Minor League 2012

I wouldnt forget about Ratoath yet, they still have some very good players. Championship will be difficult to predict, with anyone of Ashbourne Ratoath or Dunboyne well capable of winning it

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 25/04/2012 19:53:36    1160093

Ratoath, Ratoath, Ratoath thats all you hear on this forum.
Those of us on the ground know that Ratoath are a spent force at underage at the moment.
Struggling for players as all best talent have left and joined Dublin clubs. Dont get me wrong they still have talent but thin on the ground.
It will be a few years before you see Ratoath at the top end again in underage and young lads who are attending their communions shortly will be the next wave .
How long before this transforms to adult.

threeinarow (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 26/04/2012 11:02:03    1160274

@threeinarow considering there were 7/8 starters from the minor winning team last year I would of thought there are reasonable grounds for people tipping Ratoath and although I believe Ashbourne or Dunboyne will win it Ratoath will be in with a shout if they get over this hodoo they have of beating Ashbourne and to a lesser degree Dunboyne. In regards to the underage system in Ratoath the U-16 in division 2 isnt a fair reflection as they lost 4 of their best players 3 of which have made Dublin representative panels since they have left.

johnmoore09 (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 26/04/2012 11:26:39    1160300

Silly me threeinarow there was I thinking ANYONE could talk about their OWN club on this forum - if you're so sick about hearing about Ratoath why do you bother coming on here - I didn't see you mention in any of your last posts the result of the u/16 reserve match ashbourne played against dunshaughlin the other night

hilloftara (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 26/04/2012 12:32:44    1160381

Hon Rath To

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 26/04/2012 12:45:26    1160394

Minor League 2012

Ash Rules & Three in a row.

The truth is, Ratoath are having to come down from the Dizzying heights where last year's Minors were. The trio of, McGill, OBrien, McMahon + Wallace, Power & a couple of others, carried a very ordinary team to Championship success in my opinion. Without the trio, the task is too great. The match against Donaghmore on Monday night was just shooting practice for a predominantly U17 Ash team. Ashbourne had twelve subs and were missing, English, Quinn, Brady, Hughes, Hanway, Brown & Thorpe. In other words Ashbourne could put out two teams capable of beating Ratoath.

Ratoath and especially their supporters need to realise, that this is 2012, last years team is history. They should try to encourage their players and especially the younger ones coming through like, Kelly, McGowan, Donnelly etc, these guys are the future.

RoyalDiehard

RoyalDiehard (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 26/04/2012 14:16:34    1160490

Ratoath players and supporters realise last year is history as much as anyone else does - it's essentially a new team now and they have to start from scratch again - it's a pity certain other teams can't accept they weren't good enough to win it last year - hard all the same to encourage younger players coming through when all you have is begrudgers on here with their silly comments

hilloftara (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 26/04/2012 14:59:25    1160530

That's some trio of 7 players you named there RoyalDieHard. as to be one of the funniest posts I've read in a long time. How can seven players (ie half an outfield team) carry a team to success? Well sure didn't Darren Fay, Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty, Martin O Connell, John McDermott, Paddy Reynolds and Brendan Reilly carry a very ordinary team to Championship success in 1996. See how ridiculous that sounds?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 26/04/2012 16:48:54    1160670

Royal Die Hard
You said my thoughts exactly but in a more politically correct fashion. Ratoath are doing lots of good work and there biggest challenge is to nuture the lads they have and to keep them interested.
Kelly/McGowan/Donnelly are exceptional players and on county squads I believe /playing two years above their grade in club minor.

Hill of Tara
Im on your side and am glad that you relaise that the tide changes. Ratoath will be back , probably stronger than ever. But currently I cant see Ratoath doing anything in the way of silverware for a while . But success should not always be measured by this.
Theres no place for begrudgers and behaviour as you mentioned . Keep up the good work.
From a loyal Royal to a loyal Ratoatheen.

threeinarow (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 26/04/2012 17:12:13    1160693

Div 1 Donaghmore/Simonstown final
Div 2 Trim
Div 3 Killary Emmets
Div 4 Cuthberts or Clann Na Gael (some class players here)
Div 5 Bru Na Boinne
Div 6 Bective
Res Dunboyne/Kilbride

threeinarow (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 26/04/2012 17:53:17    1160748

Threeinarow, I'm assuming those are meant for the U16 thread?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1741 - 26/04/2012 18:15:40    1160767

That's a good trio, you named seven players and said 'plus a few more'. Great posting

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 26/04/2012 19:23:06    1160827

the ratoath lads are avoiding burn out by not doing any sort of hard training over the past few weeks they are beginnig to pick it up now with groups of the panel doing personal sessions up at the hill of tara

meathforsam11 (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 26/04/2012 19:36:04    1160846

ratoath only yous the league to get there players fit..who wants to be at there best in the league well maybe ashbourne and dunboyne because they wont be winning the championship so they have to try and win something. the same happened to ratoath last year they could hardly field a team in the league and were getting bet. but when in came to the championship they bet everyone.

same will happen this year.

good luck to ashbourne and dunboyne in the league.

bigdog222 (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 26/04/2012 19:40:41    1160853

Haha everyone on this is from Ratoath. Anyone who isnt from Ratoath knows they will win nothing this year

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 26/04/2012 19:50:38    1160873

everyone said that last year when they done nothing in the league.

bigdog222 (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 26/04/2012 19:57:07    1160881

Anyone who isn't from Ratoath said that last year as well

hilloftara (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 26/04/2012 19:58:05    1160883

Thats cause they were missing players like mcgill and mcmahon in the league through injury, they didnt deliberatly lose their matches to play mind games. This year they have their full squad in the league and they still cant win games..

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 26/04/2012 20:10:30    1160889

A bit like your own team last year then eh??

hilloftara (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 26/04/2012 21:31:27    1160981

Yeah man my team were missing mcgill and mcmahon aswell, it was unfortunate

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 26/04/2012 21:44:05    1160998