you can withdraw your comment regarding thuggery.

The only point i was trying to make was no team will win anything been nice.When we won all irelands in the 80"s we had lovely footballers,flynn,hayes,stafford,o rourke,o malley but we also had lyons and harnan if you catch my drift...In the 90"s we had murphy,giles,geraghty but we also had mc dermott,mc manus,coyle !!!.
Do you now see the point im trying to make !

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1146 - 31/07/2012 13:11:43    1234413

Whlist it was a tackle that resulted in a very good defender being sidelined I thought it warranted a yellow and a good stern talking, Keogans body was wide open as he's the kind of back that will put his body on the line and Munnelly was a hungry forward. if you watched the incident Munnelly actually hung around the incident to see how Keogan was

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 927 - 31/07/2012 13:17:26    1234423

I think we all know what really happened on that day against killmainham, im not going to get into it or sugar coat it in any way, i was there and i know what i seen and i know what happened!!!

Though i do see the point your tryin to make...

Graham (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 31/07/2012 13:26:11    1234436

As do i know what happened graham,as i said opinions vary......Hope yee win the junior this year and we can have another good tussle with yee.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1146 - 31/07/2012 13:35:58    1234449

To be fair the teams that are getting to All-Ireland finals are not dirty teams - Cork, Down, Kerry, Dublin. You can tackle in football without resorting to the kind of tactics that Mayo and the like are using. Dublin are very good at it, it's all about pressure. Their underage teams are well coached defensively too.

Cynical fouling has to be stamped out. Ruins the game as a spectacle. The FRC have to come up with some kind of deterrant, a sin-bin or a team foul count.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 31/07/2012 13:39:28    1234455

i think we all know what happened that day in trim.. ballinabrackey went out and did your man on purpose.. it was a disgrace

Royal09 (Meath) - Posts: 157 - 31/07/2012 13:46:40    1234465

we'll live and hope!!

Graham (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 31/07/2012 13:48:09    1234466

thank you royal09!!! It was a disgrace!!!

Graham (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 31/07/2012 14:11:17    1234494

I dont think Munnelly went out to do anyone, in fairness to him he hit hard.
It is pathetic to see my fellow royals whinging about hard tackles, you never win anything
without mixing it up a bit.
As i heard Tommy Dowd say on the radio after we beat Mayo in 1996 "Its not a sissys game".

atta (Meath) - Posts: 714 - 31/07/2012 14:32:14    1234537

Ross Munnelly is no thug, wouldnt injure a man intentionally, think this forum should be deleted as it appears we are sore losers for any county checking out our forum. Beaten by the better side last sat, end off.

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 31/07/2012 14:44:41    1234562

"Ross Munnelly is no thug, wouldnt injure a man intentionally"

Well said tackleberry, that is very true. Ross has come in for a lot of heavy tackles down tru' the years himself but just gets on with it.
I'm delighted with the attitude of most Meathmen here to this incident and it shows that ye understand just what it takes to win championship games. Meath people were never ones to whinge and that attitude was what helped you to win all those all-irelands a few years ago.

I have always admired Meath football and have no doubt that ye will be back as strong as ever in the near future. Got a lot of congratulations from Meath supporters last saturday who were very gracious in defeat, just as i would have expected from Meathmen. Most posters on here are the same but you will always have to odd one who sees things differently i suppose..

Thanks for a great game, its about time we beat ye in Tullamore.. :)

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 31/07/2012 15:17:18    1234626