Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from LarryOBrother

Kilkenny V Galway - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Gowran_Yank:  "No it can't, but this time he blew over 2 minutes early. Complete BS."
Ref blew up the Dublin Wexford match 7mins into injury time after announcing 4 and there was very little said. I also find the assumption that an extra play would have been all Kilkenny needed to get a draw or better to be arrogant and completely disrespectful to Galway. They had about 77mins to get ahead and they weren't able. Enough said.

LarryOBrother (National) - 12/06/2019 15:11:10

Geaney Nets Hat Trick As "Tempers Flare" - 4 Like(s)
The only talking point coming out of the match is the melee. I've only seen videos of the melee, no highlights of the goals or the game. Don't for the life of me know how you could think this is worse than the lads hopping fences to go fighting with the crowds in Derry and Down recently or the usual carry on that goes on in Tyrone. The mentor who hit the player should be given a year ban, the boys who hopped the fence, threw punches at supporters etc should also be given a year ban.

LarryOBrother (National) - 22/10/2018 12:10:57

Galway Hurling thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To daveboy:  "Off peddling this again Larry. Good lad. The league has been forever used by lads to throw a few over the top challenges and flicks in as they know there's little consequence. It happens every county and plenty of cards shown. Kyle threw a flick and it wasn't seen. End of. He'll get a 1 match ban and deservedly so. Tom monaghan on lynch was a carbon copy but rte neglected to ahow it as it doesnt get the same traction on media sites and that's fine. You mentioned a few limerick lads but you neglect to mention anyone else. Those lads get constant off the ball treatment that's a lot worse than hayes did Sunday. A lot worse and they get it all day long. The difference is they accept it as its what they're used to in training. That's what makes them so powerful in the physical and mental sense and that's why they've won 4 of the last 5 AIs. That's what it takes as that's what its always taken. Waterford have 4 red cards already cork had 2 or 3 last year. Shane Kingston on finn I recall as particularly nasty. Wexford Galway Tipp have all has red cards in the league in the last couple of years. The difference with limerick is the spotlight. But that's fine and to be expected. For years I moaned how physical and over the top kilkenny were. In hindsight it was frustration as it was grasping at straws because they were so far ahead of the pack. I see the very same here."
Limerick are a brilliant team as were Kilkenny close enough to being in that bracket with them now but there is no comparison between Kilkenny discipline and limericks. I can't recall anyone from Kilkenny getting sent off for a dirty stroke against Wexford or anyone else in their dominant years, correct me if I'm wrong. There is at least 5 dirty strokes I could name from Limerick, it taints them in my opinion and the fact they have been largely missed is why there is so much uproar. Anyway better stay quiet by the looks of it!

LarryOBrother (National) - 28/02/2023 16:51:18

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "If Hegarty's shoulder was as bad as you are attempting to paint it, then why wasn't he issued with a straight red card by the ref? Because it was an offense that merited a yellow card, no more no less. So, please stop your nonsensical posts! Perhaps you never played the game yourself and don't understand the physical nature of hurling! Or perhaps you did play it, but were a small little short fella who got blown out of it by the big boys! That might explain where you are coming from."
My own take, from a pure hurling perspective from someone who played the game as to why Flanagans shoulder was not a mis-timed tackle, it was a cheap shot - Any hurler knows that when you are striking a ball you are defenceless. Your eyes are focused on hitting the ball and your body is opened up to strike. Anyone who has played the game knows that when you hit someone as they strike they are not prepared for it or in a position to defend themselves. The manner Flanagan hit Bennett is not manly or physical its taking a shot at a player who you know is not prepared for it. Its bad enough levelling a lad on the shoulder and sending him on his backside but to hit him on the jaw and then raise the elbow makes it worse. He didn't attempt to hook or block, he just saw his opportunity and took it - he deserves his ban on the back of it. Hegarty done the exact same except with more pace so we don't actually know where he caught the waterford man. It's like hitting a lad on the hand in an 'attempt' to block him down - realistically your hurl is about two feet away from where it should be to block a player down but you can make it look like an honest attempt if you go in hard and there is a decent clash. Both type of tackles while making it look 'honest' are inherently dirty and seasoned hurlers know exactly what they are at.

LarryOBrother (National) - 26/04/2023 13:20:30

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "Having said all I said I still think the suspension is marginal call and its as much as the GAA laying down a marker than anything else - as you said it was a push rather than a strike. Its a long time since Tipp had a midfielder who wasnt afraid to put it up to someone like WOD. He certainly took no backyard step given two or three hits on WOD in the first half and the 4 points he scored so I strongly disagree with you there. You can't really confront someone with a facegaurd flapping around the place so once that was put back away he went again! Anyway as I said this is real trivial stuff and if you swapped jerseys we'd be still arguing and backing our players. See ye in Thurles :-D"
Its not a marginal call, he swung around and hit Tynan on the head with the hurl?? He deserved to be suspended. I don't care if he was provoked or not it was a massive over reaction to stuff that goes on before every throw in. Again Limerick posters on here saying its a conspiracy and all the rest but discipline and injuries are probably the only thing that could stop ye winning the AI. You can't control injuries but you certainly can control discipline. In this instance and Kyle Hayes incident in Galway both players escaped punishment on the day and were able to play the full game. The consequences and outcome in a championship match might be far more severe. I'll be labelled a Limerick hater for this post but for a team who pride themselves on accountability and how honest they train i don't understand why they can't seem to control their discipline.

LarryOBrother (National) - 05/04/2023 09:23:56

Hurling Referees Destroying Hurling - 3 Like(s)
Gleeson deserved a straight red. It was cowardly and miles off the ball. County hurlers don't miss the ball by a foot when they are trying to bat it.

LarryOBrother (National) - 02/03/2020 11:50:26

Geaney Nets Hat Trick As "Tempers Flare" - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "Sorry but your post smells of the Anti Ulster bias that is becoming more and more obvious amongst the association. Noboby condones what happened in Ulster this year, but to say it's worse than a mentor almost knocking out an opposing player confirms my argument. I know it goes against a certain agenda, and I'm very sorry to have to break the news - the GAA has the same problem in Kerry as it has in the likes of Tyrone. Football is not pure in Kerry where everybody plays the game the right way without any violence. It's very easy to paint Ulster football a certain way, but the facts don't support that agenda. There is plenty of good football in Ulster like there is in all provinces, and there is sadly some violence in Ulster which is also repeated in all provinces and yes that includes the "lovable" Kerry."
It's not Anti Ulster at all its just a fact that incidents like that happen way more often up there. Go through the list of all the reported "incidents" this year and you'll see a trend developing fairly quickly. The real issue is people lamenting about bias and discrimination instead facing the fact that there is a problem with discipline in the first place. Third man in should get a 2 month ban and it would stop an awful lot of individual rows developing into full on melees.

LarryOBrother (National) - 22/10/2018 17:04:58

Hurling's middle class - 3 Like(s)

Replying To zinny:  "I agree with you but when you say the GAA - who are you talking about? Croke Park GAA or the individual top tier counties? All of these counties look after their own interests and within the counties clubs look after their own interests. Democracy is a great thing but rarely brings about real change as vested interests prevent change from happening. Has any team in Munster got anything to fear by allowing Kerry into the Munster championship and saying they would play all their games against them in Killarney? Leinster is no different although the gap between the 4th lower teams is not perhaps as big. Lip service to development of lower tier is what the top counties give and that won't change however what gets to me is that, they do not make up the majority of the votes but seem to be able to veto change and that is because too often what we see at congress is that Football counties defer to the top tier and visa versa when it comes to Football issues. Which also means that the County Boards of these football counties couldn't care less about Hurling. Everyone looks out for their own."
Munster are a disgrace really -Kerry Minors have to travel to Leinster to get a game, what a joke and what a message to be sending to Kerry players. Pat them on the back and talk out of the side of their mouth but deep down couldn't care less as long as their sacred Munster is preserved. The reverence of the Munster Championship is sickening at times. Same with the Harty Cup, Leinster teams have a much better record but about 1/10th of the coverage and "prestige". Drives me mad.

LarryOBrother (National) - 13/04/2023 14:11:05

National Hurling League Semi Finals - 3 Like(s)
You might not have to go!!!

LarryOBrother (National) - 21/02/2019 10:01:43

RTE TV Coverage - 3 Like(s)
What potential big games are being missed out on? Its hard to please everyone. I'd much rather watch a Munster hurling match than an early round provincial football match. Hard please everybody.

LarryOBrother (National) - 30/04/2019 15:34:16

Supermac's Call For Investigation Into Galway GAA Sponsorship Spending - 3 Like(s)
What is the original back story to this? Why are the county board being audited by Croke Park in the first place? Whats the story with the missing ticket money? Is is mismanagement, fraud, incompetence? Galway people on this site questioning Pat McDonagh should be ashamed in my opinion. One of the biggest supporters of Galway GAA and ye are willing to turn your backs on him that quick for asking how his money was spent?

LarryOBrother (National) - 09/10/2019 08:39:52

Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023 - 2 Like(s)
League is a dead duck these days lads. Last year proved it! We have about 19 hurlers who can play Inter-County Championship hurling and hold their own, the rest of the panel cannot compete at that level yet. The aim for the League for us should be to give lads like Conor Foley, Oisin Pepper, Corey Dunbar, etc 5 full games of league to see if they can step up to the level required for summer hurling and sprinkle in the likes of Chin ROC, MOH for a game or two to keep them ticking over and not worry in the slightest about results.

LarryOBrother (National) - 07/02/2023 15:57:17

RTE TV Coverage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Division one Meath against the winner of both competition they in this year second rate?? Stick to whack it anywhere, cause you know nothing about the real gaa game :)"
Meath are at best No.10 ranked team in the country, on a par to Carlow in Hurling. Westmeath are probably on a par to Westmeath in Hurling. If carlow were playing westmeath in hurling would you call it a top tier game? Get my point???? RTE have it dead right in my opinion, show top class hurling early on and then show the Football when the cream starts rising to the top. Anybody dissapointed can just take the drastic step of going to the match themselves.

LarryOBrother (National) - 01/05/2019 08:23:30

Munster Hurling Championship - 2 Like(s)
Question for Limerick supporters today - Would you rather have won yesterday or won the League?

LarryOBrother (National) - 20/05/2019 10:40:41

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Joe canning and Eoin Cody can enjoy their Sunday evenings and not be too upset that the Munster final was a good contest and maybe one day people might stop being so hung up one what's going on in Munster." Maybe Canning and Cody are fed up to the back teeth of hearing and reading pundits (usually from Munster) in the national media, telling them how wonderful the Munster Championship is, and how rubbish Leinster is. Here's Dónal Óg Cusack last week on RTE Munster is a battle. Leinster is a game."
Himself, Shane McGrath and Anthony Nash are all the same and are massively biased towards Munster hurling. I don't get the need for province bashing. Leinster was not overly competitive this year but since the introduction of the round robin its been by far the most competitive championship. If Gearoid Hegarty or Shane O'Donnell had of scored the goal and the point Wally Walsh got yesterday you'd never hear the end of it

LarryOBrother (National) - 12/06/2023 14:09:14

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Ha ye are all taking it so personal! He's the only inside marquee forward that i can recall in the last 6 months lashing out after getting 'corner backs' treatment... and i'm all i'm saying is that if he keeps it up and is let made think that its ok to be smacking with the hurl and kicking out it will come back to haunt him and Limerick in a big game in the summer. He should let his hurling do the talking and take the high road. Can nobody else see that in him??

LarryOBrother (Limerick) - 05/03/2019 19:53:38

Limerick GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Some of the outrage about Hegarty may be jealousy, begrudgery call it what you want but a lot of it, including my own stems from a sense that Limerick do go over the edge more often than any team and tend to get away with it an awful lot. Honest question? Would Limerick have won the All Ireland if Gillane and Flanagan had been given deserved red cards in Munster Final? Would they have beaten Waterford in AI Quarter Final with those two suspended? It literally completely changed the year but is passed off. Not questioning their dominance/ ability just stating the obvious.

LarryOBrother (National) - 16/02/2022 11:21:19

Kilkenny V Galway - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mooncat:  "With all due respects the only complaint on this thread from KK is the injury time played,you dont have to be running up and down to the field to lose track of your watch,there were no complaints about the refereeing of the match,your statement that KK are the worse supporters is completely wrong,go back to the start of this thread and read what neutrals said."
Kilkenny supporters are an awful whingey bitter shower would be my own opinion. God forbid somebody should try mark TJ Reid or hit Wally Walsh a shoulder every now and then. The Cheek!

LarryOBrother (National) - 12/06/2019 08:23:34

Limerick GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Some of the outrage about Hegarty may be jealousy, begrudgery call it what you want but a lot of it, including my own stems from a sense that Limerick do go over the edge more often than any team and tend to get away with it an awful lot. Honest question? Would Limerick have won the All Ireland if Gillane and Flanagan had been given deserved red cards in Munster Final? Would they have beaten Waterford in AI Quarter Final with those two suspended? It literally completely changed the year but is passed off. Not questioning their dominance/ ability just stating the obvious.

LarryOBrother (National) - 16/02/2022 11:53:33

Puke Hurling - 2 Like(s)

Replying To blackspot91:  "You can't call a 5 team round robin 'one-sided', makes no sense. Clare and Waterford are poor but Tipp Limerick and Cork are the top 3 teams in the country now and can all beat eachother on the day. Whoever ends up in the Munster final, it'll be a cracker."
Top three teams in the country??????

LarryOBrother (National) - 13/06/2019 11:15:28