Ulster U21 Championship

Great display last night, full panel effort, management absolutely on the ball with preparation, team selection, fitness, skill, tactics and substitutions. Peter Reilly has finally got credit for his massive contribution to Under 21 football in Cavan for the past few years. Lets hope he takes this team the whole way.

up4t (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 04/04/2013 11:55:02    1360721

paddy1ball
well done cavan brilliant result what was the team tonight

The team that started was:
Conor Gilsenan
Jason Mc Loughlin
Killian Clarke
Ciaran Brady
Darragh Mc Vitty
Darragh Sexton
Fergal Flanagan capt
Brian Sankey
Miichael Argue
Gerard Smith
Chris Conroy
Turloc Mooney
Rnda Reilly
Paul O Connor
Jack Brady

Subs used Joe Dillon, Karl Duke, Paul Mc Evoy, and Conor Madden. Dont think there wasa 54th but i may have missed him.

Really was another super performance and top marks to Peter , Ronan and the other management team.The fitness and commitment of the team was superb and it really gladdens the heart of us older Cavan fans who have endured so many days of heartache over the last 40- 50 years.

It really would be hard to single out any one player but my nominations for MOM would be locked between Fergal Flanagan, Michael Argue and Enda Reilly. But others like Conor Gilsenan, Killian Clarke, Chris Conroy, Darragh McVitty all ran these lads close. But really there was not one weakness on the team and again the bench looks very strong.
So here's looking forward to Donegal in the final and another glorious chapter in our recent revival.
Well done lads!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 04/04/2013 11:55:42    1360722

Ponger, it certainly felt good when I was typing it. Imagine the scenario going forward, players having to put in performances in order to get on the senior panel never mind the first 15.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 04/04/2013 12:10:02    1360728

about as tactically clever and sophisticated a performance by a cavan team in the last 10 years last nite, the comfort and controll that the boys showed in possession last nite was admirable. thought enda reilly was MOM but key performances throughout

andycarroll (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 04/04/2013 12:56:32    1360767

Breaking news has it that the ulster final is 17th of April ..? http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/gaa/under-21-football-championships-round-up-590066.html

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 04/04/2013 12:57:31    1360768

not sure. the independant says wednesday next but we may wait till its confirmed

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 04/04/2013 14:03:31    1360816

A wonderful performance last night by an extremely fit,hard working very well drilled outfit.Well done to all involved,it was hard to believe a Cavan outfit was playing with such a level of organisation and sheer confidence,the management team have these guys absolutely flying.It would be great to see a win next week in the final.Please god let this all result in a senior team that can win an Ulster title in the next 4/5 years and challenge for it every year.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 04/04/2013 14:04:16    1360817

Well done to the Cavan team last night on a great all round performance . Down were very defensive but we kept our heads , showed great patience and defended very well when needed .
No one played badly yet again but I thought Enda Reilly was MOM . Showed for everything , put up with some unbelieveable man handling and some of his scores were out of the top drawer .
Great that everyone came through unscathed so we should be fully fit and rested for Donegal next week .
My only worry would be if we got the same ref next week (We've had him before) . He was poor and could have had a very big bearing on a tight game . Let high tackling and jersey pulling go without so much as a free but gave yellow cards for some very innocuous incidents . Anyway that's my rant .
Good luck next week.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 04/04/2013 15:49:26    1360904

Well lads, That conveyor belt of good U21's seems to keep rolling in Cavan. Yous will very strong favourites against our lads next week as we just limped over the line against Derry whereas yous strolled into the final. We certainly have some match winners in Ryan Mc Hugh and Paddy Mc Brearty but from reports I'm hearing it will be a big task for our lads to win this one.

I'll obviously be hoping for a Donegal win and will be there to support them but its great to see Cavan doing well at U21 level as its a good sign for your senior team in the next 3 - 4 years. Heres hoping for a good tough game and ofcourse a Donegal win!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 05/04/2013 10:41:54    1361259

Fantastic win the other night, couldn't make the game but by all accounts we played very well from start to finish. The one thing I said after the Monaghan game was we had difficulty holding onto leads, well that problem seems to have been rectified, and fair play to the team and management for fixing it. This years team is the strongest out of the last 4 years in my opinion, and hopefully we can get revenge for the 2010 defeat next Wednesday. I don't want to look past the Ulster final, but we really need an All Ireland title at underage.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 05/04/2013 11:19:42    1361282

Any word on finalized fixture details for u21 final:?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 05/04/2013 13:59:21    1361423

http://www.hoganstand.com/Cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=189368 eniskillen wednesday nite at 8 a clock

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 05/04/2013 14:02:43    1361428

Its on the 10th in Brewster park

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 05/04/2013 14:03:25    1361429

how we fixed for tomorrow nite lads? can we control mcbrearty?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 09/04/2013 11:20:57    1363848

Best of luck tommorow night lads,its not going to be easy,but if we get it together as a team,anything is possible.It was a massive team preformance v Down ,we need the same again.

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 09/04/2013 11:23:08    1363852

I don't know sammaguire , he packs a fair bite!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 09/04/2013 12:48:19    1363956

Killian Clarck or Jason will keep mcbrearty under control, we need another big performance from midfeild , our backs were excellent the last day same again , I would like to see jack and Conroy working with other more , moynagh to get a game , oc to rattle the net again , cavan Ulster champions hopefully , best of luck lads

starfish (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 09/04/2013 13:15:28    1363981

Yes starfish , I think it's a challenge the two lads will sink their teeth into

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 09/04/2013 14:10:49    1364040

Definately a repeat of the Down performance we will be hard to beat. Even though I hear Donegal are good and I suppose Donegal would have to be roaring hot favourites!!
Up Cavan!!!

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 09/04/2013 14:15:09    1364044

were we that good against down or were they that bad??? I didnt tink they had much structure and fouled poc and enda constantley. Would expect donegal to have a beter structure and plan b tomorrow nite. hope we can get over the line...

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 09/04/2013 14:35:05    1364061