Ulster U21 Championship

Great result, another title, I see the bottle as half full.
Many thanks to Donegal for being so sporting in defeat.
Hopefully great summer days with the seniors are just around the corner.
And if we don't meet Donegal I'll be cheering you on.
Like Donegal.
Love CAVAN!

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 11/04/2013 09:32:02    1365368

Great result well done all

FALCON (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 11/04/2013 09:34:25    1365370

Fantastic result last night, some massive performances across the field. Cork game should be a cracker.

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 11/04/2013 09:35:01    1365371

Well done and well deserved, Cavan gave Donegal a great reception last year when we won senior's so hopefully you's can win the U21 now. The real work starts for your team now. Adh Mor

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 11/04/2013 09:43:23    1365375

will league games go ahead this weekend?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 11/04/2013 11:01:36    1365444

The real target to win The Clarke Cup commences now with a mountain to climb and for the 1st time this year going into a match as rank outsiders.
All Ireland betting Kildare 11/8 Cork 15/8 Galway 7/2 Cavan 6/1

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 475 - 11/04/2013 11:18:31    1365464

So proud of the Cavan undr 21s ,MOTM rightly given but what a team they looked like they could play another hour how.fit they are.Michael Argue is defimitely one of the best midfielders I've seen in a cavan jersey.Cavan Abu

eastcavan12 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 11/04/2013 11:32:44    1365485

i see a blue moon arising ye ha let her rip

paddy1ball (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 11/04/2013 11:45:02    1365500

So proud of the Cavan undr 21s ,MOTM rightly given but what a team they looked like they could play another hour how.fit they are.Michael Argue is defimitely one of the best midfielders I've seen in a cavan jersey.Cavan Abu

eastcavan12 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 11/04/2013 11:52:06    1365512

well done to cavan deserved it nice to have three in a row hopefully we will get same in seniors. good luck with the rest of the championship

goldenyears12 (Donegal) - Posts: 64 - 11/04/2013 11:54:31    1365514

eastcavan12 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 11/04/2013 12:05:41    1365530

Fantastic result. Mc Brearty was all Donegal had ( and he was very good when they played the ball to him). Argue, Smith and Conroy all excellent for Cavan. Well done lads.

up4t (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 11/04/2013 12:20:20    1365547

Well done, great do see Cavan do the 3 in a row....Hopefully it will translate to senior success now.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 927 - 11/04/2013 13:33:10    1365642

Fantastic night for Cavan football. What a magnificent team display, all worked tirelessly for each other. Was very impressed with the composure on the ball at all times. WE never looked like losing. Well done to everyone involved. These lads have a bright future. Congrats to Fergal Flanagan and Jack Brady on their 3 medals, played full 9 games out of 9 in the last three years. Next years team will be up there too, and a special word of mention for all the work being done by the excellent Peter Donnelly.
Cacn supporters out numbered Donegal by far too. Lets hope Tullamore will be the same. Happy days!

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 11/04/2013 14:08:28    1365697

Lots of people prasing peter donelly on here and rightly so,but it the work that has being put in the last ten years by the coaches and development squads,thats why whe are reeping your rewards today

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 11/04/2013 14:17:18    1365715

Ah it was brilliant and just recovering. Every last man played his part including the subs. Well done Peter, Ronan, Joe and all the backroom staff.
There was so many great displays it is hard to pick out any.
Thought the 6 backs defended really well and snuffed out McBrearty for most of the game and the midfield and forwards worked their legs off.
Apart from a few scary Donegal goal chances we were well on top and could have won by more!!

Heres a look at the lads:
Conor Gilsenan looked assured and safe,
Jason Mc Loughlin oozes class and some wonderful runs and tackling,
Killian Clark controlled the square, one amazing interception right at the start,
Ciaran Brady very solid throiughout,
Turlloc Mooney worked hard and made some strong runs,
Darragh Sexton, very solid and mopped up a lot of ball and distributed well,
Daragh Mc Vitty, great little terrier and safe as houses, breathtaking pace,
Michael Argue, another great midfield display, winning high ball,
Brian Sankey, worked tirelessly and one great fetch with 5 mins to go,
Gerard Smith, one of the Stars of the show, at times brilliant,
Chris Conroy , 2 sublime points and fantastic MOM performance,
Fergal Flanagan, led from the front and at times inspirational,
Enda Reilly, maybe not as good as in Armagh but some great frees,
Paul O'Connor, always dangerous and wonderful movement and pace,
Jack Brady, another great display and ran himself into the ground, great frees,
Subs:
Conor Madden, won a couple of great balls and will be pushing for a start,
Joe Dillon, did everything that was asked of him,
Paul Graham, looked very classy and took his point very well.

A massive Cavan crowd really helped as well, far outnumbering Donegal,
And finally wee Mairtin McHugh, we have lots of stars, maybe you dont appreciate how good they are.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 11/04/2013 14:27:57    1365725

a little ahead of myself here I know......but would I be right in Thinking 9 or 10 are sill U21 next year?
including a good portion of the spine from last night?

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 11/04/2013 15:26:48    1365808

6 of the starting 15 are eligible for next year and the 3 subs that were used.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2936 - 11/04/2013 15:41:12    1365840

Brownred- if all the players were that good, then you's would of beaten us by 30 points. Lads, firstly I hope yous go and win it from now as I think your a fantastic football county (with alot more success than ours). Yous completley deserved to beat us and probably by far more. From an outside point of view though- I thought your full back line looked vulernable at times, what you's think, I know you's have hardly conceded much all year but we just couldn't get ball in to Paddy.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 11/04/2013 16:04:27    1365879

Congratulations to the U21s on the three in a row last night , great achievement! It was a good workman like performance but we just didn't fully click upfront . Lapse of concentration at the back let in a soft goal aswell which gave Donegal a way back into a game that was passing them by . However it must be said that Patrick McBrearty is a class act and would cause any team major problems .
Really looking forward to the semi now , in many ways it was the perfect performance going forward . We will not have caught the eye of our opponents while our feet will be firmly on the ground . We know we can and must perform much better the next day .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 11/04/2013 16:11:14    1365887