Qualifier v Fermanagh

richiej
County: UK

Jonsmith.....?when is the last time our seniors gave anything a real go ??????? 2009 v Wicklow.. Yes 3 years ago..

They were beaten comfortably in that game. In 2010 they beat Wicklow I believe.

But nevertheless I wouldn't disrespect the players efforts and suggest that they haven't given anything a go in 2 years. They put in mountains of effort, I just hope they go at Fermanagh, attack them hard and go for the jugular early on. That's what I mean by giving it a go. As I said, effort was not lacking against Donegal.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 27/06/2012 13:40:20    1203465

asdfg:
The game is on sunday at 2:30

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 27/06/2012 14:16:19    1203508

And it was Forde who got the all important point against Fermanagh that brought the tie to a replay in 97. Certainly had composure as a player. Seems to be a bit more manic on this side of the white line though.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 27/06/2012 14:19:03    1203512

I don't know why ye bother argue with Richie J lads. This guy said Donegal were there for the taking, Fermanagh were held up as a team we should aspire to be like and now they are useless and we should be beating them. Galway were the perfect team, a blend of youth and experience, yet I seem to remember div 3 Sligo team thumping them a few weeks ago. He has no respect for our senior manager, the man who has delivered more silverware to Cavan than anyone since the 60's. This poster has made an ass of himself and yet ye still treat him as if he worthy of anything but disdain?? I think we can win on Sunday but it will be a tough game and I wish our players the best and I appreciate the effort they have put in since the Donegal game. Go out and support your team lads, that is what true supporters do!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 27/06/2012 14:22:18    1203519

Fredflint apart from having a go at me you don't really contribute much opinion to Sunday's match in your long winded post. Have you no thoughts on the match itself???

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 27/06/2012 14:50:49    1203563

Fredflint for your information mchugh is the most successful Cavan manager since the late 60s. I suggest you look at his record between 95-97 and you will see it far out weighs anything hyland has done. Check it out. Mc Hugh didn't need years of involvement to get things moving he actually brought us to an ulster final in 95 his first year. Check out what he won in 96 and in 97 ..

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 27/06/2012 14:57:56    1203576

look at the players mchugh had richie, no harm ta ya, i dont see many mccabes/larrys/peters etc. we hadnt even a free taker against donegal, our injured midfielder who was completly out of touch had to try n kick them. Bg difference between 97 and the current panel

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 27/06/2012 15:05:31    1203591

Mchugh new the chance was gone after 97, thats why he stepped down Richie, u have a very selective memory

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 27/06/2012 15:26:59    1203613

fredflint

I don't know why ye bother argue with Richie J lads. This guy said Donegal were there for the taking, Fermanagh were held up as a team we should aspire to be like and now they are useless and we should be beating them. Galway were the perfect team, a blend of youth and experience, yet I seem to remember div 3 Sligo team thumping them a few weeks ago. He has no respect for our senior manager, the man who has delivered more silverware to Cavan than anyone since the 60's. This poster has made an ass of himself and yet ye still treat him as if he worthy of anything but disdain?? I think we can win on Sunday but it will be a tough game and I wish our players the best and I appreciate the effort they have put in since the Donegal game. Go out and support your team lads, that is what true supporters do!

Excellent post.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 27/06/2012 15:37:21    1203626

^ +1 richie j: talks nonsense all day

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 27/06/2012 15:44:34    1203632

If we can't beat Fermanagh a team with no current underage form by 4/5 points well who will we beat???? We may as well pack in.. It's all very well winning u21 titles but you have to step that up especially after 2 years.. We can beat Fermanagh and hope for Letrim in round 2 to prolong the summer by another fortnight.. There no excuses if we lose Sunday.. We can only talk so much. Hyland like Andrews can only bluff so much at senior level.. Sooner or later he has to start performing. After all he has been there since the tommy Carr days 4 years ago with little or no positive contribution to the senior side... Let's see if he plays Martin dunne this Sunday. That's will be interesting.

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 27/06/2012 17:05:24    1203729

I am very confident about Sunday and expect us to win by at least 7 points !!
Enough of the negative posts lads, what have Fermanagh beaten in Div 4 ffs !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/06/2012 19:55:31    1203857

Agreed excellent post from the flinty

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 27/06/2012 20:10:29    1203871

Theres no reason to fear fermanagh if cavan go out and play fast direct football, we have the better players, cavan by 5

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 28/06/2012 14:01:40    1204196

Easy knowing you were at no league games Richiej. Martin Dunne got his chance in the league and kicked wide after wide.

holluc (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 28/06/2012 18:55:00    1204463

holluc

Easy knowing you were at no league games Richiej. Martin Dunne got his chance in the league and kicked wide after wide.

I thought Dunne was Cavans top scorer so far this year...

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 28/06/2012 19:30:32    1204484

Great to see cavan win another trophy last night Richie, your man Dunne played well. Surprised you were over on the other thread congratulating management and players on a job well done. Or maybe you support kildare now?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 28/06/2012 19:34:44    1204485

I like Richie's posts. He has good arguments and is not a sheet following blindly. We need diverse opinions on here !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/06/2012 20:08:04    1204507

He could well be Ritchie but for every score he kicked 3 wides. You'd know that if you attended some county games.

holluc (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 28/06/2012 20:33:37    1204525

Cavan_Slasher

1204507 I like Richie's posts. He has good arguments and is not a sheet following blindly. We need diverse opinions on here !!
hate it when sheet's follow blindly

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 28/06/2012 20:43:48    1204537