Qualifier v Fermanagh

Look lads we all want to see Cavan winning but we need to believe we are better than Fermanagh because of our underage success this part few years.it's the best draw we could have hoped for. If we drew London we would be expected to hammer them and if we drew Armagh we would be expected to get hammered..all I want to see is players contesting 50-50 balls. Players knowing what the specific job is. Fergal Flanagan really did not know what he was suppose to be doing against Donegal. Was he running to instruction because that's all he was doing... Running..I also hope management have cut out some bad habits. Notably this diagonal ball off the outside of the boot that goes badly astray..kicking of the outside of the boot is all very well If your Darren o Sullivan or Daniel Goulding . Countless times possession is lost by players unable to perform this skill. So it's best left until it can be perfected.I wouldn't expect too many changes from the Donegal game. We need to develope the spine of the team like Tyrone did this past 9 years..I think if we get direct ball into Keating he can so damage especially with some nippy corner forwards either side to feed of him.I think we can win by 4.

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 29/06/2012 10:50:24    1204726

On this day of our Lord Friday 29th June something remarkable has happened Richiej is making sense

Have I gone mad or is Richiej had a road to Damascus moment

God have mercy on us all!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 29/06/2012 13:28:16    1204897

I know I cant believe it.. Richiej for once your post has been an absolute delight to read...

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 29/06/2012 14:30:17    1204978

Break through for Richiej !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVoKlqbz1l4

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 29/06/2012 14:39:40    1204994

delighted richie is a cavan supporter again.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 29/06/2012 14:43:12    1204998

Ritchie has finally realised that he shouldn't be commenting negatively on the Cavan team because he doesn't actually attend any Cavan matches. He relies on what he hears, reads or sees on the Tv. Those don't always tell the full story e.g. Ritchie's views re Martin Dunne. If he had attended either the Offsly or Sligo games, Ritchie would know why Dunne is not playing with the senior team.

holluc (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 29/06/2012 15:45:06    1205052

Following Leinster J. Final the other night have to give credit to the management, team selection, use of bench and tactical changes were decisive, for once as a Cavan supporter I felt confident ther was someone on the sideline who knew what they were doing. Very impressed with R.Dunne, Hayes, Brady, D.Mc Kiernan, Conroy, 0'Connor , Mc Clarey and M.Dunne. All of these should really feature now in Senio panel for Sunday. My own selection would be, Anyone any ideas on the injury/availability situation??
My team v fear managh
1 James Reilly
2 K. Clarke
3 R. Dunne
4 D. Reilly
5 K. Brady
6 M. Mc Keever
7 Joshua Hayes
8 David Givney
9 G. McKiernan
10 C. Conroy
11 D. McKeirnan
12 J.Morris
13 P. O Connor
14 Eugene Keating
15 M. Dunne

So hoping for a win, best of luck to all

cavanabu10 (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 29/06/2012 15:49:44    1205058

Richiej: Look lads we all want to see Cavan winning but we need to believe we are better than Fermanagh because of our underage success this part few years.

Jasus Richie I nearly fell off me stool. Has this man been converted on the Road to Damascus or maybe there is a blue moon in the sky.
Anyway we will always welcome you back, and remember keep it positive.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 29/06/2012 16:03:37    1205066

Lets not get carried away with the Junior Victory. It's miles behind Senior level and I don't see anyone forcing their way into first team action based on one or two decent games with the Juniors with the possible exception of Hayes.

1. James Reilly
2. F Flanagan
3. Killian Clarke
4. Damien O'Reilly
5. McLoughlin
6. Podge
7. Hayes
8. Givney
9. Gearoid
10. Jack Brady
11. McKeever
12. Tierney
13. Niall McDermott
14. Keating
15. Bud Fitz

That would be my effort at a team although I can't see Hyland going with that combination up front, he is likely to be more conservative. We need a proper free taker on the right hand side, I have two in that team but to not even have one against Donegal was criminal. We need to be rock solid in defence, easy goals have killed us in qualifiers in the past, Podge held his on at full back against Donegal and could well go back in there again to provide some experience.

If we show composure and don't shoot ourselves in the foot I think we're in with a good chance but it's absolutely vital that Fermanagh and Cananvan are not taken lightly. Fermanagh have lads that have played in AI Quarter and Semi Finals and an Ulster Final, our bit of underage success will not frighten them one bit. Best of luck to the lads and lets do what we did for the U21s and give them a 16th man on the day.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 29/06/2012 16:29:32    1205086

My team for sunday.
1 james reilly
2 jason mcloughlin
3 rory dunne
4 killian clarke
5tomas corr
6 podge
7damien reilly
8 david givney
9 gearoid mckiernan
10 k meehan
11 mark mckeever
12 niall smith
13 bud fitz
14 eugene keating
15 martin dunne

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 29/06/2012 16:36:53    1205093

This team should be beating Fermanagh, COYBIB

SlipperyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 29/06/2012 16:43:43    1205101

JonSmith , 29/06/2012 at 16:29

Agree Jon Smith big difference in the standard, judging by Wednesdays performance thought both Hayes that you mentioned and O'Connor were exceptionally good, , both looked very fit, comfortable on the ball and thought Hayes had a very high work rate. These 2 could give the managementoptions to have that extra edge at both ends of the field. Besta Luck lads ye can do it.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 29/06/2012 16:47:44    1205105

should we hold of on playing any of the Juniors and give the junior all-ireland a good shot? No point in playing them in the seniors, getting beat within the next game or 2 and then losing the junior All-ireland cause of it too?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 29/06/2012 21:47:53    1205304

Slippery Fish

Its COYBIG son:-)

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1223 - 30/06/2012 18:41:06    1205719

macca999
County: Fermanagh

1205719 Slippery Fish

Its COYBIG son:-)
was gonna comment till i saw you were a fermanagh man..so it IS relevant!!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 30/06/2012 20:13:46    1205831

corr will be mid feild an G mck centre forward

humptydumpty1 (Cavan) - Posts: 92 - 01/07/2012 09:37:19    1205957

Best of luck today lads, give it all.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 01/07/2012 10:47:38    1205985

No Maloney derham, no mc cutcheon. No Meehan, no dunne. No Hayes , but at least we have fergal Flanagan to run around Brewster park. Omg ...

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 01/07/2012 11:44:54    1206034

Richie, what team is named

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 01/07/2012 11:48:53    1206038

JReilly. KClarke. PO'Reilly. DTighe. MMcKeever. DReilly .FFlanagan. DGivney. TCorr. NSmith GMcKiernan. RFlanagan. NMcDermott. EKeating. JBrady

Good luck to the lads and to hell with Richie and begrudgers.

Btw Richie,mccutcheon is injured but I'm sure a great cavan man like you knows that anyway

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 01/07/2012 12:07:52    1206055